We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Sturgeon Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Westwood Shores is a very comfortable place to stay in Sturgeon Bay. The resort is set away from the more commercial parts of Sturgeon Bay, which is very nice. The rooms are situated so all have beautiful views of the bay. The rooms are fully equipped with a refrigerator, stove, oven, and dishwasher. If we would stay in Sturgeon Bay again, we would consider Westwood Shores, but it is a bit pricier than other resorts elsewhere in Door County.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisH018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just returned from a very pleasant and peaceful stay at the Westwod Shores. We were here to celebrate our 37th wedding anniversary. The time spent at Westwood Shores made it very special. Lots of shoreline and beautiful scenery along Bay Shore Drive.

Loved the room -- we were in 301. It was very private and oh what a view!! The room itself was clean and spacious with a separate bedroom and a well equipped kitchen. The only reason I didn't give an "excellent" for cleanliness is because I am a bit of a clean freak and thought the room could have used an extra vacuuming during our stay.

We've been coming to Door County for many years and have stayed at a number of properties along the way, usually somewhere between Egg Harbor and Sister Bay. My husband and I both agree Westwood Shores is a keeper! Can't wait to get back -- THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millers413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We happened upon this place after our reservation at another establishment fell through. The Visitor Bureau helped us find this gem. We stayed with another couple. It was perfect. 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom with a nice sized kitchen, living room, and a patio that overlooked the water. Clean rooms and enough space to spread out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

this was our first time to Door county and first time at staying with Westwood shores waterfront resort.. the view from room was beautiful and glad for the rooms to have water view ,the front desk service was great when we were there they gave us directions for places to eat supper when we got there and where to get good food. they were very polite and helpful thru our 2 days there. rooms were very nice and stocked. i would for sure be back to Westwood Shores. As my husband said we would come back to Door county. The drive to other towns on the bay side was a perfect place to come back and stay. For others coming to door county Id say stay visiting on the bay side as to the lake Mich side is very quiet and driving is boring.nothing to look at as to the bay side. . Internet did not work when we were there but our Verizon cell phones did. . We will be back . I hope this fall for the fall colors , wonder if they give discounts for coming back would be nice

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foremostmgt, Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

So glad to hear that you had a good time and were pleased with our service! We DO offer discounts for return guests, if you book with a deposit within one week of departure you receive a 10% discount. Also if you book in 2013 for a 2014 stay you get 2013 rates! we hope to see you this fall and next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was our 4th year in Door County and our 3rd resort. This is by far the best place we have stayed. I do agree with some of the reviews about the front desk staff being unfriendly, but Kathy by far is the friendliest, most courteous. The evening desk people, when you would walk by them, wouldn't even say hi. When we walked into the room it was great, our son wanted to make this our home and when we were ready to check out our daughter didn't want to come home. Very nice accommodations. We loved the size of the room. Master bedroom was very generous in size. I would have to say the tv's need to be updated in the bedrooms, the hair dryers are awful, the bugs on the balcony could be cleaned up more often, and the 2nd bedroom needs a/c, but all things in general were great. The ceiling fan was adequate in the 2nd bedroom. We loved it and are actually planning to come back next year with a group of family and friends. Thank you for a great 4th year. Great value for a 2 bedroom 2 bath.

Room Tip: Go with a premier room, great view and very private. Our's was on the end of the resort toward t...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcschaefer02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foremostmgt, Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for your review. You have provide us some great feedback, both with your compliments of our property and your constructive criticism of things we can improve upon. We review our comment cards are reviews at monthly staff meetings. We are proud that you choose to return year after year and hope your kids keep that enthusiasm and come back with their children. See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

What can I say, we've been to WWS four years in a row, and we adore it! You just can't beat a fully stocked kitchen, fresh towels every day, and the beautiful view of the bay and the sunset. Wishing I was sitting pool side at either of the two pools again right now. Sigh. Our two young children look forward to staying here very much, and I have to say, they voted suite 104's porch the best of the suites we've stayed in! :) Thanks, WWS, for another great family vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view of the bay and sunset, you can't pick a bad one!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAMR1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Watch out! 50% due at time of reservation. Long time to be siting on your money. Why would you do that if you have a 14 day cancellation policy??? It would be different if they were giving the rooms away but DC prices none the less.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank expertravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foremostmgt, Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

We are sorry that you were disappointed with our deposit policy ~ you will find that a 50% deposit is required by most Door County lodging establishments. We are a small property and need to be sure a guest is committed to us in order to continue to hold the space. We do try to be flexible with our guests in emergency situations and always allow for a refund of the advance deposit (with a $10 cancellation fee). Some 3rd travel agents have not been communicating our policy clearly and for that we apologize. I hope that your stay was a good one other than the money up front.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
13.4 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
393 reviews
13.2 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
339 reviews
22.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
215 reviews
18.6 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
236 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#3 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort

Address: 4303 Bay Shore Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2368
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: £84 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort is located less than five miles north of the heart of Wisconsin's Sturgeon Bay on scenic Bay Shore Drive. All of our 38 suites have a breathtaking view making it a favorite vacation spot of guests coming to enjoy the splendor of Door County. Westwood Shores has a wide variety of year 'round activities including: heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, shore-front picnic areas, complimentary paddle boats (in season), wireless high speed wireless and much more! Our spacious suites were redecorated in 2017 - that means new carpet, new paint, new furniture and all new accessories. The best part of our suite though is still the sunset view from each and every balcony. Our lobby features complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate and a place to relax and check your email. We are just three miles north of Sturgeon Bay so its an easy drive to restaurants, parks and attractions. We are also the perfect base for discovering all of Door County! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Shores Waterfront Hotel Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing