We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Experience”
Review of Father Fats

Father Fats
Ranked #3 of 109 Restaurants in Stevens Point
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barron, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Fun Experience”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was our first time here and we really enjoyed it. The food and drinks were delicious, the place neat and clean with an excellent waitstaff. My only complaint was the very small table and chairs, not built for comfort.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TraciDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    29
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Blown away!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stumbled upon this little known restaurant by accident and are so very happy we did!! It serves small plate dishes (tapas) that are so incredibly delicious and unique. If you just have one dish, make it the Firecracker Shrimp. The menu changes every day with a few popular staples, so you never know what new item will become your favorite.
The staff is incredibly friendly and their atmosphere makes anyone compfortable whether you are out for a nice evening or just stopping in for a drink and a bit to eat. The very well-stocked bar serves anything you could want.
We can't wait for the weather to get a little warmer to enjoy their intimate outdoor dining area.
A MUST for any foodie or someone just wanting to try something different and yummy!!
It is our new favorite restaurant in Stevens Point!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrispE1054EO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise Every Time”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Father Fats extensive and changing menu, skilled service and calming decor make for an unusually gratifying dining experience. The operative term here is quality over quantity. Portions are moderate but satisfying thus permitting sampling across all courses sans the discomfort that results from overeating. We found unique and singularly appealing flavors, not available in local restaurants with the exception of Christian's Bistro, that challenge the best in Milwaukee and Chicago. In that way Father Fats is reminiscent of Chicago's late Charlie Trotter's and Le Peroquet restaurants. Their featured wines and beers, like the entrees, were unusual but well selected and much enjoyed. The deserts were unique and again, not commonly available. Service was attentive and non-intrusive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jorgeffaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keyser, West Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Interesting Tapas bar/Restaurant”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Interesting place, and most selections are tasty and you can tell it is all freshly made to order. Tapas style - you can have a variety, but it can get expensive if you don't practice restraint. Bar - good selection of beers, wines, and spirits. Restaurant - Most of the choices are very tasty and the service was impeccable. The only thing that disappointed was the crab cake (I must be spoiled being so close to the Chesapeake, though) and the desserts were probably not worth the price to me. But everything else is excellent from the flatbread to shrimp, calamari, and even brussels sprouts. The chef did a great job of accommodating a patron with food allergies. The indoor seating can be a bit noisy and hectic, but outdoor seating is available weather-permitting. I would definitely go back, hoping to sit outside.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeshultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Joined my daughter, son-in-law, and grandsons for a early Sunday morning brunch. We began with a Father Fats signature dish, their hearty breakfast nachos. We also shared one of the daily breakfast flatbreads. Out of the kitchen came a platter of lightly smoked shredded pork, sautéed veggies, scrambled eggs, cheese sauce and an amazing lime chipotle cream mounded to dip the home made chips into. I could have stopped there. Yum. Our flatbread was covered with sautéed Brocolli Rabe, sausage, melted cheese and topped with a perfect egg over easy that when broken added a smooth, creamy finish. Coffee was replaced regularly and was hot and robust. Between us we shared a few dishes, Italian bread French toast with apples, pecans and whipped cream. I had skate cheeks on a bed of house made Mac and cheese. The lightness of the perfectly cooked skate, was offset by the creamy richness of the Mac and Cheese. My daughter had Steak and Eggs. No ordinary steak and eggs mind you. The steak was cooked to perfection and was topped with a Lobster Hollandaise. Also on the plate were jalapeño cheese curds. Service was attentive and professional. The background music rousing and fun. Chef Christian visited every table delighting diners with a bowl if hazelnut buttered popcorn to nosh on while waiting for your order. We went home with enough leftovers for dinner. I appreciate the menu that changes daily as well as the fact that the kitchen truly believes in serving locally sourced food all made from scratch. Excellent meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Father Fats also viewed

 

Been to Father Fats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing