We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get there early if you can. Bring a penlight/ flashlight”
Review of House on the Rock

House on the Rock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You have to walk on a ramp through the treetops to reach the entrance of this remarkable house, built in the 1940s.
bonz65
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Get there early if you can. Bring a penlight/ flashlight”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife visited House on the Rock in the early 80's. Very glad she thought we would like it. What an eclectic collection! This is not a MUSEUM but a glimpse into a VERY creative mans life and his passion for collecting, sorting, organizing and displaying. A true testimonial to desire and vision! All I could think to write in the guest book was "KAPOW!" Take as many hours as you can, don't forget to look UP and BACK as you enter each room. They give you tokens to activate the many annimatron displays. They sell more tokens along your journey if you need them and buy back what you don't use at the gift shop. HINT If you tag along behind a small group they usually walk away before the annimatrons stop moving you can catch a glimpse of the action.
Personal note: I love to fix ANYTHING and EVERYTHING. I could spend a lifetime tinkering and refurbishing the place. KAPOW!
PS:ADVICE- Find a sitter if you have a toddler/ infant. Not very accessible for wheelchair.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank bonz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    333
    189
    94
    73
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
casper
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best museum i've ever seen”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is the best museum I've ever been in. This house is not only amazing from an architecture stand point, but is one of the most amazing collections of antiques. There is old cars, bicycles, toys, furniture and dishes. It may be off the beaten path but it is absolutely amazing. If you get a chance its well worth the extra drive. For me the most amazing part is this hall built above a gorge so that you can walk out looking down. It is not attached by any pillars bellow it nor a long suspension so its an amazing work of architecture. I could have spent days there, but definitely plan on a good long day to make it through everything.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gduquette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Something very different”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Neat objects but sort of a "collection" of things- lots of things. Great for kids because there is so much to look at it would keep their attention. Some spots smell old and musty.

Helpful?
Thank Kari I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprised, More Than Expected”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was expecting just a tour of an exotic house and was pleasantly surprised to find all the other interesting exhibits and collections. Really an enjoyable experience unlike anything I had seen before.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank HarleyGuy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a-MAZE-ing....in a way”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

There are no true words to describe this place. The exhibits future just about everything from airplanes, circus replicas, musical instruments, a huge whale and a creepy but at the same time beautiful carousel (said to be the largest in the world) But basically it's just a bunch of random collections thrown all over this place. I'd suggest people with OCD stay away because it's disorganized and everything is scattered everywhere, However, I found it very amusing and beautiful. How in the world one man could have so many different collections is beyond me. The gardens on the property are beautiful. The actually house is dingy and small. (I wasn't impressed) The whole place is a maze and I felt like I was lost or going the wrong way the entire time, but it adds to the charm of this insanely odd yet amazing place. If your in the area definitely check it out, I'd almost guarantee you'll never see anything like it in the world. This tour does involve a lot of walking (2.5 miles to be exact, I had a step counter on) It twists and turns and can be overwhelming at times, but check it out. I did eat at the inspiration cafe, I had an order of cheese balls considering it is Wisconsin and all :-) They were very good and done quick. The other reviews are correct it is dark and dingy and full of cobwebs but where else are you going to see this many different crazy collections in one place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal52404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House on the Rock also viewed

 

Been to House on the Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing