We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing get-away”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glidden Lodge Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing get-away”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just what we needed! Beautiful, clean, can't-beat-the-view lodging. Our condo was awesome and we enjoyed the hotel's pool and hot tub. Right by Whitefish Dunes State Park and Cave Point County Park. Restaurant on the grounds - very friendly, good food, good value. Just like the rest of Wisconsin!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PackerBacker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GliddenLodge, General Manager at Glidden Lodge Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Yes, it's hard not to relax here at Glidden Lodge, what with the waters of Lake Michigan right outside your suite and the peaceful surrounding area. Thanks for your review. We hope to see you again.

Bill Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    23
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
69
70
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, IL.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were there for a week in early October. It was our first time visiting Door County. The property was suggested by a friend who had stayed there before. There isn't much to add to the comments of others except to say that it was exactly what we had hoped for. The location was excellent for exploring the County. The beach was cool but very walkable. The bed was a little softer than we would have put in if we had furnished the place - but we didn't - and sleeping wasn't a problem. Our Trolley Tour guide insisted that the restaurant on the property (Donny's) was the best in the County (we didn't find a better one). For a couple hovering around 60, this was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmadlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GliddenLodge, General Manager at Glidden Lodge Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We strive for perfection and we're happy to see that we met your expectations. Thanks for your review. Tell you relatives and friends about us. We hope to see you again soon!

Bill Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We went to the Glidden Lodge In Sturgeon Bay Wi to celebrate our anniversary. We have never relaxed so much on a vacation as we have there! Each room is uniquely decorated in its own theme and faces Lake Michigan with a spectacular view! There is a wonderful sandy beach to walk or lounge on while relaxing. They have one, two and three bedroom suites. The ground floor rooms have their own private patio.The room is huge and spotless and will lit, with a fireplace, two TV's, a dining table, pull out sofa and two sitting chairs. There is a full kitchen, with everything you need, and a huge master bathroom and relaxing whirlpool! A nice indoor pool/whirlpool area off the main lobby, is clean and relaxing, and also faces Lake Michigan. Just a few short steps away is Donny's Glidden Lodge Restaurant, which is Fantastic! With a variety of unique menu choices, here too you can enjoy a delicious dinner, with a table facing Lake Michigan! The bar room is quaint, friendly relaxing and cozy. The dinners are Wonderful! We had a very enjoying a very relaxing dining experience. The hotel staff as well as the restaurant staff are friendly, and helpful. The Lodge is a great place to stay just a very short distance from all the traffic of Door County. After shopping and touring Door County for two days, returning to the Glidden Lodge Beach Resort each evening made our a trip to the Door County Peninsula an absolutely perfect vacation! Both the Lodge and restaurant is perfect for a couples get away or for a family vacation. The web site is very informative, and allows you to look at each rooms layout. Check for off season rates and packages for the lodge and hours of operation for the restaurant in the off season, as I believe the restaurant is closed Sundays after October. Just a small note, you may find the lodge just a slight bit more pricey then perhaps some other resorts in Door County, however all of Door County's resorts during the peak season are up in costs. We are glad tho we made the choice we did!! We are planning to add the Glidden Lodge Beach resort into our yearly vacations getaways twice a year! We travel often, with larger trips and many weekend getaways, and this was one of the best weekend getaways we have experienced! Tho the lodge is located down its own little road off a main road, we felt very safe at the Glidden Lodge. Even if you live in WI or are visiting Door County WI, do not hesitate to choose the Glidden Lodge Resort as your lodge to stay in! I have no doubt you will enjoy it as much as we did!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetotravelAppleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GliddenLodge, General Manager at Glidden Lodge Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
What a great review! Thanks so much. We're glad you found us and hope to see you again soon. You're right, we're off the beaten path, but who wants to stay on the beaten path?

Bill Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, WI
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I would have loved to give this resort 5 stars because the views of the lake are amazing! The grounds are clean and well organized, picnic tables, grills, chairs and easy access to the beach. Given the fact that it was Labor Day weekend it was still very easy to sit outside and relax and listen to the waves. The reason I can't give it a 5 is because while inside the sofa was soooo uncomfortable I was not able to sit on it and find a comfortable spot. The same goes for the king size bed and the pillows.... really could use some updating! I was in room #115 and I don't know if it was just this room or if all are in the same need of an upgrade. Also, if there were vending machines I was not aware of them. It would have been nice to have an option to get a beverage or a bag of chips without having to travel almost 2 miles to the nearest store.
All and all I had a good stay and really enjoyed the lake views which is really why I came to Glidden Lodge in the first place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dazzlynrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Glidden Lodge is a gem. It is in one of the most convenient locations on the lake, and reminds me of the eastern seaboard or Florida. Staff are friendly but do not ask for a late check out. The answer will surly be no. Grills are available for cookouts. Rooms are not new or modern, but more eclectic cabin style. Basic but clean kitchen. Ask for a room on the ground level for easy beach access. Dinner at the Glidden lodge next store was super convenient with excellent food. Beach walk is a good 45 minutes to the northern point. Pass whitefish bay park, and enjoy the amazingly fresh air and beautiful homes on the beach. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travepros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is a beautiful property situated north of Sturgeon Bay a bit. It sits along Lake Michigan with the beautiful sandy beaches, although the water is always cold! My daughters enjoyed playing along the waters edge, building sand castles and looking for shells. The resort itself is beautiful. The rooms are spacious and fully equipped. We had a two bedroom, which gave us plenty of room for our family of 5. It has a fully stocked kitchen, one can easily prepare meals. The master bedroom upstairs has king size bed and the bathroom has a jacuzzi tub as well as a shower. The second room has a queen bed with a full bathroom. There was also a nice sized living room, and two balconies overlooking the beautiful Lake Michigan. The unit also included a washer and dryer. The kids also enjoyed the indoor pool. It was a bit pricey and off the beat and path, but we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mak3126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Wow, what a great place. We have been to Glidden Lodge several times over the past several years and have never been disappointed. In fact, we have always been thrilled!
First, the location. It is convenient to Sturgeon Bay, and there is easy access to the rest of Door County. It is far enough away from the busier towns to avoid the heavy tourist traffic, but at the same time the Resort is easy to access. Glidden is situated directly on a gorgeous beach on Lake Michigan; this beach connects to Whitefish Dunes State Park, which is a great hiking destination. There are plentiful opportunities for hiking, biking, cross-country skiing (yes, we have had very enjoyable visits to Door County in the winter as well!). The neighborhood is residential with minimal traffic; it is safe for biking even for small children.
Second, the facility. It is fantastic. Every unit we have ever stayed in has been very well kept, perfectly clean, and extremely comfortable. They are home-like, with sweet touches from the owners. The units look directly out onto the incredible beach with balconies from which to fully enjoy the sights and sounds of the lake. There is a well-stocked large kitchen, a whirlpool in the master bath, spacious floor plan. The grounds (the beach! did I mention the amazing beach??) are beautifully maintained, the pool and hot tub are very nice and fun for the kids.
Third, the staff. The front desk staff is friendly, helpful and knowledgable. They are clearly proud of their Resort, as they should be.
I can't say enough about Glidden. We are so happy to have discovered it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HTSWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
8.3 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
18.2 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
756 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
205 reviews
11.2 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
328 reviews
20.7 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glidden Lodge Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glidden Lodge Beach Resort

Property: Glidden Lodge Beach Resort
Address: 4676 Glidden Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-9196
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#6 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Glidden Lodge Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful one, two, and three bedroom condo rentals on a sprawling white-sand Lake Michigan beach in a quiet, tranquil setting in Door County, WI. All units face the water and all are equipped with full kitchens, gaslog fireplaces, two-person spa tubs and most anything else you may need for a peaceful get-away or a family gathering. For those who can't leave their work behind, we provide free Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the resort. Forgot your laptop? No problem. We have a business center at your disposal off the lobby. Throw in an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness room and tennis court, and you can be as active as you want. Or just sit back with a good book while listening to the waves lap the shore. Donny's Glidden Lodge Restaurant is right next door and serves dinners only. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glidden Lodge Beach Hotel Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing