We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road Trip To Michigan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sparta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Very nice property. They were extremely busy at check in and in the lounge since a large motorcycle group was there. The staff was still friendly & efficient. Nice rooms and comfortable beds. The lounge had pretty good food as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

The pool was awesome for the kids there is a slide. The staff was not very friendly, they wouldn't smile at you or acknowledge you unless you addressed them. I overheard a housekeeper talking to her manager about ordering new pants because she had lost weight. THe manager wouldn't let her order any more. Wow can't spring for a person who has lost weight. . The location is not ideal for the Elroy Sparta trail, we still have to drive to get to the trail.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamacydds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Very clean and comfortable, incredible value. We were traveling home from Sturgis, looking for a Best Western to use our Harley Rewards Card, found this hotel online, convenient on and off and a very high quality experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 480dons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We wanted to enjoy a nice hot bath, so we booked the whirlpool suite with sleeper sofa. Had we not we would have been very disappointed in the bath tub in the bathroom which was small and not at all inviting. We did enjoy the whirlpool very much and it worked great. The mirror seam was disconnected in the center and the caulk around the tub was much need of repair.
The sink and kitchen counter were not lit which made food / coffee prep difficult.
The room was clean and laid out well with a comfortable bed, but all of the tables were very cheaply constructed and the chairs were stained.
We awoke to a bugle from the military base which was fun.
When we were preparing to depart 20 minutes before check out we received a rude call from a staff member wanting to know when housekeeping can clean or if we needed another night. The check in clerk did not greet us and stared at us blankly until we greeted her.
The breakfast was exactly what you would expect and should have a second waffle maker to avoid the line we experienced.
The hotel is smoke free, but if you have a window open the smoke from outside blows in the windows. On the bright side: you can open the windows.
We ate at Ginny's in downtown Sparta for lunch and it was very good with eclectic decor, traditional american food, an organic espresso bar and delicious ice cream. There is a lovely yarn store across the street from it.

Room Tip: The sofa sleeper whirlpool room is larger and nicer than the one w/o the sofa sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thurisazlhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Every aspect of our stay at the Best Western in Sparta was great. The staff isn't the friendliest in the world, manager was great, and some of the desk staff were good...but if you come across anyone in this hotel during the general course of their duties don't expect a smile or any friendly response...but this doesn't effect the great accommodations of this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Right on the highway; easy exit, large parking lot all the way around the hotel. We parked so that we could look out the windows and see the bikes. Excellent pool area. Large pool, separate wading pool with animal water slide; a hot tub and a sauna room. The fitness room had several machines, weights, and a yoga mat. The rooms were large and very clean and comfortable. I like that the remotes were cleaned and placed in "bags" for each new customer. The downstairs sports bar "Brewski's" was great because we like to have drinks with dinner. The bartender/waiter/cook was wonderful and funny . Poor guy had to do everything. He mixed great drinks, took care of several tables and still cooked all 6 in our party an excellent dinner. I had the Parmesan Chicken Melt, which I recommend highly. The complimentary breakfast was very good. Waffles, eggs, biscuits and sausage gravy, yogurt, fruit, cereal. We enjoyed our stay very much. We paid $90 for a king room; which was a good deal; even better because of the free breakfast, which would have cost us $20 at a cafe

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We were very impressed by this hotel. This was the last night's stay on a 5 night vacation and it was definitely the nicest of them all. The rooms were much more spacious - we had a 2 Queen room. The refrigerator actually felt cold. There was even a TV in the bathroom. We have never seen that at a hotel. The pool and hot tub were nice. My 12 year old son enjoyed swimming and there was a slide into the pool that he had fun using. We had supper in the restaurant which had excellent food with decent prices. The continental breakfast had good items such as scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, waffles and a coffee machine w/ french vanilla cappuccino & hot choc as well as the usual cold cereals, bread, etc. We would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Sparta, WI
14.2 mi away
Cranberry Country Lodge
24.6 mi away
Best Western Arrowhead Lodge & Suites
Best Western Arrowhead Lodge & S...
#1 of 6 in Black River Falls
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Tomah
Hampton Inn Tomah
#1 of 11 in Tomah
452 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Tomah Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge

Address: 4445 Theater Rd, Sparta, WI 54656-5410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Sparta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sparta
Price Range: £63 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's something for everyone at this Sparta, WI hotel, close to bicycling trails, winter sports, festivals and the Fort McCoy Army Base. The Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge is an ideal destination for the business and leisure traveler alike. Sparta and the surrounding areas are the outdoor lover's dream. Known as the Bicycling Capital of America, Sparta is a hub for four state biking trails spanning more than 100 miles. In the winter months, guests can enjoy skiing at the nearby Whitetail Ski Area and 265 miles of snowmobiling trails throughout Monroe County. This Sparta hotel is also close to bowling tournaments, hiking, golfing, hunting and fishing, as well as seasonal festivals like the Butterfest, Cranberry Festival and Octoberfest. And, of course, what visit to Sparta is complete without seeing the world's largest bike? Corporate travelers appreciate that this Sparta hotel is close to local businesses, such as Matthews® Solocam®, Century Foods International and McPherson Guitars. We are also the closest hotel to Fort McCoy Army Base, located just two miles away. And if you are looking for a meeting and event facility in Sparta, the Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge offers a conference room perfect for corporate meetings or smaller events. This Wisconsin Best Western hotel offers amenities that make our guests feel right at home. We offer well-appointed standard guest rooms, business suites and kitchenette suites, all featuring cable satellite TV, a microwave and refrigerator. Our guests start their day with a complimentary full breakfast, and have the option of enjoying dinner and drinks at our onsite restaurant, Brewski's Pub & Grill. For family-friendly fun, take advantage of our three pools, including a kiddie pool with alligator slide, and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sparta Trail Hotel Sparta
Sparta Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing