We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home, pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franklin Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Sparta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were there for a mid week getaway before the peak season, so it was quiet. Room was clean and comfortable and had all the amenities that we could need: plenty of towels, robe, hairdryer, etc. Outside of the room is a buffet stocked with fixings for hot drinks as well as cold drinks in a little fridge. You are encouraged to help yourself. A carafe of coffee showed up at 7:30 every morning, which was great. A jar of home make cookies for snacks was there during the day too. Lots of magazines were available in the living room and lots of printed material showcasing various area activities were in the front entry for your information. The house is beautiful, charming. I enjoyed lounging in the parlor in the evening with my ipad, a magazine, a board game, and briefly, the TV, to catch my favorite show. I believe it is the only TV in the house, which is all well and good when visiting B&Bs. Breakfasts were generous. We enjoyed what was offered. I don't think there are alternatives if you have a fussy eater with you, but I am sure you could ask. Jennifer was very nice and attentive.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the smallest bath. It was adequate for us, but definitely one person at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkVerbena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

Not only is this a beautiful B&B, but Jennifer and Steve are the "hostess wit the mostest." They have all the special amenities that make for a great B&B stay.
I can't say enough about the wonderful breakfast we were served. We were there for 3 nights and each breakfast was different but equally delicious. Jennifer is a fabulous cook.
Most of the other guests were bikers, since Sparta is the biking center of Wisconisn. We were there to enjoy the area on our first trip into Wisconsin. We always pick B&B's to stay in while traveling or vacationing. Some are better than others. This is one of the best.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

A clean quiet B&B. Rooms are thoughtfully appointed... Jennifer has thought of all the amenities. Location is great. It's within a mile of the Elroy Sparta and La Crosse bike trails. The inn has a bike barn to securely store bikes over night. . We purchased our trail passes and the shuttle through the inn. This worked out perfectly. After a delicious breakfast, Jennifer shuttled us to Elroy and we were ready to ride. We would definitely stay here again when we ride the trails.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very clean. Owner went out of her way to take care of whatever we needed. Good breakfast. Located close to bike trails. Walking distance to good restaurants. Safe storage provided for bikes. Close enough to Lacrosse for more fine dining and shopping. One of the nicer B&B's we've stayed at!

Room Tip: Franklin suite was the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeff z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed last year also. Beautiful Victorian home. Hosts have anticipated every possible need. Close proximity to bike trails. Very nice breakfast at one sitting (8:30am). Short walk to small downtown area with good restaurants. They also sell the most comfortable bedding (sheets).

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hinsdalejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

BEAUTIFUL HISTORIC HOME IN A LOVELY COMMUNITY. Our room was a great space.  Very clean.  Quality bed and bath linens.  Comfy bed. Nice plush feather pillows. All the amenities to make for a pleasant stay. Lots of info on the area. Delicious breakfast of porridge with fruit, breakfast pie, sausage, melon, cranberry scone, juice and coffee. Delightful hostess and stimulating conversation with fellow guests. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.  Highly recommended. 

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KPMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I recently decided to do an item on my "Bucket List:" Ride the Elroy-Sparta Bike Trail. My husband was on a fishing trip and I figured I'd head to Wisconsin and see how much of the trail I could handle in one day. The weather conditions were perfect and after 5 hours and 13 minutes I had completed 67 miles! At this point I could have easily driven home, but decided to treat myself and investigate a B & B. What a wonderful decision. The Franklin Victorian B and B is one of the best stays I have had at an inn. Jennifer was the perfect hostess. I was the only guest that evening and I was treated like royalty. I can't tell you how happy I was to discover that the room I had chosen, "The Country" not only had a bathtub (a long soak was exactly what I wanted), but I was greeted with a smiling rubber ducky within the tub. Jennifer has thought of everything in this well-appointed inn. I even wonder how she knew to include my favorite chocolate treat as a good night offering. The breakfast was beautiful in presentation and delicious. Jennifer even shared a few "tricks of the trade" with me, but I am sworn to secrecy. Definitely plan on staying here if you visit lovely Sparta or embark on the Elroy-Sparta trail!

Room Tip: I loved my Country room, but I am sure that all of the Inn's rooms are well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sparta hotels
6.7 mi away
Justin Trails Resort
Justin Trails Resort
#1 of 5 in Sparta
147 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Sparta
Super 8 Sparta
#2 of 4 in Sparta
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Sparta, WI
0.6 mi away
Best Nights Inn
Best Nights Inn
#4 of 5 in Sparta
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklin Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Address: 220 E Franklin St, Sparta, WI 54656-1804
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Sparta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sparta
Price Range: £111 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Franklin Victorian Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-Winning, The Franklin Victorian Bed and Breakfast Inn in Sparta, WI, "The Bicycling Capital of America". Come experience a refreshing change from typical hotel lodging. Our inviting accommodations and abiding sense of hospitality promise welcome, rest, and renewal to one and all.Come and ride the Famous Elroy-Sparta Bike Trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Franklin Victorian Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing