We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay With Kids”
Review of Bay Shore Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay Shore Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed at Bayshore Inn for two days. Met family from Illinois here. Lots for kids to do. Two swimming pools. One indoors and one outdoors. Bikes of all kinds for everyone to ride. Even a bicycle built for two. They have paddle boats, kayuks, tennis courts, and lots of grounds for the kids to play. Staff was very helpful in suggesting a restaurant in town that was kid friendly, as our group had 7 kids. Front desk clerk offered us their conference room that is attached to the hotel lobby, to use for our family to get together in the evening. This was very helpful with their being so many of us. We definitely will be going back next year for our family get together. Great place to stay with kids. Adults enjoyed it also. Lots of board games and videos at the office for guests to use.

Room Tip: We liked having our rooms in the same building as the indoor pool. Great for the kids to open the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hunter005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed here on 8/2/12. We had a difficult time checking in. When we made the reservation, we were told we could possibly check in early, so we called the morning of check in and were told that the room still wouldn't be ready until 3pm! We called again about an hour later to see if anything had changed and the woman who answered the phone was very rude. We came to the property about 2pm and were told by Judy at the front desk that our room was the LAST room to be cleaned and when my husband asked, "why?", she responded that we were only staying for one night, and my husband asked, "are we less important guests because we are only staying one night?" She was very rude and not at all accommodating, so my husband walked out of the building. When we finally were able to check into the room it smelled like urine. The master bedroom smelled like someone (either human or animal) had peed on the carpet and the stench was awful...it was unbearable overnight. The carpets are really gross, like a brown and green shag and are in need of replacement. There was no soap in the bathroom and we had to go and ask for it, to which they replied, "they must have been in such a hurry to clean your room that they forgot." Ha-ha, that was a joke. There is nothing special about this place. The outdoor pool is big enough for 2 people max, the indoor pool is even smaller. The grounds are in serious need of weeding and the small sand beach is impossible to walk on because it is never attended to nor is the approach to the water, as it is solid mud and seaweed to even get in the water. For $250/night, the service and grounds should be immaculate. This place is old and the people are crabby who run it. In addition, it is miles away from anywhere you want to go (ie. Egg Harbor is a 30 minute drive--Fish Creek and Sister Bay are even further), so in essence, there is no plus to staying at this facility as it has virtually nothing to offer. The crowning blow was we had gone to bed at 11:30pm and were woken up by the room directly above us on the third floor, which seemed to have a herd of drunk elephants stomping around. As the front desk "closes" at 10pm, there really was no one to call, so upon looking at the rotary dial phone next to the bed, I guessed and called the room number directly above us, only to be greeted by an idiot who not only did not apologize, but didn't quiet down until close to 1am. Overall not a pleasant experience and we would not return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TRVLWTHME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We recently visited the Bay Shore Inn for a family reunion. Given the large quantity of families and children, it was great that the hotel accomodated us all in the same building and that the "rooms" are so large, clean, and spacious with well appointed kitchens.

We were located on the first floor, which had a huge patio that had a gate opening up to the common area. Made it so easy to welcome company and head to the pool. The second-story balconies were typically smaller, although those condos were brighter with two-story windows. Although not verified, it seems as though each condo has at least a partial view of the bay.

So many activities to keep the kids busy, including a pool, playground, beach, free bikes, and lots of room to run around. The pool is rather basic for a resort - small and not especially aesthetic, and with a concrete pool deck. It was in the 90s during our visit and that concrete got hot!

Sturgeon Bay proper is super close with lots of cute shops and restaurants. The Maritime Museum was a lot of fun for both kids and adults. If you're looking for a spa visit, the Saguaro Day Spa was absolutely lovely and divine.

Be advised that there is no restaurant on site, although they do serve coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DINKsTravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed here July 5-8, 2012 in one of the 2 bedroom suites. The front desk was fantastic, couldn't have been more helpful. The overall resort was quite and full of amenities. From the outdoor pool to the indoor pool, free movies, kayak’s, great parking and nice layout of the property. Super close to lots of things to do to!

Room Tip: I like firm beds and the bed here are very soft, I would suggest bringing your own pillow too and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Pros:
1. nice view of sunset
2. good location
3. friendly staff

Cons:
1. the bedroom and balcony in 1br are a little small.
2. No AC control in the bedroom
3. free wifi but not very stable

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PEA214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I really was pleasantly surprised by the Bay Shore Inn. It so far is my favorite place to stay in Sturgeon Bay. I had stayed one night at Bridgeport and one night here and whilst I would stay at Bridgeport again, this is definilty my preferred place.

It is right on the lake and has and you can watch the beautiful sunset right from either your room or the lawn, or the beach.

I loved that it has its own little beach area, fire pit, children's playground. Its great for families. Had it was not as new as Bridgeport but definilty clean. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: It does not have its own restaurant so i could not rate. No room service. I will put pics up at a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela_cartwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This was the first time my wife and I visited Door County from Chicago. We chose the Bay Shore Inn because the varous internet sites we looked at gave a strong impression of a clean palce with many amenities. It did not disappoint. The facility consists of condos where the owners rent them out via the Bay Shore property manager. Done very well. Unit was lovely, looking right down onto the small beach and pool. Sunsets were SPECTACULAR! Rival anything I have seen in Hawaii. All in all, lovely place and would recomend it for families as it is kid friendly.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank rlc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
0.4 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
13.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
408 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#3 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
809 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
219 reviews
19.0 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shore Inn

Address: 4205 Bay Shore Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2367
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: £68 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our condominium suites have private decks to take in the breath taking views over the bay. 1-3 bedroom suites all have full kitchens with granite counters and living rooms with HD TVs and a sleeper sofa. We have a beach with complimentary kayaks and boats, bonfire pit, bikes, tennis courts, basketball, playground, fitness center and game room. We have a heated indoor and outdoor pool, hot tub, and massage therapist on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Shore Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Bay Shore Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing