We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overwhelming Smell of Sewage!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tranquil Timbers Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Overwhelming Smell of Sewage!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Our first clue about this campground probably should have been that there was no one at the campground! It was chock full of empty seasonal RVs but there were no people around! We did not see anyone taking care of the grassy area and there were many areas that were overgown with weeds. The main activity at the campground was the instillation of personal sewers for the seasonals which meant that the septic truck was onsite all day every day with the resultant smell of sewage when you woke up in the morning and when you ate dinner. Great!
We stayed in a deluxe cabin which was nice enough except that they did not even supply garbage bags, we had to beg for them mid week. The cabin was pretty dirty as well, especially the rugs in the bath. And the stairs leading to the loft were extremely steep - a hazard for young children or the elderly. The staff in the front office was clueless, when we asked about anything at the campground, they did not know. They knew nothing about the hours of operation, the laundry or anything else. One told us she had never seen the rest of the campground.
The frosting on the cake however, was that there was no wifi, even though it is advertised all over their promotional materials. And since there is almost no cell phone reception in Door County (AT&T) we were really stuck! On the first day that we went to use the pool, it was closed for repairs, but did open a couple of hours later. The camp store was only open from 9-12 in the morning and then from 6:30-8:15 in the evening - odd!
The staff that we saw kept referring to the former manager who was no longer there and the new manager who it seemed was trying to run the campground with only a few staff. One staff member said that he and one other guy were the only ones left so that the manager could not afford to have him leave. The manager himself was very pleasant but seemed overly stressed.
Overall the experience was really subpar for having spent a good chunk of change for our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarshDebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    30
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
51
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California City, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We were delighted when we walked into our Deluxe Cabin. Ahh the fresh wood smell. So nicely decorated and located in a woodsy area with chipmonks playing in the trees outside.

Very cute, private porch on the front, perfect for earfly morning coffee. Cabin next door is set back so they couldn't see us and we couldn't see them. Quiet and peaceful. Slept with all the many many windows open.

The kitchen/dining area had all we needed with a small wodden dining room with 4 chairs, full size refrigerator, double sink, oven/stove toaster, coffemaker and an abundance of pots, pans, dishes and untensils. Bring your own dish cloths and paper towels.

Bathroom was nice with hot shower. Bring your own towels, shampoo and soap. This is a campground, not a hotel.

Beds were comfortable, sleeper couch was not...but it was a sleeper couch - are they ever comfortable?

The upstairs loft was also very cute with two beds and windows at both ends. We opted not to use the loft as the stairs were way too steep to go down in the middle of the night if you had to. (Steep stairs seem to be a Wisconsin thing)

Only two small negatives:
1) The water smelled bad. Made for an interesting shower
2) We arrived after hours and had no way to get in. Called two numbers on the door and never got a return call - we were there for two days. Fortunately we could access our email on our cell and got the information from our confirmation letter. If you had no access to the internet I guess you would have to sleep outside in your car and wait until the office opened in the monring. When we told the front desk, all we got was "oh".

Otherwise it was a great place

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Off2SeeItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We have rented cabins and one of the yurts and always really enjoyed it. We were suprised to discover that we all (myself, husband and 3 kids) like the yurts better than the cabins. My 72 yr. old mother even stayed in the yurt and thought it was fun! They are clean and seem to have more room than the cabin. The camp ground is well run and very clean. The pool is nice and they offer a lot of activities for kids, but adults too - - which you typically don't find. The entire area around the campground is beautiful and fun to explore (try the nearby farmers market and lake front restaurant). Overall this is just a really great place with good access to the rest of Door County.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masuret_baloun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Tranquil Timbers is a nice campground that has well shaded area sand the sites are pretty big. There were spots like ours that are tucked out of the way in woods. If you wanted, you could choose a site on the upper part of the camp that is open, has grassy areas and is close to the pool and game room. We like the out of the way sites and during the hot part the summer, shaded areas. So, this site worked well for our needs.

The good about the campground:

1. Lots of shade
2. Nice pool (We did not use because it was crowded on the 90 degree days!)
3. Very secure campground, with electronic gates to enter and leave
4. Nice choices in different types of sites.
5. Lots of PUPS at this campground
6. Clean bathrooms
7. Very quiet campground at the lower campsites.
8. Very nice staff, a camper next to us had a bad extension cord and the camp gave them one to use for the rest of their stay!
9. If you still have kids, they have a ton of activities for them.

The not so good:

1. All the water is well water, which I don't usually mind except it had a heavy metallic smell and taste. The water had a slight brown look to it! It clogged my filter! We bought a case of water for drinking and making coffee
2. Really narrow roads and tight spots for backing PUP in. However, it made for nice and shady sites.
3. Outdated bathrooms that need some work, however, they were clean and that was cool with us.
4. No WIFI (Good and bad)
5. Gravel and dirt in the shaded sites. Yep, hard to grow grass in the forest :)

I am not sure if we will come back to this park in the near future only because we have enjoyed trying out new campgrounds. Oh, there are a ton of places to go and see outside of the campground. This was a quiet and relaxing trip that recharged my batteries and restored my sanity :)

Room Tip: Stayed at lower campground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HollyBailie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrifield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

We had come to this place 2 years ago and got a great site. This time we reserved many months in advance the same spot. We arrived and they put us in a different spot with only letting us know two days prior telling us over the phone it was a great spot as our original. We got here and are by the trash, busy road, smokers, and I could go on. The worst was the man was rude, only offering a day free. I didn't realize when you book something they can change it for someone else willing to pay more. It is always about how much more money someone can get verses pleasing a guest. We will never be back here again! He went on dising us of our faith as my husband was wearing a Jesus T-shirt again, bad path to go with a guest already upset.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dreamscaper69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

we came up for the 4th of july, service was good, campground is nice, only issue we had was our power went out (along with six others) we were told it would take till the 6th to get fixed! so we cut our trip short due to hot weather, our one neighbor said this has happened before so they need to upgrade there electric supply, overall we would go back some day neighbors are nice, playground is dated, pool looked good, store is good, sites are good sized,

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chooch1Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

I went to Door County with 3 other people this past weekend (the weekend before Memorial Day weekend). We stayed at one of the sleeping cabins. The cabin was located towards the entrance of the place and I was worried before coming to Tranquil Timbers that the location of the sleeping cabin would be bad, that it would be really busy and loud.. But overall, my experience was very positive.. The place itself was very quiet and clean.. It wasn't very busy that weekend so that fact probably did not hurt our experience either. The cabin was very well kept. It was kind of small but very cozy.. They had a fire ring and a picnic table so that was very convenient.. We were surrounded by RV's but that didn't really bother us since the people left us alone... We didn't have a bathroom in the cabin but the communal bathroom was just a few steps away and it was neat and clean. I loved the hot showers!! And they always refilled the toilet paper :) I would definitely stay here again and recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bLu3berry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.3 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
24.3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
15.5 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquil Timbers Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquil Timbers Camping Resort

Property: Tranquil Timbers Camping Resort
Address: 3668 Grondin Rd, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-9008
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tranquil Timbers Camping Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotels.com so you can book your Tranquil Timbers Camping Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing