We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican Food”
Review of El Mezcal

El Mezcal
Ranked #12 of 113 Restaurants in Stevens Point
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great place to eat if you like authentic Mexican food. Not your typical american version of Mexican food. Delicious and very reasonable in price. Service was excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank soccernut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    41
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nekoosa, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican, delicious!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I've been coming here for the past few years, starting when I lived in the area for college. The fact I can't resist coming here for a meal that every time I'm passing through or in the area for a few days might be an indicator of how much I enjoy visiting this restaurant. Food is definitely authentic Mexican cuisine, and the complimentary chips & salsa will get your mouth watering too.

Service has always been prompt and attentive, but the real impressive part is how fast your order will arrive! Some very good entrees I've enjoyed in the past include the fajitas (which come out sizzling) and the nachos El Mezcal (steak and chicken). If your so inclined, the margaritas are pretty good as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SawDawg498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almond
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have been going to El Mezcal since they first opened in Point. We have always loved going there. They have wonderful chips and salsa and cheese sauce. I have had a few times where my taco shells have seemed stale...but I still love going there. Their wait-staff also rocks. They are all dressed nicely and clean. They look sharp. And they are wonderful people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MomInAlmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plover, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“never disappointed”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

When ever we are in the mood for Mexican food, El Mezcal is first on our list! We have never been disappointed with the service or food. Portions are large and the prices are very good. The decor is authentic without being quiche'.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plover, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“okay”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

You can tell when there are different cooks in the kitchen. One visit the food will be tasty and flavorful and the next visit everything will be flat and bland. When it's good, it is really tasty and worth the visit. But it's the off times that make you not want to come back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 001justme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Mezcal also viewed

 

Been to El Mezcal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing