We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

4 of us stayed in a 2-bedroom that included living room, kitchen and deck. All of it was very nice. Beds are comfortable. Furnishings are nice; they fit with the theme of the area. We bought some local wine and cheese one night and ate in, so it was nice to have the kitchen available. Shower runs a bit too light for water pressure, and the hair dryer is not very good. Also they supply a shampoo/conditioner combo of which I am not a fan (so bring your own if you also don't like these). Nice TV's, plenty of room and 2 swimming pools (1 outdoor and 1 indoor). Staff very nice and helpful. We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lynn_0130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    63
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
109
155
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Very nice view from the 3rd floor room. The sunset is amazing We really surprised when we first saw it. The room was very clean and roomy. We liked having the 24 hour coffee bar available in the lobby. Lots to see and do in Door County. Visited Peninsula State Park in Fish Creek. Seeing the Eagle Bluff Light house and Eagle Tower is a must. The tour guide at the lighthouse was excellent giving the history of the house. Tower is 75 feet above the ground and 225 feet above the bay. Absolutely amazing views. The Mill is great supper club to have dinner. 15 drive north on Route 43.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crownedqueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Overall my husband and I had a great time at the West Shore Resort.

Pros: The grounds were beautiful and our view of the lake was amazing. We liked that it was quiet and the grounds were clean. The 24 hour coffee was a nice touch. Our unit was always clean and taken care of.

Cons: It was a little far away from the rest of Door County but we just made full day trips to the other towns so it wasn't too big of a deal. It would have been nice if there was some kind of breakfast offered - - even just some fruit and bagels or something. There is nothing nearby without getting in the car and driving.
The thing that bothered us the most was the attitude of quite a few of the women (not all - a couple were very nice) sitting at the front desk. They would answer the questions you would ask but it seemed as if it was an effort. One time my room key stopped working and the woman seemed annoyed that she had to reprogram our keys and gave me a lecture about not keeping it near credit cards, etc. The most outstanding lack of customer service was when we checked out on Saturday morning. The woman took my credit card, handed me the final receipt and went back to what she was doing. Not one word such as thanks for coming, hope you had a nice stay, nothing, nada. It was so cold it left us with a really bad last feeling about the place.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to have good views of the lake. The 3rd floor had really good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKJChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

From the minute we checked into this resort, we were at home. The room was delightful; our balcony had a spectacular view of Sturgeon Bay. My daughter used both the indoor and outdoor pools and declared them wonderful. The desk was very helpful and courteous. They lent out DVDs to use in the rooms and when my daughter was having trouble getting them to run they were patient and put up with all her questions and eventually she got them to work. We would return again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diane_StPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bixby, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Breaking down this rating:

The good: The resort location is solid. Quiet and away from the hub-bub of town. The views of Green Bay from the shoreline were second to none. Beautiful sunsets. The indoor pool and hot tub was nice as was the sauna. The room was surprisingly quiet! We stayed in room 306.

The not so good: The room and the resort are showing signs of age. While the place looks good on the outside, the inside is a little rough. These things we could live with and felt from other reviewers beforehand this might be the case. The bedroom was smallish. The air-conditioner was loud and at times sounded like it was about to go out. It took a good while to cool the room which was surprising since most of our stay the temps were in the mid 70's. My wife had to buy a hair dryer. She said the one the resort had was worthless!

The bad: The biggest complaint and the reason my rating is a three is a result of the lack of warmth from the receptionist and the fact that anytime we had a question the receptionists were busy taking reservations. Upon arrival, I was checked in, after a lengthy wait no less, by the receptionist. My check-in was eventually handled while the receptionist helped someone else on the phone. Totally unacceptable. I think there was an attitude of take-it-or-leave-it-we-don't-need-your-business-to-survive that resided with the management which may be just fine in Door County but it is a bad business practice where we come from. Anytime we did get a chance to ask about some place to eat or go, we were met with short answers that came off as "we don't have time for you!" We managed to find many gems in Door County but that had more to do with our own resourcefulness and nothing to do with the resort with the exception of some of the literature on a stand at the resort's entrance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank tmac4ou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thanks for your review, your feedback can help us make Westwood Shores a little better. But first let me apologize that you felt unappreciated. We value each and every guest and do not take our visitors for granted. It has been an exceptionally busy summer and I apologize that our desk clerks seemed too busy to help you. We will examine our staffing model in the future to see how we can better handle in house guests in conjunction with incoming calls, it so unpredictable. Our clerks are usually filled with information and suggestions. We are constantly updating our suites, last year new kitchen counter were installed, next in the plans is the bathroom counters and sinks. We hope you return again soon to see what's next!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is very well constructed and maintained and very clean. The indoor pool is great. It was nice and quiet inside the room even though we were on the first floor. I loved the whirlpool bath tub. The grounds are pretty. Probably the only thing I could have wanted was better shore access - there was just a tiny rocky beach and I would have liked to take a walk, but there was no where to walk except the main road which would have been too dangerous. The coffee in the lobby was very good - the room coffee pot, not so much. We had a lovely time, but we spent a lot of time driving north to tour the rest of Door County. If that's what you're interested in, you may want to stay further north.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the center of the hotel don't have as nice of a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, General Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for your positive review of Westwood Shores. We are proud to be among your top 5 hotels, what an honor! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and tips with other potential guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at Westwood Shores in one of the two-bedroom suites with a group of 7 - 4 adults and 3 kids aged 8, 10, and 12. It was the perfect place to stay for our family! The bedrooms were a good size and the beds were very comfortable. The adults loved having our own sliding glass doors that led out onto our porch. The girls were easily accommodated on the pull-out sofa bed and slept comfortably as well. We really appreciated being able to have a kitchenette as we ate breakfast every morning in our room. Both the inside and outside pools were clean and well-maintained. One of our favorite aspects was the absolutely gorgeous views that we had of the bay. We got some beautiful photos and truly just enjoyed sitting down by the water every night. Thank you for a great stay! We'll be back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gretchen95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, General Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for such a positive review of Westwood Shores, I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that the configuration of our suites accommodated your family so well. Be sure to share some of your photos of that beautiful sunset on our Facebook page! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
22.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
13.2 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
24.8 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
BEST WESTERN Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort

Property: Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Address: 4303 Bay Shore Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2368
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort is located less than five miles north of the heart of Wisconsin's Sturgeon Bay on scenic Bay Shore Drive. All of our 38 suites have a breathtaking view making it a favorite vacation spot of guests coming to enjoy the splendor of Door County. Westwood Shores has a wide variety of year 'round activities including: heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, shore-front picnic areas, complimentary paddle boats (in season), wireless high speed wireless and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Shores Waterfront Hotel Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing