We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SSteffen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Leathem Smith
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My Sisters and I booked a weekend at the Lodge for my Mom's 70th Birthday. We had a wonderful time. Not only is Door County beautiful but our rooms and meals were wonderful too. The staff was friendly and helpful and so were the owners Holly and Paul. We were given recommendation to places to see and eat. We ate all of are morning meals at the Lodge and most of our evening meals too. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeAtLeathemSmith, Owner at The Lodge at Leathem Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank You for taking time out of your day to write about your recent stay with us. We have such a great staff & am glad to hear they took great care of you and your group.
I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your room, our service and meals at The Lodge.
We look forward to taking excellent care of you upon your return.
Kind Regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

We are writing to express our appreciation for the wonderful service we received
while staying at Leathem-Smith Lodge. We felt so welcome and were given
excellent service both in our accommodations and dining by everyone who
worked there. The food was exceptional.

The owner went out of his way to make us feel comfortable while there.
His honesty and integrity have been evident in our association with him.
He is highly regarded by many respectful individuals and companies.

Truly, it was a great place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suede C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeAtLeathemSmith, Owner at The Lodge at Leathem Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for writing your recent review on Tripadvisor.com
I am happy to hear you had such a positive stay with us. Our team here takes pride in making sure our guests are made to feel welcome and comfortable during their stay. I will definitely share your review with the staff.
I appreciate your kind words.
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have visited The Lodge at Leathem Smith on three occasions in the past two years.
We have been impressed with the cozy atmosphere, the lovely rooms with great
amenities, and the cleanliness of the whole facility. The food is always exceptional and the staff friendly and fun. We would recommend The Lodge to anyone.

We plan to return again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeAtLeathemSmith, Owner at The Lodge at Leathem Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to write about your stay with us. We really appreciate any feedback from our guests...and we love to hear from our return guests. Looking forward to seeing you in the future.
Thanks Again,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I would like to take this opportunity to thank Holly and Paul Meleen, and their entire staff for the wonderful time we had at “The Lodge". It is a perfect weekend getaway. Everyone affiliated with The Lodge was friendly, helpful, and more than willing to go out of their way to make our stay relaxing and fun. The meals with their generous portions were excellent! Given the chance, take a drive into Door County, Wisconsin and experience The Lodge for yourself. Take a walk through the beautiful fall colored trees and find yourself down by the lake. The rooms are very clean and have all the amenities needed for you and your families stay. Thanks again to everyone at The Lodge for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slfreese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeAtLeathemSmith, Owner at The Lodge at Leathem Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write such a kind review of our property! Holly and I take pride in making sure our guests truly have a "remarkable" experience at The Lodge. Our staff takes pride in everything they do (from our housekeeping staff preparing your room to the front desk check in as well as our food & beverage team). Our guests ARE our number one priority. We have a very talented team in our kitchen and I'm pleased to hear you had great meals with us.
We look forward to being able to take care of you again...we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I have read a few of the reviews prior to going there, and couldn't find anything bad about the lodge. It is a Great location to do whatever you need to do. Whether it be fishing, driving to see the sights. Or just a quiet get away. Ive stayed at many Hotels and Motels and couldn't find one thing wrong with this one. The only difference is most hotels have small refrigerators and microwaves in their rooms. However if that is the least thing you have to worry about then this is a very good place to stay. Very Pleasant staff upon arrival. And on Departure. Looking forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the South Parking side. It will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debslas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeAtLeathemSmith, Owner at The Lodge at Leathem Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about you recent stay at The Lodge at Leathem Smith.
Our staff works hard to make every guest feel welcome...happy to hear that is EXACTLY what they did. You are correct, our standard rooms do not have microwaves or fridges, however, they are available upon request. Our suites do have mini kitchens with a fridge & microwave as well as a whirlpool tub for two and a fireplace.
We look forward to your return visit with us!
Thanks again,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I traveled to Sturgeon Bay for a "Girls Getaway/Shopping/Drinking/Eating Weekend"...We had a BLAST!! The Lodge is beautiful -- our room was clean, spacious and a good deal for the price we paid. Many places that offer a continental breakfast offer a danish, juice and maybe some cereal, but not the lodge! Each morning we had our choice of made to order omelets that were delicious, waffles, fresh baked scones, muffins, danish as well as different types of yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee...ALL INCLUDED IN THE RATE!!!
We had dinner on Saturday night and had the privilege of having Holly Meleen as our server! Service was excellent and our steaks were cooked to perfection!
Willie pours a great cocktail and is quite the character...we'll definitely return!
Thanks for making us feel at home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaronNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeAtLeathemSmith, Owner at The Lodge at Leathem Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to write about your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you had such a positive experience during your stay. We believe we have one of the best breakfasts in the county...as a matter of fact our expectation is that you have a fabulous meal any time you dine with us. Holly and I take pride in being able to take care of our guests personally. We look forward to having you and your group return to stay with us! PS: Our staff is always excited to be recognized. We will pass on your comments to Willie as well as the rest of the staff.

Thanks Again,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

First time to Sturgeon Bay, and to Door County. Will never come stay here again. Only good thing was the Omlete the morning we left. We attended a conference for Compassionate friends. Traveled from Southern Wis. about a three and half hour trip. We had a quick lunch in the bar area the bartender/waitress was nice the food was fair. We stayed for dinner which was a very big disapointment all of our food was cold yes cold like ice cold. love cold chicken, mashed potatoes, beef and gravy when it is cold. The only good part of dinner was dessert. Our room was okay outdated some. There were dead bugs on the sink. The beds were as hard as a rock they where the most uncomfortable beds we have ever slept in. I honestly should have just gone out and slept in our Jeep. Very disapointed. Oh yes remember to ask for the workout room that they advertise. It is not there anymore.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marcia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeAtLeathemSmith, Owner at The Lodge at Leathem Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to complete a review of your recent stay with us at The Lodge at Leathem Smith.
I had a chance to discuss your comments about the cold food you experienced on the buffet line during your Compassionate Friends conference. He is reviewing the procedures his staff follows for the transfer of the food from the kitchen to the banquet area to ensure food is served hot.

Our property is in the process of renovations, but it is a slow process. Part of the renovations was the elimination of the exercise room and the addition of the breakfast room (the area where your delicious omelet was served). We will make sure that any mention of the exercise room is removed from the websites.


We strive to provide excellent customer service through out the hotel and take every comment, concern and issue very seriously. Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
1.6 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#4 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
538 reviews
4 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
15.9 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
245 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#16 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
331 reviews
21.7 mi away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Leathem Smith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Leathem Smith

Address: 1640 Memorial Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-1504
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: £52 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Leathem Smith 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leathem Smith Lodge went out of business in 2007 and was recently purchased and reopened as The Lodge at Leathem Smith in 2011. The Lodge is the place in Door County for upscale guest rooms, impeccable Suites, fine casual dining, meetings, wedding receptions, banquets and recreational facilities tendered to their guests with great pride and attention-to-detail professionalism - all part of your ideal stay in Door County at Leathem Smith Lodge. ACCOMMODATIONS: Our many guests have found the guest rooms live up to our standard of Casual elegance at Door County's historic Lodge Resort, all at affordable rates. The Lodge guest rooms include 16 Suites... 475 Sq. Ft. Commodore (2) and First Mate (2) junior suites, 650 sq. Ft. Two-room Captain's Suites (10) and 740 sq. Ft. Two-room Admiral's Suites (2)... Are decorated with 14 different styles of Thomasville furniture and our 32 deluxe hotel rooms are furnished in Broyhill, Thomasville and American of Martinsville. Our Harborside is a one-story building which is approximately 50 yards from the main Lodge. All 15 guest rooms are accessed from interior lobbies and corridor. Each guest room has a patio to relax...'Across-the-street' view to the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Lodge at Leathem Smith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Leathem Smith Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Leathem Smith Lodge
Leathem Smith Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing