We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLASTIC MATTRESS COVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This rental was great! Beautiful views from our balcony in 211, clean rooms, nice pool. The only things that would have made it a Perfect 10 are a good night's sleep and a restaurant on the premises. Every time I turned in bed the plastic mattress cover work me and my husband up. It was actually making a crunchy noise. I understand the need for a mattress cover, but there must be some out there that don't make noise. Everything else about the place was terrific.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halloween2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foremostmgt, General Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thanks for your comments regarding your stay at Westwood Shores. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with the mattress cover. We just purchased brand new ones for all of our beds and specifically purchased the upgraded fabric to avoid this situation. The covers are definitely not plastic. We appreciate your feedback and will monitor this situation because obviously a good nights sleep is important during your hotel stay! Otherwise we were happy to hear you enjoyed your room, the view and our pool. We hope you return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was our first stay at Westwood Shores and we were not disappointed. All of the rooms have full water views of Green Bay, all have balconies, and full kitchens. The property sits with in a few feet of the water between large residential properties. So it is very quiet, insulated from highway noise or other hotels.

Each unit has a separate bedroom, separate bathroom with jacuzzi tub, separate living area with full sized kitchen. The unit was in excellent condition, and was extremely well maintained.

The property faces the west so the sunsets are just spectacular !

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place to stay in Door County I would highly recommend this property. Their pricing is not inexpensive but it is an exceptional property.

Room Tip: All rooms have full water views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GilB867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foremostmgt, Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeng you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I wish that I could leave a bad review, but we never got past the front desk. We had made reservations for a Premiere Suite weeks in advance. This was going to be a special weekend for my husband and myself. Arrived at about 4 pm...a little after their official check in time. The woman at the front desk confirmed out reservation and pointed out on the map, the 2nd best room the offer. Not the premiere suite we had reserved and paid for. I told her to check again because we had specifically reserved then top floor end room...the Premiere suite. We showed her our reservation confirmation and she acknowledged it very clearly stated PREMIERE. She began clicking away at her computer, obvisously flustered and having no explanation...or so she said. Phones rang, calls were taken and we continued to stand there, waiting for a resolution for our missing room.

She then stated that they didn't have any Premiere Suites left and that all they had was the one one floor down and "near" the end....basically a spare broom closet. I asked her to get the manager on the phone, which she did. After being informed by the front desk clerk what was going on, the first thing she (the absent manager) asked me when I took the phone was, "how can I help you". Well it was clear that it was up to her as to how this should be rectified. Why must I tell a manager how to help me. I explained to her again that our reservations were made weeks ago, and that now we have no room. Her explanation was that reservations are moved around all the time!!!
Reservations MOVED!!??!! Whats the point of making a reservation if you can just walk in off the street and get any room you like???

Meanwhile, a young woman was asking questions about her room and how they could pay for it. I glanced at the map that was given to her and what do you know, she had our room. Apparently they strolled in and they gave that couple the very best room they have.....OURS!!!

My discussion with the manager got no where, and the clerk not the least bit helpful so we just turned around and left.

Don't stay here. The hotel does not honor reservations!!
The Management lacks either the authority or caring to make errors right.
Go someplace else.
For the almost $300 per night price tag, you could get alot better service even without a reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
19  Thank Cheeseheadonwheels55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foremostmgt, General Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

We are surprised that you have left such a bad review since you never got past the front desk. Your review is very unfair and as you can see by the other reviews your experience was certainly not typical for a stay at Westwood Shores. I apologize that there was an error in the reservation process and there was not a premiere suite awaiting you upon your arrival - as we explained that was an error on our part. It is unfortunate that you did not even look at the suite you were offered, as it is our best 'standard" unit and very close to the water. Your description of the unit is unfair since you did not even take the time to take a look. The desk clerk was flustered as you described, but also extremely apologetic and immediately called a manager. She apologized, offered some other options and you hung up and stormed out of the property. We would have loved to have made the situation right but were really never given that opportunity. Your review is full of misinformation from the rates quoted to the service you received, we have asked to have it removed from TripAdvisor however, at this point we believe our other reviews show our true colors and do not want to continue an online battle - we are very sorry you were unsatisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is our second time staying at Westwood Shores. What a find, the units are spacious, immaculately clean and so nicely equipped. The staff is always friendly and helpful and the sunset views are nothing short of spectacular.
We would highly recommend Westwood to anyone vising Door County.

Room Tip: The premier rooms are worth the extra cost as the private balcony's for the premier rooms have t...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmccann115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This place was wonderful! My husband and I stayed here for our 20th Anniversary and had a wonderful visit. We had never stayed in Sturgeon Bay and I have to say this was a perfect choice. The amenities, friendly staff, and the location can't be beat. Just a few minutes from downtown Sturgeon Bay, and 45 minutes from the tip of Door County.

So if your looking for a great spot to stay for a few days or a week this is your spot - oh and just tell them John and Jo sent you! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Every room is good, the building is set-up along the bay so that there is a beautiful view of the Ba...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We love to stay at West wood Shores because it's quiet and peaceful. I recommend anyone to stay here, very nice staff and rooms are always clean!!! I lake is a nice view at night and the morning. Door County is such a nice place to visit, and I wouldn't mind living up there some day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Koreen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My wife and I are frequent guests at Westwood Shores. Aside from a couple of relatively small problems there, we have been very happy with our stays. The recent experience described by "Cheeseheadonwheels55" is of serious concern to me, and, should be a concern to all guests. I can't help but wonder if what was described could happen to us. We book our stays far in advance and really look forward to our reservations being in order (as they were made) when we go to check in.

What happened to "Cheeseheadonwheels55" would appear to be indefensible. Westwood Shores owes an explanation as to how something like that could ever happen. No explanation from Westwood Shores can only suggest a major screw-up on their part. If they screwed up, they should just admit it. Screw-ups do happen. Then, they need to assure everyone that it won't happen again. If there's more to the story...then let's hear it! I for one need their reassurance that it won't ever happen to me. If they don't, there are lots of other places to stay in Door County!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank 35WisconsinGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foremostmgt, General Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

We responded to that guest review separately as soon as we received it. There is usually a delay so you will see a management response when it is released by Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear you have always had positive experiences at Westwood Shores. That is the case with most of our guests, but as you say mistakes do happen. It was definitely a human error that the guests reservation was moved from a premium suite to a regular one bedroom. However, her reservation was on our books and we had a suite prepared for her arrival. She would not look at an alternative suite or consider any solution offered. In fact, that suite remained empty on a busy weekend because we cancelled her reservation. It was not the managers day off, she had worked a full 8 hour day and was called at home to speak to the guest later in the evening. We are so sorry that this We make every effort to accommodate and honor guests specific requests and can assure you that will happen in most instances as you know from previous experience and other guest comments. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
13.4 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
393 reviews
13.2 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
339 reviews
22.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
215 reviews
18.6 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
236 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#3 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort

Address: 4303 Bay Shore Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2368
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: £84 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort is located less than five miles north of the heart of Wisconsin's Sturgeon Bay on scenic Bay Shore Drive. All of our 38 suites have a breathtaking view making it a favorite vacation spot of guests coming to enjoy the splendor of Door County. Westwood Shores has a wide variety of year 'round activities including: heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, shore-front picnic areas, complimentary paddle boats (in season), wireless high speed wireless and much more! Our spacious suites were redecorated in 2017 - that means new carpet, new paint, new furniture and all new accessories. The best part of our suite though is still the sunset view from each and every balcony. Our lobby features complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate and a place to relax and check your email. We are just three miles north of Sturgeon Bay so its an easy drive to restaurants, parks and attractions. We are also the perfect base for discovering all of Door County! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Shores Waterfront Hotel Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing