We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wedding site & peaceful retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Justin Trails Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Sparta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed in Little House (Sept 2010) and fell in love with the tranquility of the land, compassion of Don & Donna, myriad of activities offered, and bountiful meals. As an organic, gluten & dairy free couple we were enamored with Donna's GF/DF muffins and respect for our dietary needs. It was so nice to trust that our food was made with mindful consideration of our needs. Seeing that Don & Donna also eat GF/DF was a plus:)

We loved it so much, in fact, that we decided to hold our wedding at Justin Trails (July 2011)! Again, Don & Donna so graciously extended their beautiful land in offering the most majestic space for our union.

Our family & friends were in awe of the land and LOVED the accomodations they had reserved. Everyone commented how peaceful and joyful they felt! It was so beautiful to join as a family in the mornings sharing in the most delicious food & warmth of the environment. Our families enjoyed playing disc golf, hiking, or simply sitting on their balcony taking in the breathtaking views.

Our wedding (185 guests) was magical. Don & Donna were open to all of our ideas and more than accomodating. Our guests were astounded by their laid back nature coupled with their attention to detail & hospitality. Donna was a pro at assisting us with vendors in the area and helpful tips along the way.

Our wedding was AMAZING. We felt so blessed to share in our love surrounded by the beautiful hills and wildflowers. I have fond memories of walking in my wedding dress surrounded by the beautiful butterflies weaving around the resort:)

Not only will my husband & I be back time and agin....but our family & friends plan to return tore-experience the peaceful energy, explore the hiking trails, cross county skiing, disc golf, etc. in the seasons to come.

A resort wrapping you in the beauty of Wisconsin's hills & valleys, warming your heart with abundant food & heart-centered compassion from Don & Donna.

May you feel the love and joy swell as fully in your hearts as it did in ours:)

~Jenny & Will

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elvingoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

The property was beautiful and we loved the cabin, although way overpriced. However, it was advertised as a cabin that had cooking facilities, but it was almost impossible to cook. There was no gas in the gas grill, no pot for boiling water, no utensils or pot holder, no ice in the ice tray, and needless to say given all that, not one basic supply such as cooking oil, salt, pepper or sugar. Donna made a stink at breakfast when we asked for juice, and would not give me a piece of plain toast. Donna was still cleaning our cabin at 4:45 pm when we arrived, even though she had rudely said on the phone the previous day that we needed to arrive by 3:00 because she was leaving at 5:00. During our stay, she would switch between being rude and unhelpful, then hovering. She sent an item back and demanded money- significantly more than the postage cost (which was $1.00), to cover the "inconvenience". I had volunteered to send money to cover postage. My general feeling about the whole stay was: if you don't like people, don't go into the service industry!!!! Stick with farming

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank zaddybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJustin, Owner at Justin Trails Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I went here for a weekend and the owners, at first seemingly kind, allowed us to rent out the space and have some friends join for a weekend of fun. She said camping on the premises would be fine, but when we got there told us that it would be $15 a person, per day---not per tent but per person! So, to sleep on the hard ground of a farm yard with no exciting camping scenery with 3 friends, we paid $240 for the weekend, are you joking!?!?!

To top this off, the kitchen that the owners Donna and Don (i know) had promised to let us use ended up being more trouble than it was worth. Donna the craziest person I have ever met, followed me around the kitchen wherever I was and scowled at my cooking techniques, telling me from time to time what the right way to do it was. She even got to the point where she was turning down the heat on my skillet and yelling "you are going to burn this, what are you thinking!". I'm sorry, but that is ridiculously rude and insulting. To top this off, what ever food we did make for our friends she and her husband would help themselves to, grabbing a plate bigger than any our actually friends made for themselves---they never asked once.

Donna's bad attitude continued throughout the trip, always creeping up on us with something negative to say. Her husband wasn't mean like she was, but definitely creepy, always slinking up on you and just starring at you not saying a word---can we say horror movie?

After all this they ended up charging us $150 more for "excessive kitchen use" and Donna kept saying at least 10 times in a row that we should leave her a tip, jesus christ. Its too bad they were so insane because it is beautiful property, but i would never ever go back here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank shanmcsorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJustin, Owner at Justin Trails Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

THis was my second stay at Justin Trails. The first was about 10 years ago and it is even better than I remember it. This time, we opted for camping. They have three campsites on the property - (be advised there are no shower facilities and only composting toilets - this is made clear on the website so we were not surprised and planned accordingly). Donna offered us hot water to wash up with. We actually declined, opting for cold water because it was so warm out! Just a note: if you are planning on camping, be aware that at the campsite by the pond, the frogs are very loud at night. In addition, there may be lots of bugs in the summer months. You might want to opt for one of the other two sites. On the other hand, the pond site is more secluded, so if you're looking for privacy, perhaps the frogs singing will grow on you as it did us. Despite the fact that we camped, we were offered breakfast for an additional $10 per day. WELL worth it! Homemade granola. yogurt, fruit compote and muffins...followed by choice of eggs, pancakes or french toast and delicious bacon! Donna was a great hostess, offering advice on activities in the area and which bike trails would be best to suit our needs. She even helped our ailing legs with a chi treatment after the end of our 60 mile ride one day! I can't say enough good things about this place. We WILL be back and I will be sure it isn't 10 years between visits this time!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sierraphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

My fiance and I stayed at Justin Trails during a weekend getaway planned to help us forget about the stresses of wedding planning. Justin Trails and the Sparta area met our needs wonderfully. The Justin Trails property is simply gorgeous. Field after field of wild flowers, springs, and rolling hills. We did not play disc golf but they have 36 holes available right on the property. Don and Donna were gracious hosts and the breakfast was delicious and endless: homemade granola and yogurt, french toast, eggs, bacon, muffins, and fresh fruit. We stayed in the Garden Suite, which was perfect for the two of us. The bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom and seating areas were sufficient, and the porch was perfect for reading a book or chatting. We are unable to have a dog at home due to apartment restrictions, but Don and Donna let us take their huskies, Heidi and George, for a walk through the meadows. We were able to feed their llamas and do some bird watching as well. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable weekend and will return as soon as we can. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dschenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Outstanding location, lots of open space! Stayed in Presidential Suite, very nice. Bed extremely comfortable, whirlpool very comfortable. Don and Donna very hospitable. Breakfast was great! Don played different selections for us on the player piano, and Donna was more than willing to show us all the different accomodations they have to offer. They have tons of choices from smaller rooms with no hot tub to large cabin with multiple beds and full kitchen for groups. 2 disc golf courses with tremendous elevation changes if you are into that. My wife and I went for a walk on the grounds and enjoyed the fresh air. Also have two beautiful Siberian Huskies that are very friendly and two llamas that you can feed as well, which was just a great touch! We also enjoyed a trip to Sparta and enjoyed a stoll through downtown. We were very impressed by the friendliness of everyone we encountered.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdog75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Photos on website are very deceptive as cabins are very small and way over priced. Also had flying beetles common in the fall that we had to fight off. Breakfast was so so as I am not a big fan of deer sausage.

The location is great, not too far from town yet nice rural setting. They need to start over and build bigger, nicer cabins.

Porter

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mtran2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge
20.8 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
24.7 mi away
Three Bears Resort
Three Bears Resort
#1 of 1 in Warrens
102 reviews
20.4 mi away
Cranberry Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Justin Trails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Justin Trails Resort

Address: 7452 Kathryn Ave, Sparta, WI 54656-3697
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Sparta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sparta
Price Range: £108 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Justin Trails Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justin Trails Resort is an eco-luxury getaway offering day trips, camping, bed and breakfast suites and log cabins in Wisconsin. We are the perfect place to enjoy a relaxing getaway from city life, and we host beautiful Wisconsin Elegant Barn Weddings May through October. Our Sparta, Wisconsin bed and breakfast is family and pet friendly ($25/pet/day). Accommodations offer great amenities, including private decks, Whirlpool tubs and cozy fireplaces. A farm-to-table breakfast is included with lodging. Our 200 acre farm and resort offers unlimited options for outdoor fun! We've created recreational trails through woodlands and meadows for hiking, snowshoeing and cross-country skiing. We also have two championship disc golf courses and great sledding hills during the winter. Plan your escape today to our Certified Travel Green Wisconsin Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Justin Trails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing