We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Door County!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Door County!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at Westwood Shores in one of the two-bedroom suites with a group of 7 - 4 adults and 3 kids aged 8, 10, and 12. It was the perfect place to stay for our family! The bedrooms were a good size and the beds were very comfortable. The adults loved having our own sliding glass doors that led out onto our porch. The girls were easily accommodated on the pull-out sofa bed and slept comfortably as well. We really appreciated being able to have a kitchenette as we ate breakfast every morning in our room. Both the inside and outside pools were clean and well-maintained. One of our favorite aspects was the absolutely gorgeous views that we had of the bay. We got some beautiful photos and truly just enjoyed sitting down by the water every night. Thank you for a great stay! We'll be back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gretchen95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, General Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for such a positive review of Westwood Shores, I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that the configuration of our suites accommodated your family so well. Be sure to share some of your photos of that beautiful sunset on our Facebook page! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    63
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
111
155
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent three nights here during the Memorial Day weekend. We were a group of 10 people with 4 kids. We had two lakefront rooms and as far as I can tell all rooms have a lake view. Rooms were clean and adequately furnished and the kitchen fully equipped. The indoor swimming pool was a hit with the kids and the hot tub was great for the adults. There was an outdoor pool also which we didn't try. The view of the lake was superb and sunsets were gorgeous. The large windows were definitely a plus. The facility is located about a 10 minute drive away from Sturgeon Bay downtown and is located at a really quiet place. There are quite a few cute little bay side towns to visit and restaurants to explore nearby. Overall it was a very enjoyable weekend and we'd love to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whydoineedascreennam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Home, AR
Level Contributor
197 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a really nice resort complex. There is some light aging and they do a great job taking care of you. We would suggest this for anyone planning to visit the Sturgeon Bay area. The only issue we have was they could clean the balcony webs more and the cherry trees are going to need a pruning for viewing access. Be sure to check out the restaurant menus in the lobby basket.

We did Sturgeon Bay on a fishing trip and the winds kept our success rate lower than we hoped. Though we did manage a 7 pound smallmouth and several 3 to 5 pounders. Parking was extremely tight and very few outside outlets if you bring your boat, which we did.

The view of the bay is great and the balconies are nice. It was a very nice trip for us to enjoy the Door County area. We did John Martin's for dinner one night and that was exquisite. The trips to Fish Creek we did Alexander's one evening and that was nice also. The Cooper's Corner area was well visited by many and visiting the wine country made a nice couple's trip of this. We ate at Cooper's Corner one evening upstairs and it was 50/50, one good and one bad meal, and a tourist area.

It was a quick trip though this facility was nice.

Room Tip: no tips on rooms as we only stayed in one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHornet72653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, General Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for your positive review and all of your suggestions for out future guests it sound like you made the most of your vacation in Door County! Congratulations on your success while fishing! I am glad to hear that you found our menu basket helpful. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiocton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just returned from our first, but not our last trip to Westwood shores Resort. The sunset views from this property are just beautiful, could not be better, even on a cloudy evening the sun beams over the water....just amazing. The Resort could not have been better, not a lot of staff around, which I loved, they were available if I needed them, but we never did. Our unit 111 was super clean, and very well maintained, housekeeping was amazing, the fresh towel basket was more then enough items, the indoor pool was used everyday by our kids, the outdoor pool had great views of the water and could be seen from all the rooms, which is nice if you want to keep an eye on kids. We fished off the pier, caught a few. Just an awesome place, we will go back soon.

Room Tip: We had the 2 bedroom unit, it has a very larger outdoor patio, I noticed that some of the units had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hometown G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This is a nice place to stay and the view into the bay is exceptional. Sunsets are gorgeous. The pools are OK and the grounds are wee kept. Having a full kitchen is also convenient.
But...
It definitely needs some work. Cracked paint, trim in bathroom was broken, and the patios are for solo use only.

Would stay again as the view and walking in area are nice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CAKnier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, General Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for your review of Westwood Shores, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We are sorry to hear that you found some maintenance issues on the property~ we work hard to avoid that~ even though we are 18 years old guests almost always say that the place looks brand new. I hope you passed your specific concerns along to someone at the property. We are always looking to improve the resort just last winter we purchased new refrigerators, installed new counter tops and purchased new TV's for the bedrooms. I am glad to hear that you plan to return to our hotel and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed over Memorial Day Weekend. This was our third visit to the Westwood Shores. As with the previous two visits everything was wonderful. The front desk staff is always polite and professional and make us feel welcome. We stayed in one of the premier units. It was well worth it. We could sit on the porch and look right out of the bay. It was quite a peaceful vacation. We hope that the next time we visit a premier unit is available.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ML1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks for coming back to Westwood Shores! Glad to hear that you thought the premiere suites were worth the upgrade. We are happy to hear that you had another wonderful stay and hope you will return many more times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
167 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have to disagree that "every room has an awesome bay view". It does depend which unit you are in. Also as the units are individually owned, some are much more comfortable and better equipped than others. There are some standard features but some owners put a lot of effort and thought into their units while others do the bare minimum and are just money makers for the owners. I can say this based on the four units I saw (large family group stayed). I don't see how you can say " all units are beautiful" unless you have seen all the units or at least a lot of them!?? The only people that would know that would have to be owners or employees. If you are lucky enough to book a better unit, you will be happy, if not you will be disappointed. I would ask to see what is available upon check in. It looks like some people know which units to request and are able to hold them. We booked a premier 2 bdrm that was available but it smelled terrible and so opted for a regular unit instead. Try to look first!! Also, even though this is a non smoking property, people still smoked here. One of the units I was in reeked of smoke! I guess even though you want to believe you can find a perfect place, you have to be grounded in reality. Still, Door County is beautiful and you should not spend a lot of time in any hotel room nice or not!

Room Tip: Try to look at your unit before you take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks for your review of Westwood Shores. We are very surprised by your comments, we really do believe our units are very comparable. We are so sorry that you felt slighted. We do have some guests that prefer a north side or south side units, or some prefer 1st floor while others prefer second. But our units all have the same furniture and fixtures, and the building is in the shape of a U so every suite faces the water. Our unit owners can add small decorative items but nothing should be included to make one unit more rentable than another. As for the smoking and/or smoke smell... our state law requires all of our units and our balconies be smoke free. We strictly enforce this and allow smoking only outside of the building. I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations, that is not typical at our property. I apologize that your concerns were not addressed during your stay. We hope you will come back again and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
22.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
695 reviews
13.2 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
317 reviews
24.8 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
193 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
341 reviews
18.6 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort

Property: Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Address: 4303 Bay Shore Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2368
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort is located less than five miles north of the heart of Wisconsin's Sturgeon Bay on scenic Bay Shore Drive. All of our 38 suites have a breathtaking view making it a favorite vacation spot of guests coming to enjoy the splendor of Door County. Westwood Shores has a wide variety of year 'round activities including: heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, shore-front picnic areas, complimentary paddle boats (in season), wireless high speed wireless and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Shores Waterfront Hotel Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing