We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Door County” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bridgeport Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bridgeport Resort
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Door County”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our 2 bedroom unit was very roomy, neat, and clean. The great room furniture was comfortable. Our unit had a dining room table that seats 6 as well as a breakfast bar. The bay view side of the hotel is well worth the added cost. Several excellent restaurants are nearby. Given the large portion sizes, having a full service kitchen was wonderful for reheating left-overs. The location of the hotel suited our needs perfectly. We wanted to avoid the hustle and bustle of the Egg Harbor, Fish Creek, etc. towns, yet be close enough to tour Pennisula State Park and Washington Island. We liked being able to walk to restaurants and the Maritime Museum. Free coffee, milk, and juice was available 24/7. We only had two complaints. For anyone who owns a Temperpedic or Sleep Number bed, the hotel beds will likely be too firm and be uncomfortable. However, by the third night we seemed to adapt and got a better night's sleep. The second bedroom does not have an A/C unit and became quite warm during the night. This room did have a ceiling fan which helped circulate the air. However, once the daytime high neared 80, the A/C issues seemed less prevalent. We had to change rooms on Saturday night from the second to the first floor. We had extended our stay by one night after the fact. The hotel staff moved our luggage and called our cell phone when the room was ready (by 1:00 p.m.) which was very accommodating. The A/C was not an issue in the first floor unit. We enjoyed the first floor unit just as much as the second floor. The WiFi speed was very good too.

Room Tip: A higher numbered room will likely have a better view (219 or above). The facility is shaped like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aisprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you Aisprof...

I appreciate your time in writing a thorough review of your stay at Bridgeport Resort. I am glad you enjoyed the roominess and cleanliness of your suite... and that, "The location of the hotel suited our needs perfectly"!

Please let us know if there is ever anything we can do to enhance your stay... the Front Office has access to supplies such as additional fans if you are warm and additional blankets and pillows for added softness!

Be Well...
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    84
    22
    10
    2
See reviews for
208
188
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We went to this condo complex for a family reunion in 2006 and had a great time.
Since then, I don't think they have changed anything -- and now it really needs updating. The furniture is worn and the look is pure 1990's now -- dated. The TV guide was out of date and someone had taken a pen to the loose leaf notebook and updated it. My aunt actually put the clock on the wall in the closet so she didn't have to look at it!
The two restaurants that were within walking distance are no longer there (one closed and one burned down), and so the first thing you have to do is go get some groceries. Not a good way to start a vacation. The grounds are beautiful, but the constant whine of the landscapers was unwelcome. We did not use the pool, as it was full of kids, and the whirlpool (which I was looking forward to) was full of bubbles -- not well maintained.
The a/c units were very loud and the tiny flies came through the screens.
Very expensive as well. The suite sleeps six -- but they charge extra for more than 2!
Disappointed. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with a water view I guess -- though you pay for the view. I saw four and they were all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thikacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello…

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay of Bridgeport Resort. We appreciate guest comments and use the information provided to constantly improve the experience for new and returning guests. The Staff and Ownership of Bridgeport Resort are proud of the accommodations and service… there have been many upgrades through the years and will continue to be many more.

Here are just a Few of the Things Updated Since 2006
All common area carpeting has been replaced. (hallway, lobby, parlor)
Fitness Center equipment has been updated.
A Convenience Store has been added.
A common area patio has been added off the lobby.
New Carpet and Tile has been put into all guest rooms.
New Flat Panel Televisions have been put in all guest rooms.
All bedding in guest rooms has been replaced.
Patio furniture for all guest rooms has been replaced.

Thank you,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have stayed at Bridgeport resort several times and I love the location and the view to the bay area and the water. The grounds are wonderful and the staff is very helpful and make each guest feel welcome and at home. I love the pool area and the lobby area and I just enjoy the quiet location even with many families staying with their children at the resort.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice I always prefer any of the rooms or suites that face the bay area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Greetings Nancy P...

I am glad to hear that you felt welcomed and at home by the staff at Bridgeport Resort. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your recent stay.

We appreciate your repeat business and look forward to seeing you on your next Door County Vacation!

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I spent two nights in this wonderful place and thoroughly enjoyed it! From the amazing view of Sturgeon Bay and nearby marina to the clean, spacious rooms, I don't know what more I could have asked for. The room we stayed in had two separate bedrooms with flat screen TVs, two separate baths - master bath with a garden tub, too. There was a kitchen with dishes and plenty of room to prepare meals. A separate area housed a nice big kitchen table. The den had a fireplace, flat screen TV, sofas, chairs and a beautiful view of the bay. There were two separate balconies for the rooms. It was really nice to spread out a bit while on the road and enjoy the spacious rooms. The view from the balcony on the bay side was to die for! We were in room 326. I took many pictures at different times of day and evening and I was amazed at what beauty I was able to capture with my camera! The wi-fi was VERY good here, which is something I cannot say for every hotel on our tour. The staff was very attentive and breakfast was pretty good. This place would be great for families and anyone who likes a pretty view and clean, spacious room. It is within walking distance of the town where you could go shopping. Also, there is a long, winding walkway around the edge of the water/rear of hotel that provides for a lovely morning or evening stroll. You just cannot go wrong with this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bay side...you will be very happy with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrapqueen40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Good Evening Scrapqueen40...

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Bridgeport Resort! I appreciate your kind words.. I wonder if your were possibly in room 325... or 226? Each of those rooms would be a two bedroom and two bath Westchester while 326 is a one bedroom Challenger with only one bathroom. Each one of these is a great room with a great view!

You must have traveled to Bridgeport Resort with one of our recent Bus Tour Groups! It is always great to have large groups visit us! The Resort does not have a continental breakfast, but our groups often have us cater in breakfast for them.

The Staff and Ownership of Bridgeport Resort are proud of the accommodations and service at Bridgeport Resort.

Please come back to visit soon and often,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpena, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Perfect room, perfect view, perfect everything. The rooms were very clean and kept up everyday. Comfortable beds, soft towels and lots of room. The full equipped kitchen and grills outside were great to cook at and the dishwasher saves valuable vacation time. There are great restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. Sturgeon Bay is such a wonderful town. The kids loved the outside pool, indoor pool, kids water play area and the ball/arcade room. Very family friendly. Moms and Dads can relax at a place like this. Outside patio, fireplace, and jet tub in the room, it would be wonderful in the summer, fall, winter or spring. As you can see I can't say enough about this hotel. It was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Perfect Review Writer... aka Kim W,

"Perfect room, perfect view, perfect everything." Wow! It is great to see that we hit the mark for you! Please, come back every time you are in Door County! Let us know if there is ever anything we can do to enhance your stay!

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We would recommend one of the suites, very comfortable room with the fireplace and Jacuzzi tub. We had a room over looking the water, it was very relaxing. Great room for the money!!!!! Although the weather was a little damp, 20 minutes in the tub and a flip of the switch on the fireplace and things were nice and cozy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you Chris K...

I appreciate you writing a review of Bridgeport Resort! The Staff and Ownership of Bridgeport Resort are proud of the accommodations... it is good to hear that you find the resort to be a good value.

Visit Again Soon!
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I'm not really sure where to start...I absolutely loved this resort, Sturgeon Bay, and the rest of Door County!! Our kids are 4, 3, and 1 1/2 years old...so we chose this spot as we were searching for family friendly vacation spots within driving distance and it was topping most lists online...and for good reason! We had a two bedroom suite and it was perfect size...not luxurious I suppose but clean and nice. The pools are AMAZING and so perfect...inside the splash pad for toddlers is right by the big pool and the hot tub and the outside pool is great too. There's also a little game room with a ball pit that the kids liked a lot.


Outside the resort, there is so much right there for sure in walking distance. Across the street (by the cool drawbridge) there is a boat rental and this great Chicago Fireboat that you can take a cruise on. (I for sure recommend riding on that...it's so fun! Www.ridethefireboat.com) The other direction from the hotel there is a big park and a small spot with a beach. If you walk across the bridge there are more shops and restaurants. (Our favorite restaurant was the Inn at Cedar Creek.)

The resort customer service (and really everyone we came across in Door County) was excellence...everyone is so kind and friendly, especially accommodating for our usually crazy kiddos! Also, I was pleasantly surprised that it wasn't crazy busy and packed with tourists...I thought it would be being the week after the 4th but very glad I was wrong!

You really won't be disappointed choosing this spot for your family vacation! We're on our way home and I can't wait to come back again soon!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TressaHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Good Morning TressaHeath...

It is a joy to see that you have written a review of Bridgeport Resort! Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay... especially with three children under the age of five! We missed the "usually crazy kiddos" and instead met three "well behaved angels".

I appreciate your use of words like "loved, perfect and amazing" in your review... please come back and visit us any time,

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
25.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
3.4 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
16.3 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Music Motel
Holiday Music Motel
#1 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgeport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgeport Resort

Property: Bridgeport Resort
Address: 50 W Larch St, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-3433
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridgeport Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridgeport Waterfront Resort is located in the center of historic Sturgeon Bay with exceptional access to all of Door County, Wisconsin’s quaint shops, award winning restaurants, scenic parks and wide variety of attractions. Bridgeport offers spacious one, two and three bedroom suites – with each guestroom featuring a whirlpool, a fireplace and a complete kitchen……the lodging experience at the Bridgeport Waterfront Resort is complimented by an array of on-site recreational amenities including indoor/outdoor heated swimming pools (with a indoor splash park and play ground designed for the youngsters), a whirlpool, a sauna, a fitness center and complimentary high speed wireless internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bridgeport Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Bridgeport Resort Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing