We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bay Shore Inn(Sturgeon Bay)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Harbor Resort(Sturgeon Bay)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliff Dwellers Resort(Sturgeon Bay)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chal-A Motel(Sturgeon Bay)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Stone Harbor Resort(Sturgeon Bay)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Music Motel(Sturgeon Bay)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridgeport Resort(Sturgeon Bay)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
260
72
18
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
260
72
18
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenone bedroom suiteoutdoor pooldoor countygreen baygas fireplacewater viewbeautiful sunsetoff seasonsmall apartmenthot tub and saunathird floorexercise roomdvd playerview of the bayfish creekdefinitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just got back from two nights at Westwood Shores. The staff were very friendly and helpful in recommending restaurants that were open during the quiet season. Loved the condo - nautical theme was very nice and the fireplace was cozy on the cold nights. Enjoyed the pool, whirlpool, and sauna - always had them to ourselves. Really appreciated the complimentary coffee, tea and cocoa. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

There are many resorts and properties in Door County available, but I think my husband and I found one of the best! The hospitality, cleanliness, amenities and location of Westwood Shores is unequaled! We have stayed at various resorts in Door County, and Westwood Shores has quickly moved up the list to being our favorite. We decided to spend the extra money for a premiere suite, and we are glad we did! Wonderfully soft bathrobes, as well as a location on the end of the building so we were able to see Sturgeon Bay from 3 different views. Yes, the Bay was frozen, and 7 inches of snow arrived one night during our "spring" break, but the roads were cleared quickly in the a.m. In fact, the snow only enhanced the sense of peacefulness and quiet.
The resort is squeaky clean, and our suite was beautifully decorated. The countertop and sink in the kitchen appeared to be new, as were some of the faucets. There is daily housekeeping service, blessedly not beginning until 9 a.m., so it is very quiet in the morning if you like to sleep in. We never felt rushed to leave our room. The housekeepers don't come to clean until they see that the privacy sign has been removed from your door.
It took one call to the front desk, and the digital clocks which were in each of the bedrooms were replaced within the hour with brand new clocks, as they were not working when we arrived. There is coffee, tea and an amazingly good hot chocolate available 24/7 in the lobby, where a warm fireplace invites you to sit a bit and just enjoy.
Speaking of fireplaces, the gas fireplace in our suite was one of the best we have experienced. It is on a one hour timer, but you need only turn the switch again for more warm ambience in a comfortable living room. Though we had it on quite a bit, it never got so unbearably warm that we felt we needed to open windows. (This has happened at other places we have stayed.) There is toasty baseboard heat in all the rooms. For the summer months, there is a windows a/c unit in the living room and each of the bedrooms. Each bedroom also has a ceiling fan.
We paid an incredibly low price for our condo because it is off-season. But don't let "off-season" stop you from coming here for a break from the hustle and bustle of life! There are a lot of restaurants and shops open, and the front desk staff can direct you to anywhere you would like to go. Rte. 42 was blissfully empty of traffic, and the shops and restaurants that were open had friendly people chatting about the weather, etc. We were treated as if they had known us all our lives.
Westwood Shores provided us with the rest and relaxation we were seeking for our 4 day, 3 night spring break, and I highly recommend it to anyone wanting a premiere resort right on the waterfront, beautiful and welcoming no matter the season.

Room Tip: If you can, spend the extra money for a premiere unit located on the corners of the building. Not only will have a great view, but we found it to be very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just got back from my trip to Westwood Shores and had a fabulous time! The pillows are very comfortable and normal size ( not huge as another reviewer wrote). Cozy down blankets, toasty fireplace and very peaceful. The rooms have everything you need. All rooms have gorgeous view of the bay, and very welcoming. A great place to use as base to the rest of Door County. The staff is excellent and very helpful. Will highly recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are great, if want to use the pool or hot tub a lot it is on the 1st floor,
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed two nights at this resort. The ONLY thing that bothered us is that the pillows are huge. I had trouble sleeping because my neck was twisted at a weird angle. Honestly, we made it work and it wasn't a big deal at all. Next time, we'll just bring our own pillows! Apart from that, we had a fantastic time and can't wait until we are able to return! The staff was great, the room was spotless, and even the pool was really warm. We went during the off-season, so our suite was only $100/night. If you're looking for a way to beat the winter blues and need some rest and relaxation, the in-room whirlpool and fireplace is just the way to get it done! Of all the hotels I've stayed in, this makes a pretty competitive run for the best! Highly recommend for anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScrewyStewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have stayed here several times and recommended to friends as well who had like experiences . Comfortable suites with full kitchen and utensils, so bring the groceries if you simply want to enjoy the view, and jacuzzi in your suite, or a warm pool, sauna or hot tub waiting for you downstairs. They could replace the mattresses for a better nights sleep, however satisfies the purpose overall. We have enjoyed romantic evenings in front of the fireplace, as well as celebrated life events with others here. Give it a try!

Room Tip: Ask for 307 I think. Center of resort and exceptional view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VinnieAppleton_Wi_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foremostmgt, General Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thanks for the positive review of Westwood Shores, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry to hear you were disappointed with the mattress in your suite - they were actually replaced within the past two years and we have had many positive comments from other guests. We appreciate that you have returned many times and hope you will continue to do so - we are always making improvements. In spring of 2014 we will be replacing all of the refrigerators in the suites. We also expect to replace the bedroom TV's this year too. Hope you will plan another visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews