We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee and nice gift shop”

Door County Coffee and Tea Co.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$8
Cuisines: Cafe, American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great coffee and nice gift shop”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Friends told us to be sure to stop and try the new coffee Black and Tan. Enjoyed an iced coffee on our way out of town. Liked the Black and Tan it so much we bought 5lbs to bring back home. Nice gift shop.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveDBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCCoffee, _ at Door County Coffee and Tea Co., responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks so much for stopping in and for the kind words! We agree with you and your friends about the Black & Tan. What was created as a Limited Time Only 20th Anniversary Blend was just so good, we had to keep it around! Enjoy those 5lbs!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    52
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Shopping and Lunch!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was a great place to stop on our way to our destination we didn't want a huge meal and it was just perfect clean and friendly :) We bought some coffee too cute shop!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCCoffee, _ at Door County Coffee and Tea Co., responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Shopping & Lunch! Your title says it all as this is exactly what we hope people have the opportunity to enjoy when they visit! A little bit of the best of both the Gift Store and Cafe. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us and thanks for stopping in. Enjoy your coffee!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
221 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Expensive specialty store”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The food was average. The ultimate grilled cheese sandwich wasn’t ultimate. The hash brown bake wasn’t good. Waters didn’t get refilled. All the specialty foods sold here are expensive. The interior is nice. This place is kind of a tourist trap.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vacacritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCCoffee, Owner at Door County Coffee and Tea Co., responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Vacacritic-

We wanted to thank you for your recent review and to let you know we appreciate all your feedback. Getting an“average” review is not our goal, in fact, we work very hard to do all we can to make your experience one of the best. We obviously didn’t hit the mark on your recent visit and are sorry to hear that. Please know that all of us take your comments very seriously and we will learn from them. With that said we sure hope you’ll give us another chance to win you over and come back again. We’d love to meet you and do what we can to make your next visit here a good one.
Regards, Vicki Wilson, Founder & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winthrop, Maine
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Finally! Decent coffee in Door county!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Such a relief! We had so many crappy coffee experiences on this trip. It just seems like coffee, (especially decent coffee) is an afterthought here! The other thing is that everyplace (coffee houses included) only had those tiny crappy little creamers that have the pulverized cream in them! In a dairy state what are they thinking?!? But good news here as they do serve very tasty coffee, real cream and some yummy food and pastry selections as well. We informed them we were in a hurry and despite being busy they cranked our order right out. A little pricey but we felt all things considered (great coffee, good breakfast food and fast courteous service) that it was money well spent. They had us back on the road in no time and that was a big part of what we wanted. We WILL be returning there! Recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MassageTherapistME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCCoffee, Vice President at Door County Coffee and Tea Co., responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you very much for the wonderful review - we truly appreciate it! Although it can get a bit busy in the cafe, we are glad that we could take care of you and get you back on the road straight-away!

We look forward to seeing you when you return to Door County! We have a cup waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
281 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good Place to Buy Wisconsin Gifts”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stopped here so my husband could grab a cup of coffee. He said it was delicious so we purchased several solo packs for gifts to take home. Also, I was so excited to find a Wisconsin-made cranberry chutney that I used to purchase from a store in Texas before it went out of business. We purchased several jars of that as well as some cherry jam to bring home to friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCCoffee, Vice President at Door County Coffee and Tea Co., responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Rebecca:

Thanks for stopping by the cafe - and a big thanks to your husband for grabbing a cup a coffee! We are glad he enjoyed it! In fact, we roast ALL of our coffees right here on site - so next time you are in, take a look through the windows in the cafe to see our roasters in action!

And - we do try and carry as many local products as possible (both Door County and Wisconsin) many of which you can find on our website if you are out of the area.

Thanks again for stopping! We truly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Door County Coffee and Tea Co. also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Door County Coffee and Tea Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing