We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Stevens Point
Road Warrior
Level Contributor
138 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just spent one night here passing though but I thought this was a pretty nice hotel.

Check in went smoothly, the blond lady at the front desk on 4/16/14, didn't catch her name was great and a real customer service pro. She even automatically upgraded our room to one with a fire place and jacuzzi for being IHG Platinum members. It's finally nice to see an IHG hotel that did that, it's the first one I've encountered so far this year in fact and I've been on the road for several months.

The room was huge and spotless, housekeeping does a great job here. The beds or more specifically the mattresses are outstanding, very soft and plush, a quick check of the mattress tag showed it to be a Simmons Beautyrest World Class Granville Terrace, which is a very high quality mattress.

Wireless internet worked well but speed tests only showed about .5 Mbps download speeds which is pretty abysmal for a business hotel of this size. I can imagine it must really bog down when the hotel is full but it wasn't very busy the day I stayed and was fine for my purposes.

Heating/Ac unit is one of the old style ones that has no wall thermostat so it was hard to get the room to stay at a comfortable temperature.

Room had a microwave and fridge that came in handy.

All in all I thought this was a pretty solid hotel and a decent value, I'd more then likely return again if I was back in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlCzervik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to post your review. Your candor and patronage is very much appreciated, and we are thrilled to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one. We know the stress that inherently comes with business travel, and one of our goals is to minimize these stresses for our business friends as much as we can. Also, we are always honored to have a loyal IHG Rewards member stay with us, and we will always upgrade our members if such accomodations are available. After all, as our loyal guest, you deserve it!

Thank you again for coming to stay with us. We hope you will visit us again if you return to our area. We'd be glad to have you with us. Until next time, safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    88
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
72
24
8
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsville, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

My daughter's and I stayed here this weekend.very nice hotel,clean,quiet,beds were very comfortable,the staff was very nice to us.the kids really enjoyed the water park.and the food was really good in the restaurant,the kids get to eat free with a purchase of adult meal which is nice.I would stay here again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasner78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we are humbled by your kind words. We pride ourselves on supplying our guests with a stellar lodging experience, as we know that traveling can often be a stressful endeavor. However, we also know that if we can provide our guests with all the comforts at home, paired with friendly service and a relaxing atmosphere, those stresses may be aleviated, and our guests can find peace and comfort. After all, our guests deserve it!

Please accept our sincere gratitude for coming to stay with us. We are honored to have had you as our guest, and we hope you will come and stay with us again soon. Until then, safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great reception at the front desk, they know their Priority Club Members by first name!
Check in process was quick and easy, room was clean, smelled great and was very comfortable.
Hotel and convention center was very busy, I had to park in the back lot, which at first concerned me but I found my stay to be great even with the high capacity.

The bar and restaurant was busy but the service was great. Bartenders were great, very personable and professional. Great drinks, good value and the meal was exceptional.

I have to say the staff makes this place great, they make you feel at home every time I visit!

Room Tip: If you want a specific room or floor, all you have to do is ask and they will do what they can to ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickolig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We are so greatful that you chose to share your experience with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate your kind words regarding the service you received from our staff. We recognize that our staff is the face of our establishment and, as such, we strive to instill each one with the drive to provide every guest with a welcoming smile and exceptional service. We want you, our guest, to feel at home. After all, you're more than just a guest, you're our friend, and we are glad to have you with us.

We hope you will make us your home away from home while traveling in our area, and as always, if there is any way we can make your future stays more comfortable, please let us know.
Thank you for staying with us, and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I had business in Area, brought my wife. Stopped in lobby to see if they had room ready early, and if they could give me my AAA rate. The Customer service at front desk was the best ever. Have stay here before, but most of time rooms filled with conventions, and front desk attitude seemed to be so so.
Since it was -8 we decided to try lunch at hotel, instead of driving around. Lunch staff was much better, than previous visits. The Food was pertect and a great value. My soup and sandwich was $6.99. Soup was beef vegetable, delicious. Should have been called steak soup, there was so much meat in it.
We also tried something we haven't done in 15 years, we ordered room service for dinner. Remember -8 temp and wind chill -25. We ordered a combo dinner to split.Came with a Filet, salmon, and shrimp. Sides included salad, Au Gratin potatos, and green beans. I ordered a glass of wine too. Perfect, hot, delicious, fast and served on real china with silverware, and cloth napkins.Filet cooked to a perfect mediuam rare, fish and salmon hot and tasty, beans a little on over done side but very good.
Best night sleep of sleep in long time, maybe wine? But so quiet compared to most of hotels I stay in. No banging doors, just quiet like we were only ones in hotel. Great beds.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dntwiscon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for posting such a positive review of our facility! We could not be happier to hear of your experience. It is good to know that you were able to dine at our on-site restaurant, and that everything was to your liking. We only wish the weather could have been a bit warmer for your visit. Mother Nature sure has been less than accommodating in regard to warm weather.

We want to extend our thanks to you for staying with us, and for sharing your thoughts and experience. Your candor and patronage are greatly appreciated, and we hope you will come and visit us again soon. Please know that our staff is always here to help, and should there be anything we can do to make your future stays more comfortable, do not hesitate to ask. We are committed to making your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible.

Unitl next time, safe travels, and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
220 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed here for an event and the setting was excellent. The room heater/AC was a little loud so I turned it off so all was well. Jason at the front desk was very efficient and professional and seemed to like his job. It is nice to see that these days. I did not use any of the hotel amenities or restaurant but the room was nice and very clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbj04769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Please accept our sincere gratitude for your positive review of our facility! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The associate you mentioned is a veteran in the hospitality industry, and it is good to hear that he made a positive impression on you. We will be sure to pass your commendation along.

We hope that you will choose us again should you find yourself returning to the Stevens Point area. Should you return, we hope you will take advantage of some of the other ammenities and services we offer. I'm sure you will find them to be just as enjoyable.

Until then, thank you for staying with us! It was our pleasure to serve you. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauston, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed two nights and loved it. This is the second time we stayed and both times were equally comfortable. The front desk is friendly, the rooms clean and quiet and the conference center is pleasant. I am a wheelchair user and the room was very accessible.

Room Tip: Accessible are very accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to our area. We appreciate that you took time to provide us with your comments and feedback. As a repeat guest at our hotel, you provide valuable insight into the consistency of our performance. For that, we are very grateful. We are so pleased to know that you have enjoyed your visits to our facility, and we truly hope that you will make us your home away from home when you are in Stevens Point. We love seeing familiar faces, and we would be honored to have you with us again. Until then, thank you for being our guest. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

It was our AWSC annual workshop weekend. Guess what we are a bunch of fun people and they didn't hold the whole hotel for us like they promised! People were getting hotels from 5 miles away. Although the hotel was nice, how do you think the people felt across from the hospitallity room at midnight when we were playing loud music and making lots of noise. They know from the last several years our group does this and then to tell us we can't?? The should not have put cross country runners by a bunch of snowmobilers! We had 600 people registered for the weekend and we were all at the holiday inn for activities.

Our room was nice, but the management here must be morons, they can't expect us to be quiet at midnight!!!

Room Tip: don't get a room towards the pool unless you have little ones and are going to the pool, its noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytraveler54485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
We are sorry that you were troubled by the request for quiet in the late evening from your room. Several of your association and board members also asked us for quite after midnight that evening as well and we tried to accommodate them. As you mentioned after attending for several years, this was a city wide event and no one hotel in Stevens Point was ever able to host the entire association group. We wish this facility was large enough to host every single attendee, but that was not physically possible and that was why there were rooms occupied all over the city for your group.

We have always enjoyed having the snowmobilers here with us and enjoy the party-like atmosphere you never fail to provide for us. It is great for the staff and fun for the attendees, as shown by the complimentary comments we have received that weekend from others and the AWSC board.

Again, we wish we had rooms for all attendees to party together all night but maybe we will build on. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stevens Point hotels
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Stevens Point
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stevens Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Stevens Point
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 13 in Stevens Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
3.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Stevens Point
Days Inn & Suites Stevens Point
#9 of 13 in Stevens Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center

Property: Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center
Address: 1001 Amber Avenue, Stevens Point, WI 54481
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Stevens Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stevens Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wisconsin's newest full service convention center, and Travel Green designated hotel the Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, Stevens Point, WI. Located in central Wisconsin to serve all your convention/meeting needs. Holiday Inn & Convention Center Stevens Point features 149 spacious guestrooms and a variety of luxury suites is located directly off I-39 and Hwy. 51 at Hwy. 10E. Holiday Inn Convention Center Stevens Point features 38,000 square feet of combined meeting, exhibit, conference, expo, and banquet space. Our professional meeting planners provide full service food and beverage service to accommodate all breakfast, lunch, dinner, hors d'oeuvre, and refreshment break needs. Rudy's Red Eye Grill, our premier on-site restaurant and bar features excellent food, remarkable atmosphere, and live music Thursday-Saturday Guests can also enjoy the intimate lobby bar. The Holiday Inn Convention Center Stevens Point boasts Splashpoint Indoor Water Area with a 3-story slide, water geysers, plunge pool, whirlpool, kiddie slide, and large game room. Call for limited slide hours and height restrictions. The Holiday Inn Convention Center Stevens Point is within close proximity to UW Stevens Point, Sentry Insurance, Sentry World Golf, Lands End, Banta, Donaldson, Canadian National and Point Brewery with complimentary transportation within a 5-mile radius during customary business hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stevens Point Hotel Stevens Point
Stevens Point Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing