We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular surroundings”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soldiers Grove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Lonesome Hollow
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Highly recommend this wonderful Inn to anyone who enjoys gorgeous scenery, first class accommodations, and the friendliest proprietors you will ever meet. What a hidden gem! I can't wait to return and I've already recommended this location to several friends. Hats off to you, Pete and Nora.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12LindaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

We spent two nights at the Inn at Lonesome Hollow while visiting the Driftless Area for a wedding. This B&B far exceeded our expectations. The rooms are lovely, comfortable, and quiet. Nora and Pete were the perfect hosts. The breakfasts were delicious and hearty, and Nora helped with our dietary needs. The setting in the hollow is breathtaking. We would love to return to the Inn for another stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house and although the kitchen and dining room were located above us, all was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juniper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was the most relaxing, serene, perfect place for our family and friends to gather during our daughter's wedding weekend. The hosts were relaxed and personable, breakfast superb, and the space was immaculate.
Very accomodating. I would highly recommend this spot!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We enjoyed three memorable nights in an establishment that is clean, neat, tastefully decorated and peaceful. The location situated in a valley where sunrises, flora and fauna are abundant and beautiful. Just a few miles away are trout streams noted for Rainbow, Brown and Brook trout. Hiking and biking was excellent thanks to information provided by the proprietors. It seems they knew the area as well as anyone could. Everything my wife and I hoped to do on this trip was given to us in detail as to maps, directions and explanations. We appreciated the conversation and visit we were able to have each day with the owners. They made the stay as good as it could have been. If our travels bring us back to the area this B&B will be the first place we'll call.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJDago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Get away from it all with a super gourmet breakfast served by friendly hosts Pete and Nora surrounded by natural landscapes after stargazing in awesomely dark skies the night before. Hint: Don't skip the scones!

I stayed here twice. In late April was when I saw 4 shooting stars ... I'm talking huge ones. That alone made the entire trip worthwhile. If you're a birdwatcher, you'd also really appreciate being here during spring migration, especially if you're into warblers. This is where they hang out. You can observe all kinds of birds, including warblers, right on the property, in the woods lining the road up to the house.

In late June, sunny days and stormy nights made for some excellent landscape photography conditions in the Driftless region of Wisconsin. And Pete and Nora are great with helping plan the best places for you to go for outings to explore the area during the day, based on your personal interests.

All the little towns nearby are really cool to visit with friendly people and nice, down-home restaurants. The city of Viroqua is a haven for artists and a well-stocked food co-op if you're looking for specialty items. I was happy to see the food co-op had my favorite organic apple cider vinegar, since I had forgotten to bring a bottle on the springtime trip.

If I had the opportunity to return in the fall, I would ... Those autumn leaves are gonna be gorgeous!

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_phoenix_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a beautiful site! We stayed in a suite away from the main house and it was incredibly serene and private. There wasn't a house to be seen from our location. I'm thinking about this B&B for our next family reunion.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

If you're looking for a respite, you might want to put this one on your list. Lonesome Hollow has a nice choice of accommodations - from your own cabin w/ screened in porch and grill to the beautifully decorated and soothing bedrooms in the main house that is the B&B to the two bedroom suites at the end of the road that open to a gorgeous lush valley. Any of them will provide you with a welcoming feel and a good launching place to experience the rest of the Kickapoo Valley and Fruit Farm Hill. You'll be glad you made the time for this soothing experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldiers Grove
20.7 mi away
Ramada Richland Center
Ramada Richland Center
#1 of 3 in Richland Center
394 reviews
16.1 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#1 of 3 in Viroqua
33 reviews
20.7 mi away
Old Towne Motel
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Sand's Motel
Sand's Motel
#2 of 3 in Boscobel
26 reviews
15.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Boscobel
21.6 mi away
Westby House Inn
Westby House Inn
#1 of 1 in Westby
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Lonesome Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Lonesome Hollow

Address: 15415 Vance Rd, Soldiers Grove, WI 54655-7601
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Soldiers Grove
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Soldiers Grove
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is situated on 160 rural acres in Soldiers Grove, a sleepy village located on the Kickapoo River in southwest Wisconsin. The Inn is about a one hour south of La Crosse, Wisconsin and 35 minutes northeast of Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin. Located in the main inn are three deluxe bedrooms, each with private baths. The Homestead Suites features four guest rooms or can be rented as an entire facility. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing