We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin 2”
Review of Crown Point Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stoughton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crown Point Resort
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cabin 2”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We just spent a week in cabin #2. It was very clean, quiet, and well appointed. It was a bit small for the four of us, two adults and two kids, but the price was right for this visit. I would like to book number six next time we visit, and we intend to return soon. There is good fishing off the dock for warm water species, but the hidden gem lies a few hundred yards away off the point to the east (?) and is easily reachable by kayak.
Frank was there at every turn with what ever we needed...our coffee pot was a bit clogged, and he had a new one in thirty seconds. My three year old daughter did not fit in a regular life jacket, and Frank had her one in a flash.
The grounds are pretty and nicely kept. Plenty of sand box toys in the sand box and a good slide and swing round out the playground area.
His kayaks and paddle boat are in very good shape, we did not have a chance to use the pontoon or fishing boats this time.
Frank is a great host with a beautiful spot, do your self a favor and make the call to Crown Point Resort.

Room Tip: Resort seems to be within a half hour of everything in Madison.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anamosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We are regulars to Crown Point Resort... we try to make it once or twice a summer.

We have stay in cabin 6, the boat house; cabin number 2 and this time cabin number 5. They are all great, clean, and have all the amenities of home. All the cabins have a view of the lake, which the kids like playing in.

Book early! The cabins fill up quick. Frank is a great host. We'll be back soon!

Room Tip: Lots of stairs to the water, but well worth the walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannibal, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Our stay here was very peaceful and accomodating, would highly recommend it for a quiet getaway.The cabin was perfect and very clean. Frank and his son are very nice hosts. The lake is beautiful and people are very friendly. Mike and Karla

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kward10806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at Crown Point for one week in late May 2013 and had an excellent time. The house afforded us plenty of room, and was incredibly well-stocked. We were steps away from the lake, a playscape for our kids, kayaks, fishing, etc. It is a perfect location for our day trips to Madison and other places in the area. More specific feedback:

>> The house had everything we could possibly need - which made staying there easier / less stressful. We are used to renting homes on vacations and are usually responsible for bringing or buying *everything* including toilet paper. This was the opposite experience - from spices to paper products to detergent, sheets, towels, etc.

>> Frank was incredibly responsive, available and helpful. He was there to help with questions, directions, recommendations, etc. His son was awesome too - very friendly and helpful.

>> The grounds are incredibly beautiful and well-kept; perfect for relaxing, grilling, chilling, boating, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitziMensch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Recently stayed in cabin #6, AKA The Boathouse. Just steps from the lake. Lots of windows on the east side throughout, providing beautiful views of the of the lake with breathtaking sunrises. Spacious living and bedrooms, plenty of baths. Cozy deck with a charcoal barbeque off to the side allowed for entertaining guests for the evening. This isn't a hotel, it's a home away from home.
Frank, the owner, was great as well. He offered advice on getting around and great recommendations for dining and grocery. I imagine he knows just where on the lake the fish are biting too.
We will be staying here again next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days and can't wait to come back. Cheaper than a hotel but much better. Frank was awesome even printing out shortcut directions to our conference. We stayed in house #6 four steps from my bed to the dock!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drewrhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Wonderful getaway location, close enough to shopping, but still felt like we were "away". Frank could not have been more accommodating. Looking forward to going back for another girls weekend! Ample space and accpmmodations, well stocked kitchen devices. Not the ritz, but not the ritz price either!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 2munchkinmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoughton
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites of Stoughton
6.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Madison
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Madison
Days Inn & Suites Madison
#27 of 63 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
6.1 mi away
Magnuson Grand Hotel
Magnuson Grand Hotel
#49 of 63 in Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
6.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Point Resort

Property: Crown Point Resort
Address: 2030 Barber Dr, Stoughton, WI 53589-3078
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Stoughton
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Stoughton
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown Point Resort Hotel is a collection of 6 different size cottages located on 3000 acre Lake Kegonsa. All of the cottages are very modern and rented year round and sleep 2 to 8 persons. Only 15 minutes to downtown Madison and 5 minutes to the heart of Stoughton, Wisconsin. All have complete kitchens. wifi, decks, Weber grills. Kayaks, a paddleboat, fishing boats, and a pontoon boat are available to rent. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crown Point Resort Stoughton, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing