We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quilting Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Leathem Smith
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I just spent two nights, three days at the lodge - everything was wonderful. It was first weekend of deer hunting season. Holly (owner) had to help with the cooking. The food was awesome, the staff was friendly, the service was great, everything was clean. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

We only spent 1 night here. Came into town with no reservation and the visitor center directed us here. Lucky for us. It is an older place that is obviously undergoing renovations. The lobby was pretty and everywhere you went it was clean. So despite their renovating they keep this place very clean. The woman at the desk was very pleasant and quite efficient. Our room was dated but again very clean. Nothing fancy but comfortable. The bed was fine and the linens were so very soft. The breakfast is good. A very personable young man made omelets just as you desired with an assortment of ingredients. This was quite filling. We did not eat at the restaurant but the menu seemed like we would have been able to find something to eat. There is an outdoor pool that was closed of course. There are tennis courts but these have not yet been restored. There is a marina across the street so you can launch a boat or hire a charter. It was a very quiet place to be. We would definitely go back if we were in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2gothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My husband and I rode into Door County only to find out no one had any rooms to rent because it was punpkin festival. The Lodge saved us. We found the front desk, ladies cleaning the rooms,restaurant staff, chef to be very nice and friendly,The room was very nice and clean. We found the food at both restaurants excellent. It is a perfect location.

Room Tip: Call ahead of time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlene k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Very nice, newly updated lodge. Very nice rooms with great beds. Everyone went out of their way to accomadate every request. Nice continental breakfst with a chef to make you an omelete to your likeing. They have a full service restaurant and bar. They have a potato salad made with blue cheese that is unique in my experiance you might want to try. Didn't find one thing that wasn't up to par.

Room Tip: I only was in our own room so don't know if any others were different, but was very satisfied wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodturner39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My girlfriend and I came here for a long holiday weekend. This was the PERFECT spot , especially for the few " pet friendly" spots in Door County ( we called them all).

Brenda and the rest of the front desk, bar and restaurant employees were friendly and extremely helpful with directions, recommendations, and ideas!
We ended up fishing across the street with "fox" - which was AMAZING !!! Highly recommend working with him for any salmon OR ice fishing (white fish).... The Lodge vacuum sealed all our fish ( which we caught a TON of salmon!) and held it till the day we left (boxed it up too).

The rooms were clean, we had a small dog with - and stayed on ground level - easy access to the grass with seats outside to relax with our wine.

We also cruised up and down the Door County coast - this location was a perfect central location. I liked the towns north, but they also seemed more "touristy" - so i liked going back to Sturgeon Bay....

If you have pets - for sure this is your place !!

If you dont - still this is your place!!

Room Tip: with pets - first floor - by door A...without pets - who knows - its all good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at the Lodge July 29 and 30th. The staff could not be nicer. They went out of the way to make sure our stay was exceptional. Staff made sure we were happy with our room. Since it has recently re-opened after being closed for 3 years, it needs a little work. Overall, the resort is in GREAT shape. The beds were comfortable. We only ate breakfast there, but very much enjoyed the continental breakfast, with the omelet station. The menus looked great for lunch and dinner in both of the restaurants. We were gone all day, doing our Door County Antiquing and shopping, so we ate on the road. I highly recommend the Lodge!!! It also had special re-opening rates, which was a plus. It has the Madelyn Marina, so you would have a place for your boat, or could charter a boat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmkuehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I visited the Lodge at Leathem Smith during my last fishing tournament. The accommodations were great - I stayed in the Captains suite. The resort is very fisherman friendly - both for those anglers going out on a charter - or those anglers who have brought their own boat. The resort had plenty of room to park my boat - and more importantly for a fisherman, a place to plug the boat in to charge the batteries. Fishing was great while I was there, and the Lodge offers a unique service - they will vacuum seal and freeze your catch. I ate dinner every night I was there - either at Kona Bay Fish House or at Opels. Kona Bay has a filet on the menu - rolled in crushed Kona coffee, which sounded very odd, but turned out to be great. Kona Bay has a great bar, where many guests ended each night telling their fish stories from the day. I have already made reservations for a second stay - looking forward to more time fishing Sturgeon Bay.

Room Tip: Rooms are $89 Mon-Thursday - All Suites face the grassy pool area - less noise and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsuMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
1.6 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#4 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
530 reviews
4.0 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
15.9 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#16 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
330 reviews
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
21.7 mi away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Leathem Smith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Leathem Smith

Address: 1640 Memorial Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-1504
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: £54 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Leathem Smith 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leathem Smith Lodge went out of business in 2007 and was recently purchased and reopened as The Lodge at Leathem Smith in 2011. The Lodge is the place in Door County for upscale guest rooms, impeccable Suites, fine casual dining, meetings, wedding receptions, banquets and recreational facilities tendered to their guests with great pride and attention-to-detail professionalism - all part of your ideal stay in Door County at Leathem Smith Lodge. ACCOMMODATIONS: Our many guests have found the guest rooms live up to our standard of Casual elegance at Door County's historic Lodge Resort, all at affordable rates. The Lodge guest rooms include 16 Suites... 475 Sq. Ft. Commodore (2) and First Mate (2) junior suites, 650 sq. Ft. Two-room Captain's Suites (10) and 740 sq. Ft. Two-room Admiral's Suites (2)... Are decorated with 14 different styles of Thomasville furniture and our 32 deluxe hotel rooms are furnished in Broyhill, Thomasville and American of Martinsville. Our Harborside is a one-story building which is approximately 50 yards from the main Lodge. All 15 guest rooms are accessed from interior lobbies and corridor. Each guest room has a patio to relax...'Across-the-street' view to the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lodge at Leathem Smith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Leathem Smith Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Leathem Smith Lodge
Leathem Smith Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing