We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impeccably clean, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The House on the Rock Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spring Green
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The House on the Rock Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Rushford, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Impeccably clean, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the first time this weekend. We were attending a play at APT and wanted something close. My husband had planned to golf but didn't end up doing that. He spent any time in the room on the balcony watching the golfers and says next year we are bringing friends and they are golfing! The course was so pretty and he said the greens looked great! All of the rooms have a view overlooking the course. I was a little nervous about the hotel from some of the other reviews but I thought the rooms were extremely clean and well appointed. Yes, the TVs are old and not flat screened but we weren't there to watch TV. The colors are a very pastel and southwest but that is what you are going to get with a Frank Lloyd Wright property. Having two rooms was nice to be able to spread out a bit. The golf pro shop was small but the bar next to it was large and would have been a good place to hang out if we weren't so tired after the play. We enjoyed the outdoor pool during the afternoon (not heated) and there was an onsite spa. We will definitely be back next year and plan to stay two nights so we have time to enjoy the amenities and relax.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hov1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    68
    31
    27
    11
See reviews for
51
92
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Iowa
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Loved the over night stay! Great view of the golf course and wooded hills. Both my wife and I had excellent meals at the Resort with a very attentive waitstaff. So convenient to take the shuttle to the Outdoor theater and then back. Even if you don't golf, we didn't, it is a great place. After the play we opened a bottle of wine and cheese we picked up and chilled in the refrigerator in the room and sat on the balcony and watched the moon set.

Room Tip: Upper floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRC761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is a great resort and I only wish I golfed so I could have taken advantage of the sweeping golf course. We had a suite that actually had two bedrooms; the main one shared the entry area and then another was off the hall and had it's own door. Very nice and well insulated. It looked like all rooms had a balcony - or at least they did in our area. The golf shop on the lower level served breakfasts and dinners. The main restaurant offered banquet style breakfast. There is an outdoor pool area, complete with its own hot tub style soaking pool, where I saw a happy group sharing laughter at the end of the day. The indoor pool and tub didn't seem to be as busy. Nobody was in the big exercise room using the equipment. This resort is just a few minutes from Taliesin (fabulous tour of Frank Lloyd Wright's home) and not far from downtown Spring Green (we enjoyed the art fair) or not far from the other big attraction, House on the Rock. Quiet place after 5:30 so bring your own fun.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indiana....where it's flat
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

House on the Rock Resort was pleasant surprise... Did I mention how CLEAN the entire facility was??? Very clean throughout.
All of the rooms are 2-room suites. We stayed in a double-queen bed suite. Very comfortable beds...soft linens in the bed and bath. The bathrooms have a nice vanity-makeup mirror with seat. Great shower and nice deep jetted-tub. The kitchenettes include a microwave, refrigerator and coffee-maker. They're nicely stocked with coffee & tea.
There is a very nice patio with a lovely view of the golf course and wooded areas. Very pleasant area to enjoy your morning cup of coffee.
The staff is very accommodating and friendly. The pool and hot-tub looked lovely, tho we did not avail ourselves of these facilities.
We did not visit the restaurant as upon viewing the menu, we decided to try elsewhere.
We ended up eating at a steakhouse called Arthur-something or other. Can't remember the rest of the name and can't find it listed here on tripadvisor. It had an interesting "king-arthur-ish" theme. Around the perimeter of the main dining room they had tv screens that played a loop-tape of Scottish Castles. The bar had a large waterfall effect which was loud...clear into the dining room area. I just wish they had spent some of the $$$ delegated to the decorating...on the quality of the food. My $23 rib-eye was very sad. As was my husband's sirloin. For the $$$$ go elsewhere. BUT...on the bright-side...the ladies bathroom was very lovely... :)
So...to sum it up... House on The Rock Resort...I give a total thumbs-up. Arthur-something's steakhouse...thumbs-down...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lordhavemercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is the second year we have stayed at the resort and it is the right decision times 20. Matt handles all the details, baggage handling, a fun welcome and tickets for The House on the Rock. Every person on our tour said, "Great choice!" The breakfast was plated and served hot to each arriving guest. The setting is gorgeous and it's fun to hang out in the sports pub with the golfers. Make this your overnight, or two or for a week when near Spring Green.
Bonnie worked her tail off at the front desk and gave us great service with a smile.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the golf course if you have a choice. All the rooms are great. Whirlpools in all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StLTourGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed this past Memorial Day weekend, Saturday overnight only. No crowds. Everyone friendly. Peaceful and quiet. Gorgeous views. COMFY BED in lovely room with private balcony. Robe & fridge were much appreciated. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoCoShirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Zurich, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We came on New Year's Eve. We loved the layout of the room. The pool area is great and massages were worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Green
4.1 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
12.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Quiet House & Suites
11.3 mi away
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
#1 of 1 in Barneveld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
18.7 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 3 in Mineral Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
21.2 mi away
Ramada Richland Center
Ramada Richland Center
#1 of 3 in Richland Center
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House on the Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House on the Rock Resort

Property: The House on the Rock Resort
Address: 400 Springs Dr, Spring Green, WI 53588-9000
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Spring Green
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
The House On The Rock Hotel Spring Green
Hotel On The Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing