We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Country B&B and Barn Wedding Venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Justin Trails Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Justin Trails Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Sparta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Monroe, Wisconsin
1 review
“Charming Country B&B and Barn Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

A month ago, in December, we rented Justin's Trails for a WEDDING weekend. We rented the B&B rooms and cabins for the wedding party and immediate families. We also rented the beautiful nostalgic Barn and held the wedding and reception in it. We held the wedding in the upstairs loft. And the reception/dance in the heated lower level of the barn. With some decorating with lighting and 5 country chandeliers (from eventdecordirect.com) plus with the help from superb local venues (table/chair rental, caterer, florist - all delivered!... It turned out to be a beautiful spectacular wedding for 100-130 people. It was exactly what the couple wanted. And the owners of Justin's Trails Resort - were over-the-top accommodative-very nice people. What made it extra memorable was that it was a group effort. And it gave the 2 families a chance to decorate and get to know one another, the day before the wedding. And the nostalgic atmosphere of The Justin Trails Barn - offered a welcoming warm feeling - people had a great time together! Again, thank you - Donna, Don, and Dawn for all your help. It couldn't have gone better. Thank you!

Room Tip: Charming country farm - Bed & Breakfast in a beautiful renovated farm house plus log cabins larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    15
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
35
59
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Justin Trails is a wonderful B&B. We have stayed there on several occasions, the most recent being this January. Donna and Don Justin are wonderful hosts and even provide cross-country skiing lessons! The rooms are well appointed - the one we stayed in had a fireplace, hot tub, microwave, and an amazingly comfortable king-sized bed. The Justin Trails property is a jewel. Guests can cross-country ski, snowshoe and sled in the winter and play disc golf and hike the other seasons. Bird watching and lovely views of the countryside are available all year round. We always look forward to breakfast (which includes delicious homemade granola -- you'll want to purchase a bag to take home) and vising with other guests. If you are looking for a country getaway, Justin Trails is just the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lv2trvl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We found Justin Trails online and it had just what we were looking for - cross country skiing and an interesting Bed & Breakfast. Don and Donna were very welcoming and excellent hosts. The room (Presidential) was clean and comfortable. The cross country skiing was great with good equipment and trails. Breakfast in the morning was great too.

Room Tip: If you're considering Lona's or Presidential, choose Presidential. It has a gas fireplace r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtepoele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Unique comfortable open accommodations. Don and Donna are gracious and do a splendid breakfast and are constantly improving their disc golf courses and hiking/ cross country skiing trails. Their love of the land and people is very evident. There are lots of places around the property to prop up your feet and read or just contemplate nature. The WIFI is free and works well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed overnight in the little house on the prairie cabin. I agree with others that it is overpriced for the value. We paid $225 for one night and was asked to pay $5 to walk on the trails. Needed updates I would suggest are glass wine glasses instead of plastic. Extra towels. New sheets and replace the tv. We weren't able to lock our door from the inside (probably due to the humidity). It was a quiet stay, which we enjoyed, but would not return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrankieBran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJustin, Owner at Justin Trails Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you Lottie for responding to my email and giving me constructive comments to make changes. I am working to correct the deficiencies in my innkeeping style. I'm sorry that I did not meet your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent a weekend in the Little House on the Prairie cabin. Overall the property is lovely, we did most of the hikes and found them all to be beautiful. The view from our front porch was very nice and we enjoyed sitting with a bottle of wine in the evening. The reason I wouldn't recommend this place is the value. We paid $250 a night and for that price I would expect a lot more. Although the cabin is very cute it could be cleaner and could definitely use some updates. We had to clean out the jacuzzi tube because it was full of dead lady bugs. Also the small kitchenette is from the 70s and the fridge had a bit of a smell. There also isn't a door on the bathroom which I just find really odd. Finally the breakfast isn't great and on Sunday morning the hosts were gone so guests were on their own. It was just awkward because everything wasn't laid out so we had to go in their fridge and cupboards which felt weird. All of this wouldn't have felt like a big deal because the property is nice but for that price I would expect a clean room with a bathroom door, a fridge that doesn't smell, and the hosts to have appropriate breakfast accommodations set up if they can't be there. I was pretty disappointed since we live fairly close we were hoping to return in winter for snowshoeing but I think we'll be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LODS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJustin, Owner at Justin Trails Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you Lottie for responding to my email and giving me constructive comments to make changes. I am working to correct the deficiencies in my innkeeping style. I'm sorry that I did not meet your vacation expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platinum, AK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stayed at Justin Trails over New Years and we loved it. Such a peaceful place. Don and Donna are very accommodating and customer service oriented. You can tell they put a lot of work and thought into all the details. We loved our cozy cabin (The Little House) and really enjoyed the hearty breakfasts in the lodge every morning. The resort/B&B is situated on a picturesque piece of property with great sledding hills and cross country trails. Don and Donna seem very dedicated to taking good care of their land and their guests. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
20.8 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#2 of 19 in La Crosse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
20.4 mi away
Cranberry Country Lodge
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
14.7 mi away
No photo provided
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Justin Trails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Justin Trails Resort

Property: Justin Trails Resort
Address: 7452 Kathryn Ave, Sparta, WI 54656-3697
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Sparta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Justin Trails Resort is an eco-luxury getaway offering day trips, camping, bed and breakfast suites and log cabins in Wisconsin. We are the perfect place to enjoy a relaxing getaway from city life, and we host beautiful Wisconsin Elegant Barn Weddings May through October. Our Sparta, Wisconsin bed and breakfast is family and pet friendly ($25/pet/day). Accommodations offer great amenities, including private decks, Whirlpool tubs and cozy fireplaces. A farm-to-table breakfast is included with lodging. Our 200 acre farm and resort offers unlimited options for outdoor fun! We've created recreational trails through woodlands and meadows for hiking, snowshoeing and cross-country skiing. We also have two championship disc golf courses and great sledding hills during the winter. Plan your escape today to our Certified Travel Green Wisconsin Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Justin Trails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing