We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finally sat in the front row Row A seats 304 and 305 section 4.”

American Players Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: American Players Theatre is a professional, classical theater located just outside Spring Green, Wisconsin. Situated on 110 acres of hilly woods and meadows, APT boasts two theater spaces, an 1148-seat outdoor amphitheater and the 200-seat indoor Touchstone Theatre. From June through October, APT produces eight plays in rotating repertory – five Up the Hill and three in the Touchstone Theatre.Central to APT’s mission is a commitment to making these great works accessible to as wide and varied an audience as possible as well as educating younger generations in the joys of these classic plays.With annual attendance of over 100,000 and an annual budget in excess of $5 million, APT ranks as the country’s second largest outdoor theater devoted to the classics.
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Finally sat in the front row Row A seats 304 and 305 section 4.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

One of the best performance of the year we have seen. "The Importance of Being Earnest", a laugh a minute from this old Oscar Wilde play.
The Uphill venue is marvelous and of course you have to watch the weather, but we had a nice evening. The acting has always been great at the American Players Theater. We have sat all around at this theater and have found all seats to be excellent.

Use the bus to get up the hill, it is a long up hill walk for those who don't enjoy walks. Check the weather and dress accordingly. They have free bug spray near the program box, use it.
If you have the time, take a picnic lunch and a bottle of wine, wonderful settings. They have well water at the top of the hill, by gift shop. If you pay attention you can exit on the far right by just going 3 or 4 rows up from the stage and not have to climb the steps. The shuttle is right outside this side.
Coming from out of town, try booking at the Spring Valley Inn, a little quant spot with a great staff and food is good. Play golf stay at the House on the Rock resort, wonderful couples golf course.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Duuckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    29
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Place for a Show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

American Players Theatre is an amazing place to see a performance. I saw The Importance of Being Earnest this time out, but over the years I have seen many shows out at APT, and each one has been spectacular. The setting is amazing, the cast superb, and the whole venue and experience not to be missed. The outdoor setting adds so much to the performance, and the ability to picnic on the grounds beforehand allows it to be more than just a trip for a show. Would highly recommend to both the theatre connoisseur or just someone looking for a fun night out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful-not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a simply magical place to see a play. We cannot imagine a more beautiful setting. Bring a picnic, bring a bottle of wine, bring your friends, all are welcome in the lovely picnic grove where you can eat and drink before the performance. Last night we saw Much Ado About Nothing. Wonderful, funny and truly perfect. This is a "not to be missed" venue if you are anywhere in Wisconsin-or just passing through. Don't miss it-really! Already planning our next visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NatureMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing experience - Night of excitement and laughter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

My adult daughter and I went to see Much Ado About Nothing to celebrate her birthday. The atmosphere was very natural; acting was superb. I have never laughed so much during a play. It was so much more than what I expected. It is definitely worth the price of the ticket. I think we need to make this a yearly event.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Theatre of the Sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Romeo and Juliet transports us all, and this experience was accompanied by gorgeous weather suitable for sitting outside, Whipporwills and wood thrushes singing in the hush of the tomb scene, skilled and evocative acting, spare but effective sets, and Shakespeare at his most genuine. APT is a treasure that matches the subject. I have never been disappointed in the facility, the food, the atmosphere, the quality of the acting and the experience of live theatre. Totally loved it . . . again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed American Players Theatre also viewed

 

Been to American Players Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing