We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge at Leathem Smith
Nearby Hotels
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay(Sturgeon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Maritime Inn(Sturgeon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort(Sturgeon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Music Motel(Sturgeon Bay)(Great Value!)
US$54
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snug Harbor Inn(Sturgeon Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
106
61
41
33
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
61
41
33
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaptains suiteomelette stationwedding guestsupon checkpaulkonaaccommodationsveteranstikifallfireplacewaterfront
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2007

Recently we stayed at Leathem Smith Lodge in Sturgeon Bay WI.
When we arrived, our room had been given away to someone else. We had reserved this room two months earlier.We were given their "last available room", in a dirty , older section of the motel. We were at their mercy,as it was late in the day and we had no place else to stay.
When we complained to the owner the next morning as we checked out, all he would give was a $20 discount off the $120/night room charge.
He said he didn't care about his reputation as the owner of Leathem Smith Lodge of Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin. He didn't care what the customers thought of Leathem Smith Lodge of Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin.

He said "I'm one step below God...take it or leave it!" and cursed at us as we left.

Never in all our travels have we had such poor service!

Stay away from this place!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank DianaG201309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulmeleen, Owner at The Lodge at Leathem Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2011

Leathem Smith Lodge went out of business in 2007 and was recently purchased and reopened in 2011 under new ownership. We have updated the entire facility to a 5 Star rating and never expect to see another negative review here or anywhere. That is a promise and for more information, please phone us at 1-920-743-5555.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2007

We've just returned from our five day stay at the Leathem Smith Lodge in Sturgeon Bay Wisconsin...Our stay at the Leathem Smith made our trip that much more enjoyable! From the owners to the staff ...everyone made us feel right at home! Our room was very clean and comfortable....and nicely appointed. We ate at the Lodge four of our five nights and every meal was delicious and cooked to our liking....The dining room staff were very personable and attentive.....In the early mornings and/or in the evenings we strolled along the bay that lies just at the bottom of the Lodge's driveway. Plus we enjoyed looking out on the green grounds for breakfast and from the main dinning room we watched a boat or two move along the bay as we ate dinner ..... We found the complimentary continental breakfast [choice of hot and cold cereals, juices, tea, coffee, fruit, muffins and toast] a nice way to start our day.....The history of the Lodge was an interesting plus!....We were very happy that we chose the Leathem Smith Lodge for our "Home" base while visiting Door County!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank credwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2006

We had high hopes for this lodge. We were on a 2 week road trip around Lake Michigan and thought that this would be one of the highlights. Wrong. The first room that they gave us was in a separate building and was awfull. The carpet was all stained, the decor was very old with bad blue ceramic tile all over the bathroom. It was dark and dreary. We requested a different room and they were good about it, giving us a main lodge room that was newer and much better. Well lit with a balcony and bigger. No elevator but that was probably good for us. The lodge has a great history and I'm sure was one of the premier places to stay in its day but it needs serious updating in many areas. The old tennis courts are an eyesore. The pool was clean but again, needs extensive updates. One of the ladies that works at the desk seemed to barely tolerate us, almost as if we were outsiders. They probably see a lot of old timer type repeat customers. But I'm not sure why they keep coming back. Maybe when they invest the time and $$$ into making the lodge into the top notch place that it used to be, we'll try it again.

Stayed: June 2006
7  Thank azhottraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Madison, WI
13
Reviewed 30 May 2006

We visited Door County to participate in the 13th annual Lighthouse Walk. It was a wonderful event but our stay at Leathum Smith Lodge was not. We expected to stay in the Lodge but since my wife smokes, were booked into Harborside. It is an 18 unit separate facility that had the charm of a Motel 6 at three times the price. My wife would have smoked outside if we had been told the Lodge was a no smoking facility. We were not informed of this when we booked our room. Visits to other no smoking resorts have been far more enjoyable in Door County.

Stayed: May 2006
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
13
Reviewed 4 January 2006

We go to Door County every year for New Year's. Every year we try and stay in a different town. This year was our second year in Sturgeon Bay-we love it! So much to do and so beautiful. We found the Leatham Smith Lodge and decided to give their New Year's Package a try. It was GREAT! We will now make it a tradition to go to Leatham Smith. Food & Service was great! Our room was wonderful, warm and inviting. We went during the off season, and it is so beautiful. The owners of the Lodge were so personable and accomadating, they really do care that you have an enjoyable stay. The dining area was gorgeous and the bar area was great with Live music from a great musician (who I guess they have there all summer long). I can only imagine that this would be an even better place to stay in the summer with it being across the street from the Bay. Close to everything, state parks, shopping, dining etc. I would recommend a stay at Leatham Smith to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews