We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice :)”
Review of Bridgeport Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bridgeport Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice :)”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Recently stayed one night here on July 15. We had to take a 1 bedroom unit as nothing smaller was available, but moving on...
At first glance, the resort has a beautiful setting right on Sturgeon Bay and walking distance to restaurants and the Steel Bridge. Inside, the front desk is nice, clean. The lobby area is quite pretty with a view of the water that is somewhat obstructed by trees. The décor is indeed a bit dated but kept in fine condition. Care has been taken here, and it shows. The staff was friendly at check-in but could probably be dressed more appropriately (IMO) as this is a resort and it was difficult to distinguish front desk staff/hotel staff from guests. Keep in mind that this is a RESORT. We stay at many resorts and feel the surroundings/staff should be representative of the price to stay. That being said, everyone was very polite.
Once we checked in we went up to see our room. There was a staircase in the lobby area, which is nice and homey, and right around the corner was an elevator. There are many options so that you are not walking far to stairs/elevators. Also, we passed the indoor gym, pool and game room on the way to the elevator. All very nice. And very clean.
We stayed on the 2nd floor and the entry to our room was directly across from a glass window overlooking the indoor pool/hot tub area. VERY quiet room.
Upon entering, it was simply beautiful. Décor was 90's-2000's depending on the finishes. But all kept in immaculate/tip top condition. We had a full kitchen, dining area, breakfast bar, fully furnished comfortable living room with a balcony and a fireplace (which we used as it was CHILLY). The balcony was a bit of a disappointment as the trees blocked much of the water view. But really nice for coffee/wine sipping. Speaking of wine, the staff very thoughtfully left a bottle of wine for us (special occasion) which we enjoyed. It was DC wine, so was nice to try something "local".
The bedroom was HUGE and had a whirlpool tub IN the room and it was big enough for 2. Did not have time to use it, but had we stayed more than 1 night, for sure! Bathroom was clean and nice. Shower was a walk-in. A bit dark for those of us who need to shave our legs! But really clean and plenty of towels. The entire condo was bathed in sunlight and we felt so at home we could live there.
There is no breakfast of any type here which is the main reason we have removed a star. It is quite pricey to stay here and a breakfast of some sort would have been nice. There is coffee all day, juice and milk, but no Continental breakfast (?). But we enjoyed the beverages. :)...Also, you can stroll right over the Steel Bridge to the Inn at Cedar Crossings for an amazing breakfast (we drove; it was chilly). We are up so early, as we are used to the east coast time zone, so again, with places not even open when we are awake, it would have been nice to come downstairs and have a croissant and coffee. BUT not the end of the world.
Overall, we loved it here for its comfort and warm décor. YES it could use updating, but no one should mistake this for meaning "shabby". This place is clean, well kept and in great condition. The condo we stayed in was warm, sunny and welcoming. IF we were going to stay a week, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShihTzuparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hello ShihTzuparents...

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Bridgeport Resort. Thank you for pointing out how clean and well taken care of the Resort is. The Staff and Management are glad you enjoyed your special occassion complimentary wine in your suite "all kept in immaculate/tip top condition."

Please let us know when you begin planning your weeks vacation so we can get you into one of our two bedroom suites before they fill up! Ask for an end unit Westchester for a beautiful unobstructed view of the water.

Be Well...

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    89
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
219
193
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Berlin, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were in Door County to attend a mini-family reunion. This is the first time we stayed at the Bridgeport, but it certainly won't be the last. We so enjoyed the convenience of having our own full kitchen, we even hosted dinner for all 12 of our family members that attended. The grills on-sight were clean and a great help for our summer BBQ dinner. If you don't have a room with a kitchen, no worries. The common room off the lobby has milk, juice and coffee available for its guests all day long.

The location was great, too. It was right on the water,set apart from all the hustle and bustle and the landscaping there is beautiful. We walked right over to the Maritime museum and found little coffee shops, drinking establishments and shopping all within walking distance from the resort. I also liked that within 1/2 hour you could be just about anywhere in the door peninsula without having to stay amongst all the throngs of people.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking/paying for a water-side room; beautiful sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirl4770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Good Morning Travelgirl...

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Bridgeport Resort. It is great to hear that you enjoyed all of the establishments within walking distance of Bridgeport Resort and your convenient, fully stocked kitchen!

We welcome you and your family to visit again!

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My mom, sister, me and my hubby stayed here in July of 2014 for a multiple room family reunion. My mom had stayed here before several years ago. It's not been updated since except for the flat panel TVs.

"Step into the 1990's the minute you enter" This was serious time warp decor.

The staff at the front desk were very helpful (they did seem to be eating behind the desk most of the time I stopped to ask them something).

The lobby had lots of menus of local joints to eat in.

The weird area off the lobby with milk, coffee, juices confused me. If they added a Continental Breakfast all that stuff, plus muffins, cereal, etc. would make more sense. Maybe they used to? Adding it as an option would be a smart move on their part as not every room has a kitchen. And the closest restaurants: one recently burned down and the other was closed down. This means driving to a place or getting groceries the first night you are there. If it's a Sunday, get there before five: everything starts shutting down after that.

The decor of our room: I am quite sure it has not changed since the place was built and you are in a total flashback: the furniture threadbare, the comforters sateeen, and the flat panel TVs took the place of old tubed TVs, but the "holes" for said TVs were not fixed. (One bedroom used to have a regular TV in an armoire. The armoire was still there, the spot for the TV empty and a new flat panel TV on the wall. In another room, the flat panel was mounted to the wall, with the "cubby" space behind it for the old TV barely covered.) All the TV channels were messed up and someone had attempted to edit the guide in the room by crossing things off. The dishwasher was SO LOUD you needed to run it while you were out! Yikes!. Could not sleep or talk over that racket. The coffee maker lid was broken.

I think we were in a handicapped room as the doors were wide and you could sit in the shower. The whirlpool tub in the other room was FILTHY. The plastic plants and flowers were full of dust and the clock on the wall was a bit disturbing....

The bed was HORRIFIC. This was NOT a relaxing vacation as we did not sleep much the whole time we were there. The bed was hard as a rock and the landscapers showed up way too early.

The grounds were stunning. We never used the pool or hot tub (foamy and scary). Little teeny biting bugs got through the screens and bit my mom all night. We liked the fresh air but had to shut the place up and run the AC due to this.


Convenient to Maritime museum which closes are 5: We missed that tour entirely due to other places/people we needed to see.

I doubt we will return. For the price we paid, not a value at all.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the water are lovely during sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hello Jenna…

It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy Bridgeport Resort, Sturgeon Bay… or Door County.

The Staff and Ownership of Bridgeport Resort are proud of the high level of service, cleanliness and system of constant upgrading that takes place.

We are also proud members of our community and are happy to be able to recommend so many great small businesses to guests for entertainment… from restaurants to museums.

Here are Some of Our Renovations…
All common area carpeting has been replaced. (hallway, lobby, parlor)
Fitness Center equipment has been updated.
A Convenience Store has been added.
A common area patio has been added off the lobby.

In fact… all of our Guest Rooms have been completely renovated since 2006.
All Furniture has Been Replaced.
All Sofa Sleepers have been Replaced.
Valances have been replaced.
All Chairs have been replaced.
All Lamps have been replaced.
New Carpet and Tile has been put into all guest rooms.
New Flat Panel Televisions have been put in all guest rooms.
All bedding in guest rooms has been replaced
Patio furniture for all guest rooms has been replaced.
All bedding in guest rooms has been replaced three times.
All guest rooms have been repainted multiple times.

Thank you,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our 2 bedroom unit was very roomy, neat, and clean. The great room furniture was comfortable. Our unit had a dining room table that seats 6 as well as a breakfast bar. The bay view side of the hotel is well worth the added cost. Several excellent restaurants are nearby. Given the large portion sizes, having a full service kitchen was wonderful for reheating left-overs. The location of the hotel suited our needs perfectly. We wanted to avoid the hustle and bustle of the Egg Harbor, Fish Creek, etc. towns, yet be close enough to tour Pennisula State Park and Washington Island. We liked being able to walk to restaurants and the Maritime Museum. Free coffee, milk, and juice was available 24/7. We only had two complaints. For anyone who owns a Temperpedic or Sleep Number bed, the hotel beds will likely be too firm and be uncomfortable. However, by the third night we seemed to adapt and got a better night's sleep. The second bedroom does not have an A/C unit and became quite warm during the night. This room did have a ceiling fan which helped circulate the air. However, once the daytime high neared 80, the A/C issues seemed less prevalent. We had to change rooms on Saturday night from the second to the first floor. We had extended our stay by one night after the fact. The hotel staff moved our luggage and called our cell phone when the room was ready (by 1:00 p.m.) which was very accommodating. The A/C was not an issue in the first floor unit. We enjoyed the first floor unit just as much as the second floor. The WiFi speed was very good too.

Room Tip: A higher numbered room will likely have a better view (219 or above). The facility is shaped like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aisprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you Aisprof...

I appreciate your time in writing a thorough review of your stay at Bridgeport Resort. I am glad you enjoyed the roominess and cleanliness of your suite... and that, "The location of the hotel suited our needs perfectly"!

Please let us know if there is ever anything we can do to enhance your stay... the Front Office has access to supplies such as additional fans if you are warm and additional blankets and pillows for added softness!

Be Well...
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We went to this condo complex for a family reunion in 2006 and had a great time.
Since then, I don't think they have changed anything -- and now it really needs updating. The furniture is worn and the look is pure 1990's now -- dated. The TV guide was out of date and someone had taken a pen to the loose leaf notebook and updated it. My aunt actually put the clock on the wall in the closet so she didn't have to look at it!
The two restaurants that were within walking distance are no longer there (one closed and one burned down), and so the first thing you have to do is go get some groceries. Not a good way to start a vacation. The grounds are beautiful, but the constant whine of the landscapers was unwelcome. We did not use the pool, as it was full of kids, and the whirlpool (which I was looking forward to) was full of bubbles -- not well maintained.
The a/c units were very loud and the tiny flies came through the screens.
Very expensive as well. The suite sleeps six -- but they charge extra for more than 2!
Disappointed. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with a water view I guess -- though you pay for the view. I saw four and they were all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thikacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello…

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay of Bridgeport Resort. We appreciate guest comments and use the information provided to constantly improve the experience for new and returning guests. The Staff and Ownership of Bridgeport Resort are proud of the accommodations and service… there have been many upgrades through the years and will continue to be many more.

Here are just a Few of the Things Updated Since 2006
All common area carpeting has been replaced. (hallway, lobby, parlor)
Fitness Center equipment has been updated.
A Convenience Store has been added.
A common area patio has been added off the lobby.
New Carpet and Tile has been put into all guest rooms.
New Flat Panel Televisions have been put in all guest rooms.
All bedding in guest rooms has been replaced.
Patio furniture for all guest rooms has been replaced.

Thank you,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have stayed at Bridgeport resort several times and I love the location and the view to the bay area and the water. The grounds are wonderful and the staff is very helpful and make each guest feel welcome and at home. I love the pool area and the lobby area and I just enjoy the quiet location even with many families staying with their children at the resort.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice I always prefer any of the rooms or suites that face the bay area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Greetings Nancy P...

I am glad to hear that you felt welcomed and at home by the staff at Bridgeport Resort. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your recent stay.

We appreciate your repeat business and look forward to seeing you on your next Door County Vacation!

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I spent two nights in this wonderful place and thoroughly enjoyed it! From the amazing view of Sturgeon Bay and nearby marina to the clean, spacious rooms, I don't know what more I could have asked for. The room we stayed in had two separate bedrooms with flat screen TVs, two separate baths - master bath with a garden tub, too. There was a kitchen with dishes and plenty of room to prepare meals. A separate area housed a nice big kitchen table. The den had a fireplace, flat screen TV, sofas, chairs and a beautiful view of the bay. There were two separate balconies for the rooms. It was really nice to spread out a bit while on the road and enjoy the spacious rooms. The view from the balcony on the bay side was to die for! We were in room 326. I took many pictures at different times of day and evening and I was amazed at what beauty I was able to capture with my camera! The wi-fi was VERY good here, which is something I cannot say for every hotel on our tour. The staff was very attentive and breakfast was pretty good. This place would be great for families and anyone who likes a pretty view and clean, spacious room. It is within walking distance of the town where you could go shopping. Also, there is a long, winding walkway around the edge of the water/rear of hotel that provides for a lovely morning or evening stroll. You just cannot go wrong with this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bay side...you will be very happy with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrapqueen40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Good Evening Scrapqueen40...

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Bridgeport Resort! I appreciate your kind words.. I wonder if your were possibly in room 325... or 226? Each of those rooms would be a two bedroom and two bath Westchester while 326 is a one bedroom Challenger with only one bathroom. Each one of these is a great room with a great view!

You must have traveled to Bridgeport Resort with one of our recent Bus Tour Groups! It is always great to have large groups visit us! The Resort does not have a continental breakfast, but our groups often have us cater in breakfast for them.

The Staff and Ownership of Bridgeport Resort are proud of the accommodations and service at Bridgeport Resort.

Please come back to visit soon and often,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
3.3 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
25.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
756 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
470 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
205 reviews
16.3 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgeport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgeport Resort

Property: Bridgeport Resort
Address: 50 W Larch St, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-3433
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#2 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridgeport Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridgeport Waterfront Resort is located in the center of historic Sturgeon Bay with exceptional access to all of Door County, Wisconsin’s quaint shops, award winning restaurants, scenic parks and wide variety of attractions. Bridgeport offers spacious one, two and three bedroom suites – with each guestroom featuring a whirlpool, a fireplace and a complete kitchen……the lodging experience at the Bridgeport Waterfront Resort is complimented by an array of on-site recreational amenities including indoor/outdoor heated swimming pools (with a indoor splash park and play ground designed for the youngsters), a whirlpool, a sauna, a fitness center and complimentary high speed wireless internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bridgeport Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Bridgeport Resort Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing