We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, Comfort, Comfort - And OH That View”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glidden Lodge Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We've stayed at this remarkable condo-resort property many many times and have never been dissatisfied. We've had everything from the one bedroom to the three. This time I was with my son who is a strongly autistic young guy so we just had the one bedroom. The view is INCREDIBLE. The one bedrooms are all on the first floor which is the nicest because you feel you could just touch the blue blue Lake Michigan water and it's so nice to be able to walk out on the lawn directly from your patio. He could be enjoying his new laptop while I walked the lawn taking pictures, and I was never out of his sight. I've told many friends (and they don't always believe me right off) the beach at the Glidden rivals any I've seen in the Caribbean or Mexico. Yes, the water is too cold to swim in most of the year but on the flip-side, it's not ever so hot that you feel you need to actually get in. I generally don't love an indoor pool but the one here is really quite lovely - very warm with an even warmer hot-tub with fresh towels and a shower. And when it comes to clean - I will say without a doubt that the maids must have super-powers. I have never seen a cleaner kitchen, not to mention the entire rest of the condo. I know that the 'other-side' of the peninsula might be the more quintessential Door County in terms of the Cape Cod feel. But I say, go stay over there a few nights for that experience but then come to the Lake Side and stay at this fantastic property and experience the vast beauty that is Lake Michigan. Fabulous!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gogirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

We have been coming to Glidden Lodge for the past 20 years (even before the current condos). Our children have been vacationing here since they were infants. The views of Lake Michigan are spectacular with miles of fine sand to walk and shallow water for young kids to play! The rooms are spacious and decorated with a cottage feel. Plenty of utensils are available for cooking and grilling. The on site restaurant, Donny's, has amazing views as well. If you like biking, Glidden drive is very scenic. We have traveled to the Gulf Coast, Outer Banks, and Cape Cod, which we loved, but always look forward to our vacations in Door County.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank Jen1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Even with the snow gone, the beach is quiet and beautiful. Driftwood washed up on the sands beg imagining their past history. Night skies are brilliant with stars. A cool evening asks for clicking on the fireplace and settling with a good book, especially after a quieting soak in the hot tub. Great winter rates with an excellent restaurant (Donny's) next door. Can't beat it.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jdswanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Beautiful rooms with kitchens. Amazing views of Lake Michigan. Room was clean and very comfortable. Just a wonderful place with friendly service.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugarbubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This resort has awesome views of Lake MI! There is a small beach and the rooms are very roomy. The only downside is the internet has a few issues. However, the restaurant attached to this resort is yummy!

Room Tip: There are 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms condo like rooms at this resort. The 1 bedrooms are on the main floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenrockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Very pleasant experience from start to finish. Booking this getaway was easy and Kathy was very professional and helpful when I called. The condo we stayed in was so clean and well furnished you felt like you were at home. Nice fireplace, flat screen TV in the living room and bedroom. Beautiful scenery with the bay right outside our window. We went on the "Crazy Little Thing Called Love" Weekend. A dozen beautiful pink roses in the room along with a bottle of wine upon our arrival. The room smelled so fresh and was immaculate cleanliness wise. The staff was great! We enjoyed it so much we would highly recommend it and are planning our next vacation here! You will really enjoy this place!

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor and it was very quiet. I am not sure if it would be this way when the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Very classy resort. Wonderful white sand beach,right next door to Donny's restaurant. Friendly staff. We are making reservations for next year.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdswanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
8.3 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
18.2 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
841 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
541 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
229 reviews
20.7 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden Lodge Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden Lodge Beach Resort

Address: 4676 Glidden Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-9196
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#6 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Glidden Lodge Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful one, two, and three bedroom condo rentals on a sprawling white-sand Lake Michigan beach in a quiet, tranquil setting in Door County, WI. All units face the water and all are equipped with full kitchens, gaslog fireplaces, two-person spa tubs and most anything else you may need for a peaceful get-away or a family gathering. For those who can't leave their work behind, we provide free Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the resort. Forgot your laptop? No problem. We have a business center at your disposal off the lobby. Throw in an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness room and tennis court, and you can be as active as you want. Or just sit back with a good book while listening to the waves lap the shore. Donny's Glidden Lodge Restaurant is right next door and serves dinners only. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glidden Lodge Beach Hotel Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing