We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cons and disrespect”
Review of Point Motel

Point Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Point Motel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Stevens Point
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Owners very disrespectful called 24 hrs in advance to cancel still charged 50 bucks that's wht the room costs when explain go followed the policy they played that I don't understand wht ur saying line and hung up called back numerous times got same treatment very disrespectful lieing individuals with no respect for there customers

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deuce8783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Had to come to UWSP for another visit. We always stay at the Point Motel. Easiest hotel to get to the university from, the best price in town guaranteed, (I called around to find a good deal.) Older facility but great location, great price, clean, and comfortable. Kind of a no brainier to stay at this hotel because of the price and location. We recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Stevens Point.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveJobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very nasty place to stay, dirty rooms and nothing has been updated since the 70's. My daughter stayed in the room next to mine and had to move to my room because she found bed bugs in the sheets. I reported them but it looks like they are still in business.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamiemille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

basic motel right out of the 60's, clean, warm (20 degrees outside in March), analog TV, NO internet though advertised (only in motel front desk area). Attended a function at U. of Wisconsin @Stevens Point, motel is in a great location, right across the school (5 min. walk to the Field House), Right on the main road of town, nearby laundrymat, KMart, McDonalds, other food establishments, stores, 5 min. from downtown. Staff offered excellent service, flexible (allowed late check out), courteous, Parking is right outside your room door making it convenient. If you are just looking for a place to stay w/o the extra amenities, the price is right. I would stay there again but they need internet!

Room Tip: Non smoking room, quiet area, two buildings, both appear to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nelson m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I was in Stevens Point for a convention and most motels were booked up but the Point had space available so I took it. This mom & pop motel is attractive from the street and overall is pretty well maintained. The room was clean and the brick construction helps with sound deadening so the room was very quiet. The first problem I noticed was that nothing happened when I turned up the thermostat. I went to the office to report it and was told by "grandpop" that it needed more time to kick in. There was a communication problem and I was about to leave the office when the maintenance man came in. He came to the room, bled the radiator and said it should be ok now. I came back from a meeting a few hours later and there was still no heat. The temperature in the room was acceptable so I waited until morning to go back to the office. In the morning, the office was supposed to be open at 7 AM for a continental breakfast. (cold cereal) When I got there at 7:30 it was still locked and the doorbell finally roused "mom". I told her about the heat and she promised to tell the maintenance guy. Communication with her was also very difficult. When I returned late evening the heat still wasn't fixed but they had brought a space heater of unknown age or condition. I also found that there were no fresh towels and the bed wasn't made. In the morning mom had no excuse for the towel situation. Also when I expressed disappointment about not being offered a different room because of no heat, she claimed that they were full and had no rooms. The number of cars in the parking lot would indicate that that wasn't true. They also have wi-fi but I had no signal in my room. It did work in the lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank campstorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Had to leave job site because of an emergency in green bay. Left out stuff in room thinking we would be back. Called to get clothes and cell phones and they wouldn't return items. Said they gave it to co-workers which was a lie. Hung up the phone on us. Can't speak english very well. Never again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alf5563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Our stay at this motel was pleasant and without any problems. While the actual owners were not there, the gentleman in charge was friendly, knowledgeable and extremely easy to work with. The room, while not a luxury room of any kind, was clean, comfortable and more than adequate. There was no smell in the room, as I have seen others complain of. For an inexpensive place to stay, I would recommend this motel. It seems to be centrally located in Stevens Point, and we had no trouble finding our way to anywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stevens Point hotels
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stevens Point
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Stevens Point, WI
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Stevens Point
Days Inn & Suites Stevens Point
#8 of 13 in Stevens Point
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Stevens Point
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Stevens...
#12 of 13 in Stevens Point
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 13 in Stevens Point
130 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Stevens Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Motel

Address: 209 Division St, Stevens Point, WI 54481-1833
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Stevens Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Stevens Point
Price Range: £24 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Point Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing