We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Grandview

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grandview
Ranked #19 of 21 Restaurants in Spring Green
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The menu had a great variety of items to choose from. The appetizers were good and everyone thought their entrees were very good. The desserts were also excellent. There was also a good wine list to choose from. The wait staff was very helpful and attentive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nana4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    3
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fox Point
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Always a Lovely Breakfast”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We were staying at The House on the Rock Resort, where the Grandview is located. As usual, we had a delicious breakfast, and despite the fact that the waitress had not shown up on time for work, we had excellent service: the chef stepped in to sub for her until she appeared! Our order was delivered quickly, and the pancakes were the lightest, fluffiest I have ever eaten. Presentation was attractive, too. The view, overlooking the beautiful golf course in the early morning light, cannot be beat for a peaceful start to the day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ********
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Zurich, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst service ever!”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My sister, her husband and my wife had a gift certificate to the resort where we stayed for New Years Eve 2011. The resort was nice. We had dinner reservations for 8:00pm. The receptionist at the front desk said that the resort was going to be full that night, but when we got to the restaurant, there were many empty tables. We got water and bread within about 10 minutes, but it took almost 30 minutes to have a waiter come and take drink orders. At that time we also ordered our appetizers and dinner choices. Our drinks came more than 20 minutes later. Our appetizers came at about 9:00pm. There were only two waiters on staff. 2 or 3 times we had to go to the bar downstairs to order drinks ourselves because noone was coming to our table. 2 times I went and asked our waiter what was taking so long for our meals and he said that they were doing as much as they could and they were understaffed. Our meals came around 10:20!!! Almost 2 1/2 hours after we sat down to eat! The frustrating thing was that the place was not full. There were only 7-8 other tables that were eating and they seemed to be getting their food. When our food finally came it was overcooked and not very hot. My steak was OK, but my potatoes were over-cooked and my vegetables were cold. All in all, it was the worst service I had ever experienced. Not worth the $.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Zurich, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“decent food-incredibly slow service”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed at the House on the Rock Resort for New Year's Eve and made reservations for the Grandview for 8 o'clock. It took a long time for anyone to come and acknowledge us as we waited to be seated. Once we were, it took another half hour before our drinks order was placed. This all would be understandable if the restaurant were truly full, but it was not. The restaurant was just about half full the problem was that they were understaffed. We then waited even longer for someone to take our order and bring our appetizers. The crab cakes were good. Much later our dinner was finally brought out. It was close to 10:30. Some meals for our party were lukewarm or didn't come with the sides we had asked for. We were never offered the deserts we had asked about earlier and didn't want to order them due to the length of time we had already spent waiting. It is definitely a place with potential but lacked the timeliness and customer service that can make a place great.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a Frank Lloyd Wright-flavored room”
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We had breakfast in this restaurant. Food choices were interesting and nicely prepared. The French toast was very good. Furniture and room had many design elements that reminded us of Wright's work.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AKdancer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grandview also viewed

 

Been to Grandview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing