We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodations albeit sad”
Review of Naeset Roe Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stoughton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Naeset Roe Inn
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Referring to "tleigh01" review, yes, Propriator Carl Povlick did die on Sunday, April 29th. His niece Bess is currently running the Inn, and while grieving she did a great job. We stayed this weekend and hope and pray to return, if the Inn continues business.

Room Tip: The ClockTower Suite is lovely...tub a wonderful treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLAT53219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and I were expecting a wonderful time at this inn. We probably would have had a perfect get-away. But sometime between Monday 4/23 and Friday 4/27 Stoughton's beloved innkeeper, Carl Povlick, passed away. Our condolences to the community.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tleigh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

This delightful inn is just off the main street of downtown Stoughton. Carl and Zack are excellent hosts. Based on one of the other reviews on here, we were slightly concerned about the presence of smoke, but there was no trace of any smoke in the house (I'm very allergic to smoke). We had terrific homemade macaroons awaiting us when we returned from dinner, after checking in earlier in the afternoon. Homemade breakfast was fantastic, with lemon curd and delicious scones as the highlight. We had the Rose room, which is very cute, with an extremely comfortable bed and nice-sized whirlpool tub. Since it is an older house, be prepared for smaller rooms, although they were more than adequate for our experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassiopeia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The owner is a heavy smoker which is not mentioned on the website. The entire house smelled of smoke as it permeated everything. The smell was so bad we had to sleep on the sleeping porch outside and left after 1 night instead of the 2 we had booked. I have allergies so I had a throbbing headache the entire time we were there. My husband too had a headache from the smoke smell everywhere. Would never go back and would not recommend anyone stay there.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Bridget K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Carl and Zack were the best hosts we could have asked for. The room was quaint and cozy and everything was available you could want. From complimentary popcorn and a microwave outside the room to games and movies and TV in your room and the parlor. The house is gorgeous inside and out. Carl took great care and provided excellent recommendations for restaurants and things to see and do in the area. Can I stress again the food was FANTASTIC!!!?? The savory french toast was to die for! We will be back again. Thanks Carl!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLKDix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Quickly narrowed down our options for a one night stay upon receiving a B&B gift certificate. This B&B was chosen for the Travel Green Wisconsin designation, tripadvisor recommendations, food descriptions, and location. There were actually several Wisconsin B&Bs that did not even accept the certificates.
Carl is very friendly and accommodating. His food amazing!
The room (Clock Tower) had a large whirlpool tub, electric fireplace and extremely comfortable bed.
All the details are covered including a plethora of beverages, music and movies available.
Stoughton is a nice community, very accessible from the freeway.
One night was great, but we will certainly need to return to experience more.

Room Tip: The Clock Tower room did not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lfresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

the service and food,rooms are super,the owner is Carl along with dog Zak.the Inn is very pretty,nice,clean, quiet.his food is the best We have had in a long time,ever better than grandma's best,he talks with us at the meals,and even in between,when he sees us come and go.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoughton
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites of Stoughton
9.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Madison
15.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison/Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Magnuson Grand Hotel
Magnuson Grand Hotel
#47 of 63 in Madison
192 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
744 reviews
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naeset Roe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naeset Roe Inn

Address: 126 E Washington St, Stoughton, WI 53589-1736
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Stoughton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Stoughton
Price Range: £68 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest, Relaxation and Rejuvenation. The three R's of Naeset-Roe Inn. Come and explore Stoughton with its Art, Shops, Live Theater, Live Music, and outstanding restaurants. The perfect place for your staycation. Park your car, walk and enjoy Main Street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Naeset Roe Inn Stoughton, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing