We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Mexican, delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Mezcal

El Mezcal
Ranked #14 of 108 Restaurants in Stevens Point
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nekoosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican, delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I've been coming here for the past few years, starting when I lived in the area for college. The fact I can't resist coming here for a meal that every time I'm passing through or in the area for a few days might be an indicator of how much I enjoy visiting this restaurant. Food is definitely authentic Mexican cuisine, and the complimentary chips & salsa will get your mouth watering too.

Service has always been prompt and attentive, but the real impressive part is how fast your order will arrive! Some very good entrees I've enjoyed in the past include the fajitas (which come out sizzling) and the nachos El Mezcal (steak and chicken). If your so inclined, the margaritas are pretty good as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SawDawg498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    37
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Almond
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have been going to El Mezcal since they first opened in Point. We have always loved going there. They have wonderful chips and salsa and cheese sauce. I have had a few times where my taco shells have seemed stale...but I still love going there. Their wait-staff also rocks. They are all dressed nicely and clean. They look sharp. And they are wonderful people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MomInAlmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plover, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“never disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

When ever we are in the mood for Mexican food, El Mezcal is first on our list! We have never been disappointed with the service or food. Portions are large and the prices are very good. The decor is authentic without being quiche'.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plover, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

You can tell when there are different cooks in the kitchen. One visit the food will be tasty and flavorful and the next visit everything will be flat and bland. When it's good, it is really tasty and worth the visit. But it's the off times that make you not want to come back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 001justme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Frequent Flyer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

I usually try to eat here at least once a month. We always end up with the same waiter who is real good (cant remember his name). Food is always on the mark. I've tried a wide variety of the dishes, always seem to enjoy them. I think my favorite part is getting the bill. It doesnt hurt your wallet. The lunch menu is real cheap, Fajitas for $7. Thats cheaper than some McDonalds combos and 1000 times better.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank H0nestOpini0n12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Mezcal also viewed

 
Stevens Point, WI
 

Been to El Mezcal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing