We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Outdoor Dinning”

Stone Harbor Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 85 Restaurants in Sturgeon Bay
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic Outdoor Dinning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Two of us enjoyed dinner at the Stone Harbor on a Thursday night. The outdoor patio dinning area overlooks a small marina on Sturgeon Bay and has a great view of the steel bridge.

Our waitress was excellent and helpful. Food and drinks were served promptly and correctly. One of us had seafood fettuccini. This dish was exceptionally good...the cream sauce had flavors of wine and lemon in it...not your average dish. Our other choice was fish. This too was great...mosit and full of flavor.

We will visit again to enjoy wonderful food, service and a great outdoor setting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Micaelabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    50
    22
    26
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
127 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just drinkin!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

So, our friends had to visit their grandmother at a nearby nursing home in Sturgeon Bay. They dropped us off to walk around the cute city. TAKE NOTE: Sturgeon Bay closes at 4 on Sundays!! With nowhere to go...we followed the sounds of some rock and roll band over to the Stone Harbor Resort. What a win that was! On the back docks, there was a band set up singing Elvis and the likes, a tiki hut serving delicious drinks, and people dancing like it was yesteryear! What a difference a turn of the corner makes! So, the moral of this story...if your stuck in Sturgeon Bay after 4 on a Sunday, head over to the resort for some fun in the sun, and a mojito to boot!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank kelley65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family is rather large, and we decided to all get together for breakfast the morning after my cousin's wedding. Upon arrival our waitress was incredibly rude and not at all accommodating to our needs. At one point my brother in law had to get up to grab a pitcher of water for our table because our waitress would not get one for our table. The food was decent, but I know for a fact that there are much better places to get breakfast in Door County.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Turned away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Went for lunch all the lower patio tables were reserved so sat on the upper patio. Went to the hostess and she said we couldn't sit there either they were going to set up for a band. We left and boated to another place and dropped $100. On our way back the tables were still empty and no band was set up. We have been here many times and never saw this very rude hostess before. Won't be going back any time soon. Obviously don't want our money.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1963SLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Opulent Surroundings but”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The sprawling Stone Harbor Resort and Conference Center in Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, looks palatial from the outside and within. It almost screams at you that it is expensive. Within its mawe is located the cavernous Stone Harbor Restaurant & Pub, with closeup views of the old iron bridge across a neck of Sturgeon Bay. Hence the views are relatively interesting, though nothing to write home about.

But I found the dining experience to be quite disappointing. The high price per meal charged is not reflected in what you actually get. A window seat helped alleviate things a little while waiting ... waiting for everything, including service that proved to be well below the standard one would expect in a resort like this. Indeed, it was probably below the standard of any self-respecting, old-fashioned diner.

Although the actual quality of the ingredients of the meals our party had was good, the quantity was sparse and hence disappointing. All in all it didn't float my boat, the restaurant sinking lower and lower in my opinion as time dragged on. I was glad to eventually get out of there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stone Harbor Restaurant also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Stone Harbor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing