We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Stevens Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This Holiday Inn was very professional about every detail that contributed to our wedding night. The staff was very friendly and dedicated to making our day unforgettable. The package we chose for our wedding was at a good rate, and it included a lot of nice elegant touches like a lit-up head table on risers. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. The food was incredible - 5 star quality! It was so delicious. There were absolutely no problems or mishaps concerning our wedding night here...it was magical.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We take great pride in the large number of weddings we have supported at our hotel & convention center over the years. We put every effort into helping make that one special day perfect. We are especially glad to hear that your wedding day was “Magical.” It is nice to know we will always be part of your wonderful wedding memories. We would love to see you again the next time you’re in the area. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference. The hotel was attached to the conference center, with a nice restaurant/bar also attached. I've stayed in two other hotels in Stevens Point and must say that neither held a candle to the holiday inn.

Pros
Clean room
Very Comfortable bed
fridge and microwave in room
Quiet room for being on the first floor
Friendly staff
Good restaurant attached
Convenient to highway, shopping, restaurants
Workout room was clean, machines in good conditions

(Minor) Cons

Restaurant a bit pricy
Newer front desk staff had trouble with bill
Parking lot very full, parked far from front entrance

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PsychMike71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

We’re happy you had the opportunity to stay with us during your convention. Thank you for the nice comment about our hotel vs. others in Stevens Point. Sounds like you may travel often. Your thorough review is useful as feedback to the quality services we are providing. Its second purpose is to alert us to areas that need some attention. Thank you for your patience with the “newer front desk staff.” The Desk Staff is the heart of any hotel. They need to know a lot of information and unfortunately it takes some time. We look forward to seeing you the next time you’re in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Incredible customer service, great friendly staff, eager to please.

Felt like a brand new property. Extremely clean. Common areas very nice. Stone countertops, but other finishes are minimal, builder's grade. I was super turned off by the cheap plastic trash cans in room. The room I had was a king with a bunkbed annex decorated by treehouse murals and its own flat screen TV. So cute!! Also had a microwave & fridge. Free internet, desk, I had no problem finding enough outlets.

No healthy snacks in vending or "gift shop". Bring your own.

The reviews of the restaurant were horrible, so I was really nervous, but wa very happy with all meals and the service. Good menue with a full range of choices.

Room Tip: If you have kids, you have to ask for the bunk beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank m_b_00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the thorough evaluation of our hotel. Our hotel offers a wide variety of room types. Our Family Suite with the bunk beds is a popular room type for families with small children. It gives kids their own space and TV so everyone can enjoy their stay. The microwave & fridge are two great amenities to have when staying at a hotel. We are grateful you chose to dine at Amber Grill. Reviews can be slighted for different reasons and it’s a great idea to experience it first-hand to get your own impression. We are happy you liked it. We look forward to you staying with us on your next business trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center was very pleasant and with a lot great amenities, especially for a smaller venue, such as Stevens Point. Hotel was immaculate, rooms lobby, common areas all well taken care. Conference area very good for smaller to mid sized events. Food was pretty decent, but not eat much. Amber Grill was a great watering hole, good beer and mixed drinks, pleasant and inviting atmosphere. Did not eat at the restaurant part, but did look inviting. Hotel had nice spacious rooms, again immaculately clean. Nice large pool and spa area as well as gym too. Parking plentiful and free of charge. Free coffee, but no free breakfast. However, a number of nearby fast food or sit down options.

Room Tip: Rooms all seemed pretty good, elevators quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

We appreciate your review of our convention center and hotel. We are flexible enough to offer smaller and larger meeting space based on group needs. We work diligently to provide a clean, organized, and comfortable atmosphere for each group and hotel guest. We are proud to have the Amber Grill available to us for both convention groups and hotel guests. It provides a high quality dining experience and supports our banquet needs. Our chefs have extensive experience and provide another level to the quality of our restaurant. The cleanliness of our hotel rooms is a huge compliment as our housekeeping staff maintains that high standard. The pool, spa, and gym offer an opportunity to have fun, relax, or work out during your visit. We would love to have you stay with us again and encourage you to try one of our many, chef prepared, meals. See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Just returned from a stay at the Holiday Inn in Stevens Point, and I have to say that it was probably the most enjoyable business trip in months due to the luxurious accommodations and exemplary customer service. They spoiled me! They always acknowledged me at the front desk with a big smile and compliment, took care of wakeup calls and special request. The room was lovely with tall ceiling and good lighting - great flat screen TV with needle-sharp clarity.
Ate the first night at their Amber Grill - it was so good that we returned the second night. Our waitress remembered our preferences and could not have been more attentive. Good variety and fair pricing on the menus.
I will definitely stay there again and next time bring the family for the fun pool center.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bocain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay. We are extremely pleased to hear you say it was the “most enjoyable business trip in months.” Our front desk staff takes pride in providing quality and friendly service. Even though we are relatively new, we continue to update our hotel with modern amenities and are glad to hear it is appreciated. It’s nice that you had the opportunity to visit the Amber Grill. You could stop by over 100 times and try something new each time. We really look forward to your return visit… and this time with the family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is the hotel that can handle your conference, deliver food to your room, or offer you an option for a restaurant when the snow is too heavy to go out. However, it is one of the few places in town that doesn't offer the "grab-n-go" breakfast. For that, one must go to the Holiday Inn Express or Fairfield Inn nearby.

Pros -
Attentive staff
Clean
Large rooms
Fast internet
Restaurant

Cons -
Some rooms have a reduced shower pressure and temp is not as hot as it could be
Temperature in room is hard to control in some suite rooms

A really good option, if you don't care about the fact that they don't have breakfast.

Room Tip: Not sure - it is hit and miss - however, all rooms are at least acceptable, but the better rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buddy_and_lindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

WOW! Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed review of our hotel and convention center. We take our classification as a “full service” hotel very seriously. There would be no reason to venture out when everything you need is available on location. However, we know that others prefer the complimentary breakfast. That is why we are fortunate to have the Holiday Inn Express located right across the street. This allows guests to choose “full service” or “free breakfast.” Both hotels are operated by the same management group whose goal is to maintain high quality food, service, and cleanliness. Comments, like yours, go a long way to achieve that goal. We hope you will come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The hotel has great customer service and is an excellent value for the price. The food is great both at the Amber Grill and by the catering kitchen. John the manager goes out of his way to make sure you have what you need. There are fantastic running trails just two miles west of the property.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Sometimes the best part about a trip is the food... if it's good. Amber Grill has been dedicated to quality food and service since it opened 2 years ago. After 5 years, the Hotel & Convention Center continues to offer exceptional customer service at a competitive price. Ofcourse, a trip to Stevens Point would not be complete if you did not explore our many nature areas that we are proud of. It's nice to hear you got out there for a run. Come back and visit us anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stevens Point hotels
426.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids
24.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Stevens Point
23.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stevens Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 13 in Stevens Point
127 reviews
22.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Stevens Point
24.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Stevens Point
Days Inn & Suites Stevens Point
#9 of 13 in Stevens Point
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center

Address: 1001 Amber Ave, Stevens Point, WI 54482-8473
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Stevens Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stevens Point
Price Range: £86 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wisconsin's newest full service convention center, and Travel Green designated hotel the Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, Stevens Point, WI. Located in central Wisconsin to serve all your convention/meeting needs. Holiday Inn & Convention Center Stevens Point features 149 spacious guestrooms and a variety of luxury suites is located directly off I-39 and Hwy. 51 at Hwy. 10E. Holiday Inn Convention Center Stevens Point features 38,000 square feet of combined meeting, exhibit, conference, expo, and banquet space. Our professional meeting planners provide full service food and beverage service to accommodate all breakfast, lunch, dinner, hors d'oeuvre, and refreshment break needs. Rudy's Red Eye Grill, our premier on-site restaurant and bar features excellent food, remarkable atmosphere, and live music Thursday-Saturday Guests can also enjoy the intimate lobby bar. The Holiday Inn Convention Center Stevens Point boasts Splashpoint Indoor Water Area with a 3-story slide, water geysers, plunge pool, whirlpool, kiddie slide, and large game room. Call for limited slide hours and height restrictions. The Holiday Inn Convention Center Stevens Point is within close proximity to UW Stevens Point, Sentry Insurance, Sentry World Golf, Lands End, Banta, Donaldson, Canadian National and Point Brewery with complimentary transportation within a 5-mile radius during customary business hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stevens Point Hotel Stevens Point
Stevens Point Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing