We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Door County views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glidden Lodge Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Door County views”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Very classy resort. Wonderful white sand beach,right next door to Donny's restaurant. Friendly staff. We are making reservations for next year.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdswanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    21
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
60
63
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

A large group of us stayed in 3 of the townhouses. Each had 3 bedrooms and 3 baths which was perfect for a large group of women! The units were completely furnished and the full kitchens were wonderful. The units were clean and daily the towels were re-stocked as well as cleaned. Maid service is always welcomed!

The patios over-looked the bay and the beach. The sun-rise was fabulous and the moon-rise was stunning. Quiet area and remote; however still close to all Door County action!

We all loved our stay!

Room Tip: Choose any unit but choose for the size of your group. All units are WONDERFUL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homebody25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Great location if you don't mind being aways from the majority of towns, shopping, restaurants. Great lakeside location and views. Beautiful sand beach. Wonderful next door restaurant. Very pretty area. The room was a bit musty smelling, which surprised us. That was our only real complaint. The unit was very clean and in good condition. Nice layout including kitchen, picture windows, walk out patio. Kids running in the hallways and upstairs were loud, but that's part of staying at a family resort I guess. We would go back again.

Room Tip: All one bedrooms are ground floor, which is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LocalLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2011

This has got to be the single greatest hotel in the world! Its rooms are comfortable and clean, with everything we could ever want and need. The beach and the grounds are beautiful, and easily accessible from the rooms. Beautiful sunsets, happy memories, and everything else we could want. We have been coming for 14 years, and it has yet to fail us!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloHorsey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We really loved Glidden Lodge. We stayed in Unit 111 and the room was really comfortable. It was a one bedroom condo, so we had a kitchen (as all the units do here) which was great for making breakfast in the morning. There are grills on the property so you can grill while looking out onto the lake, awesome views. Great views from the room and you could hear the waves lapping up to the shore at night, very relaxing.

Bed was very comfortable and the unit was nicely decorated. Different units are decorated differently and we really loved the fact that this one had flat screen TVs in the bedroom and living room.

Restaurant next door is fantastic, but make reservatios in advance since they book up and fill up fast. Beach is very clean and lots of lounge chairs. Volleyball net if you want to play. Very private and secluded beach and the entire resort is secluded. If you're looking for relaxation this is the place!

Bonus: There's a huge grassy area that the units go out onto before it goes down to the beach, so it's like having your own HUGE backyard.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islands0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Glidden Lodge Beach Resort and absolutely Loved it! The facility is extremely clean and the condo had everything you would need right down to the appropriate wine glasses for red vs. white wine. The Door penninsula has 7-8 wineries! However, the attraction is the beach. It's like being at the ocean. The beach was wide and sandy and clean as well as the water was clear. We walked about 3/4 of a mile up and back down the beach every morning. It was totally beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZRoadTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appleton, wi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at the Glidden Lodge last weekend, 3rd time. I would go back in a minute. These are nice 1-3 bedroom condos. The best part is the views. Every room has a great view of a Lake Michigan. You are located at the end of a miles long beach, which connects to Whitefish Dunes State Park. Beach traffic is almost zero as it's a long beach walk until you reach the park. Water starts out very shallow and sandy so its safe for even small children. very nice restaurant next door for dinner only.

This is on the secluded side of the Door County Peninsula. 30 minutes on country roads to the main shopping areas of Fish Creek, Egg Harbor, Ephraim.

There are only 2 negatives:

1. The hallway floors are carpet covered wood decking, so you hear every step in the halls as people go by. If children are in the halls, it sounds like a small herd of animals passing by. Same thing if you are on the 1st floor and have kids overhead. You will hear every step. Request an upstairs unit near ends of hall. I can not overstate the noise problem.

2. Beach is wonderful and sandy, but the biting flies are vicious. You must wear bugspray.

With those things said, I would still go back. Best view in Door County. Best Beach. Most secluded from the tourist traffic. It's worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatuncle61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
18.2 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
693 reviews
8.3 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
10.8 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
341 reviews
20.7 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
374 reviews
15.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden Lodge Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden Lodge Beach Resort

Property: Glidden Lodge Beach Resort
Address: 4676 Glidden Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-9196
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#6 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful one, two, and three bedroom condo rentals on a sprawling white-sand Lake Michigan beach in a quiet, tranquil setting in Door County, WI. All units face the water and all are equipped with full kitchens, gaslog fireplaces, two-person spa tubs and most anything else you may need for a peaceful get-away or a family gathering. For those who can't leave their work behind, we provide free Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the resort. Forgot your laptop? No problem. We have a business center at your disposal off the lobby. Throw in an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness room and tennis court, and you can be as active as you want. Or just sit back with a good book while listening to the waves lap the shore. Donny's Glidden Lodge Restaurant is right next door and serves dinners only. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glidden Lodge Beach Hotel Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing