We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum! Delicious entrees!”
Review of John Martin's Restaurant - CLOSED

John Martin's Restaurant
Price range: US$5 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Fusion, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in downtown Sturgeon Bay on Historic Third Avenue in beautiful Door County, Wisconsin. Choose to dine at the bar, at a bistro table along the sidewalk or relax on a cushioned chair in the cozy wood floor dining room. Large photos focusing on the history of Sturgeon Bay pepper the restaurant. The new chef has a strong bent on creativity and local sourcing. His philosophy for features is "Familiar enough to be comfortable but exotic enough to be exciting." The focus is on local and fresh (organic features, and appetizers, in season) is apparent, and when blended with the passion of the staff, it is becoming a foodie destination. We will work with any and all dietary restrictions or food allergies. Ask about "Chefs Choice" options. Call for reservations or a chef consultation for that special occasion.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum! Delicious entrees!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was a little worried when the restaurant was completely empty when we showed up, but went ahead and ordered. The soup and salad that came out first were okay, nothing to get excited about. My boyfriend and I each ordered a shrimp pasta dish and, WOW, they were good! The shrimp were very large and cooked to perfection. The flavor of the pasta sauces was incredible. We both agreed it was some of the best pasta and shrimp we had ever had.

Apparently they got a new chef in the last few months, so I highly recommend giving it a try, even if you have been before.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Demi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    39
    17
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Weird vibe”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We went in and just got a weird vibe. Lots of drinks on their menu but sounds like they must have lost their liquor license. Server brought us water and then disappeared for a long time. That was handy as we had changed our mind, so we left a $2 tip for the water and headed out the door. Went next door and had a great meal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibbing, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We chose this restaurant on a whim, while visiting Door County. We will be sure to return when we visit the next time. The decor is very minimal and muted, but the menu is not! The food was exceptionally fresh and tasty. Try the salmon with a side of pesto gnocchi - wonderful!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lakegirl7154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Food!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We arrived kind of late that evening; however the staff still invited us in. Served us with smiles, and great food! We also split a desert, two spoons, sharing it with my sweetheart!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JimVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Aurora, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New chef/good food.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A local resident suggested this spot. She recommended the food, & did add that they did not have a full bar, just serving beer & wine, if that made a difference. Stopped in, & found that they did have a full bar, for anyone interested. We were able to taste the wine, before making a final selection.
We were told that though the menu was much the same as "last year" they did have a new chef. The food was good to excellent. Our party chose a selection of appetizers & sides. Favorites were Thai green beans and gnocchi with basil. Lobster corn dogs & crab cakes were also good.
Wasn't busy when we were there. Must have been some repairs being made... ? as there was some hammering sounds during part of the meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J-zue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Martin's Restaurant also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing