We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“big promises, no delivery & hidden charges” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of River's Edge Apple River Campground

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somerset
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River's Edge Apple River Campground
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“big promises, no delivery & hidden charges”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

i booked their cabin and was told I had to pay in advance ( not a problem) but when I called to confirm my reservation to make sure everything was good to go, i left 2 messages and never got a call back. It gets better...my friend called to reserve his site/tube and was told that there was no reservation under my last name and that they had booked the cabin already, even though I had already paid for it, and the money was taken out of my account...was told I would the get 5 free camp and tube passes...when we arrived they charged everyone. Then met with one of the managers, who seemed very helpful and told me he would refund the money (sounds good, OK)...still waiting after giving him my CC number 3 times over the next month...as of today more than 1.5 months later, still no refund...horrible horrible service, campsite is OK at best, and they charge for beer deposit ( not the tube, the actual beer or pop you bring on the river)....word to the wise...don't pay in advance and look for another campsite in the area...there are some good ones

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bvarian24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We tent camped for 3 nights Tuesday thru Friday. Great fun and friendly staff. The kids made new friends and it was peaceful and relaxing for all until the last night. A group of 10+ kids were camping 50 yards away and were being completely out of control. After calling security twice to complain, nothing happened. I talked to a few of the girls and asked them to keep it down (that's when I noticed how young they were. 21 would be pushing it). These kids were yelling, blaring music, lighting off fireworks, using profanity and just being @ssholes in general. Finally at 2:30 am we decided to pack up and leave. The only alternative was to call the police and have them busted. This is totally unacceptable at a campground. If campers cannot be considerate of others then the staff needs to ask them to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank demeter_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This place is not a place to bring your family. A bunch of young drunks, flashing each other and driving around drunk in the campground Which is only a field.. Not real camping. We were so disappointed and disgusted with the profanity and sexual harassing from other people in the campground we packed up our stuff and left in the middle of the day.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank HudsonWI54016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

We had a blast. A lot of beer cans in the lake, so careful not to cut yourself. Definitely not a trip for children - its like a college spring break!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

We arrived with our group in the early afternoon. When we checked in, the young lady attendant at the counter never verified our identities when she handed over the campsite. We also had issues with the same attendant's attitude and general demeanor each time we had to go to the store that evening. We got to our campsite and set up. Then we decided we wanted to check out the bathrooms. Modern bathrooms and showers were advertised on the website. We found that there was only one bathroom building at the front of the campground, which had doors with no locks, and we found out that the showers cost .75 cents per shower (the rest of the bathrooms were porta-pottys), which was not specified, and was an inconvenience. The next morning it was a nice surprise when the older gentleman that was running the store that morning, was extremely helpful with all of our concerns tubing and went out of his way to take care of us. Overall, they need to do a better job advertising what is actually included. In the end, it was a mediocre camping trip, definitely made better by the friends we were with, but the campground had little to do with the enjoyment.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Talyn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

Went there the weekend of July 10th and again August 7th. The weekend in July was great there were tons of people and the weather was perfect we got a nice spot up on the hill and it was great, everyone stopped by our campground to party and it was just an awesome time. So from our great experience we decided to go back again, this time it was cold and rainy and nobody was there, the guy who takes you to the campsite screwed up and even though we reserved a site said that it was booked and took us out away from everyone, after about an hour of arguing with the workers at the front desk we got the original spot we reserved, then we were warned twice for being too loud and it was only 10 pm...so to say the least our first experience was a fluke, we will not be returning but will instead give float rite our business.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawkeye1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
5.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites New Richmond
5.4 mi away
Asteria Inn and Suites
Asteria Inn and Suites
#3 of 3 in New Richmond
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Apple River Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Apple River Campground

Property: River's Edge Apple River Campground
Address: 1820 Raleigh Road, P.O. Box 67, Somerset, WI 54025
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Somerset
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping at River's Edge includes tubing on the famous Apple River, watersliding, mini-golf, swimming pools, an outdoor theater, Saturday karaoke, arcade, and much more! We have water/electric hookups, a dump station, a camp store, and more to make your stay convenient and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Apple River Campground Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing