We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Stevens Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

There are not many lodging options in Stevens Point and my previous stay at the Econolodge did not inspire confidence when I was on a return visit. But the Holiday Inn was a really nice surprise - easy to find, lots of decent dining options nearby, and a really nice clean room with up-to-date decor.

One caution: the Amber Grill (shares the parking lot) may have live music on the outdoor patio during the summer months; ask for a room on the north side of the building if you don't want to hear music after 10 pm.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCMN621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake-GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

We are glad you came to stay with us! Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us, as the information you provide is integral in assisting our efforts to excel and improve. We hope you will come to stay with us again the next time you are in the Stevens Point area. It would be our pleasure to see you again! Many thanks, and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Whenever I'm in Stevens Point, my family and I stay here. The staff are always wonderful and the hotel has a very good look to it. I have never had a problem with the rooms. The restaurant connected isn't my favorite place to eat in Stevens Point, but it isn't bad. The bar is a great place to relax and have drinks. The pool area is very much geared towards kids, so if you're looking to swim laps or have fun in a deep pool, you're out of luck. My son does enjoy it, however.

This will always be my first option with hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitebuffalo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake-GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you so much for the great review! We appreciate your feedback, and we are humbled and honored to be your "first option" when visiting the area. We know that you have a number of lodging choices in Stevens Point, and we want you to know that we will keep striving to exceed your expectaions during all of your future visits!

We sincerely thank you for making us your hotel of choice! We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just got here, and our room is lovely. Bigger than I expected, and our son is snoozing away in his tree top bunk bed fort. Check in was easy and super - friendly, and parking was plentiful near the door.

We must not have read enough ahead of time, because we were expecting a water park here too. On our walk around after check in, we found the pool area to be a kiddy pool with single slide, a basketball pool, and one 25' water slide. We are here for a wedding, but could have saved almost half by choosing another place with just a pool. We'll be in the Dells in two days, so I guess we will get more than enough there.

As I write this, it is 1030pm, and the constant running and yelling of kids and drunk adults isalmost too much. If the A/C would have better controls, we might be able to drown it out.

Maybe.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimJPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake-GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Hello, and thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your review, and we would like to express our sincere gratitude for taking time to it. Reviews are helpful to us in many ways, but above all, they give us invaluable insight into the experiences of our guests.

To address your issue regarding Splash Point, we admit that, compared to what the Dells have to offer, we cannot compete. However, we believe we offer one of the finest pool areas in the Stevens Point area, and we are proud of this fact. The attractions within our pool facility are advertised quite clearly on our website to avoid any misunderstandings regarding what to expect. We are very sorry to hear that you found Splash Point to be less than satisfactory.

As for the noise created by some of our other guests, we do apologize. We strive diligently to enforce curfews for minors within the hotel, specifically when we house groups and teams. However, it is difficult for our staff to be everywhere at once, and sometimes there are those who disregard our rules. It is unfortunate. We always recommend contacting the front desk if you experience issues like this so that we can begin working to fix the problem in a timely manner. After all, your concerns are our concerns.

Thank you again for staying with us. We were glad to have you, and we hope you will honor us with another visit soon. Safe and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

My family and I were in town for a wedding and booked a room at this hotel. We were very impressed with the lobby and sitting area; it was beautiful! The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was small but served its purpose. My husband and daughter loved the shower! We had dinner our first night at the Amber Grill. We highly recommend it! "Splash Point" was a little disappointing. The slide and hot tub were enjoyable, but there was no place to really swim. A few of the lifeguards were friendly, but others would barely smile, let alone say a word to us. Overall, we had a pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake-GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Hello Olivia! Thank you for staying with us! We hope you enjoyed the wedding festivities! We are pleased to hear that you found your stay to be an enjoyable one. From the Amber Grill to Splash Point, it sounds like you were able to experience every aspect of our facility. Because of this, your feedback is especially helpful to us, so please accept out sincere gratitude for taking time to review our hotel. We hope you will keep us in mind should you be traveling through the Stevens Point area in the future. We'd love to have you back with us. Safe and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Nice staff and nice clean rooms for the price. The water park was very disappointing. The large slide has limited hours and the guards who work it look like they would rather be any where but there. It was impossible to even get a greeting out of JOHN. The pool guards need the same training as the front desk staff. The pool area is mostly for small children who love the 1-2 feet pool and slide. There is no pool for anyone interested in really swimming. Although the walls appear solid you can still hear people in the other rooms and their TV.

Room Tip: End of any hall on third floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mauiartist100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake-GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! We are always very appreciative when guests provide their feedback. Your comments are important to us, as they give us great insight into how well we are performing and assist us in improving our services.

We are sorry that you found Splash Point to be less than satisfactory. In regards to our slide hours, we are required to have certified life guards on staff while the slide is in operation, per state regulations. This, unfortunately, limits the time we are able to keep the slide open. As for your comments about the pool attendants on staff during your visit, we are disheartened to hear that you did not find them to be friendly or personable. Please be assured that this is not typical of our Splash Point staff. All of our staff is trained to put our guests first, and to hear otherwise is quite displeasing.

Again, thank you for reviewing our facility, and thank you for staying with us. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the future! Safe and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed here for a weekend of Trivia with our two young sons, ages 4 & 6. The hotel was very clean, the staff friendly and courteous, and the beds were very comfortable (which is sometimes hard to find)! The room we stayed in had a little alcove with bunk beds and a tv for the kids. It would've been nice to somehow close that space off a bit - a curtain or something - but overall these beds were fun for them and convenient for us. The shower was great. Staying in this room was quite close to the water park- convenient for sure but a bit noisy at times.

One thing I would say was a negative was that the water in the pools was pretty cold. Not freezing by any means, but I would recommend increasing the temp especially as this area is geared towards kids and the parents that have to be in there with them. I really wanted to hit the slide but it was just too cold.

Overall a great time had by all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sooosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

We love our Trivia and all the guests that join us for that weekend. We’re glad you enjoyed the “Family Suite” with the bunk beds. Although we don’t have pool-side rooms, these suites are located in the pool wing making it easy for families to get to and from the pool. We wish we could provide warmer pool water but the temperature must stay between 81 and 83 degrees which is a state regulation and follow the health standards. If you are one of the serious Trivia players then I’m sure you are planning and collecting all the info you can for next year. We hope to see you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Wonderful! Stayed in a king suite after a long trip. The front desk staff was welcoming and helpful. The room was very spacious, attractive, and meticulously clean. It was equipped with a fireplace, microwave, fridge, and Keurig coffee maker. Checking out the pool later but it looks great! Overall, I would highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomDadand3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit and recommending our hotel to other travelers. As a larger hotel, we are proud to have a wide variety of room types to include our larger suites with the fireplace along with extra comforts to enhance your stay. We recently added the Keurig coffee makers to our suites and are glad to hear that guest’s are enjoying this new amenity. We look forward to the next time you stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stevens Point hotels
24.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Stevens Point
426.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids
24.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 13 in Stevens Point
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stevens Point
22.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Stevens Point
24.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Stevens Point
Days Inn & Suites Stevens Point
#10 of 13 in Stevens Point
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center

Address: 1001 Amber Ave, Stevens Point, WI 54482-8473
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Stevens Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stevens Point
Price Range: £85 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wisconsin's newest full service convention center, and Travel Green designated hotel the Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, Stevens Point, WI. Located in central Wisconsin to serve all your convention/meeting needs. Holiday Inn & Convention Center Stevens Point features 149 spacious guestrooms and a variety of luxury suites is located directly off I-39 and Hwy. 51 at Hwy. 10E. Holiday Inn Convention Center Stevens Point features 38,000 square feet of combined meeting, exhibit, conference, expo, and banquet space. Our professional meeting planners provide full service food and beverage service to accommodate all breakfast, lunch, dinner, hors d'oeuvre, and refreshment break needs. Rudy's Red Eye Grill, our premier on-site restaurant and bar features excellent food, remarkable atmosphere, and live music Thursday-Saturday Guests can also enjoy the intimate lobby bar. The Holiday Inn Convention Center Stevens Point boasts Splashpoint Indoor Water Area with a 3-story slide, water geysers, plunge pool, whirlpool, kiddie slide, and large game room. Call for limited slide hours and height restrictions. The Holiday Inn Convention Center Stevens Point is within close proximity to UW Stevens Point, Sentry Insurance, Sentry World Golf, Lands End, Banta, Donaldson, Canadian National and Point Brewery with complimentary transportation within a 5-mile radius during customary business hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stevens Point Hotel Stevens Point
Stevens Point Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing