We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pools and sunset view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good pools and sunset view”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom suite with our 13 year old girl and 11 year old boy. The suite was a little dated decor-wise but in good shape and clean. It had a queen sofa bed as well as two queen beds so the kids did not have to share a bed and everyone could watch a different tv :) wireless was free. The indoor pool was heated and the hot tub and sauna were nice after a tiring day sight seeing in door county. There was an outdoor pool overlooking the lake which was also nice and you can even swim in the lake if you need a refreshing option. The resort provided free paddle boats and the dock was a great place to take photos of the sunset or just enjoy the moment. There are barbecues by the pool if you want to cook your own food and have a family reunion which some families were doing while we were there. There is no restaurant at the hotel but you can order from restaurants in Sturgeon Bay or drive to them. There are lots of farm markets, artisanal cheese shops and bakeries in door county where you can pick up snacks, lunch and breakfast items to try. Having the stocked kitchenette in the room was a definite bonus for this. Staff were friendly and helpful. This was a great family resort. The suite we stayed in was on the lower level and was a bit dark (like a walkout basement). It was near the pool though. If you came here for a romantic getaway and had to spend a lot of time in the suite, I think you might be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for an upper level suite with balcony if you want more privacy. Go for the lower level suites if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thanks for your review of Westwood Shores, we are happy to hear that your family enjoyed our resort. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of many of our free amenities and we hope your family will return for a vacation for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    66
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
113
164
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Westwood Shores has been home away from home for my husband and I every summer for some time. While the resort is ALWAYS clean and beautiful, some minor improvements could be made. We have stayed in all sorts of room here and they have all been great!

Updates as I see them:

1. All trim, moldings and baseboards. This time we stayed on a ground unit, #104, and you can see pieces of the floor in the master bath starting to come up. The humidity has caused the baseboards in the bathrooms to look damaged and dingy. By just sprucing up the trim, the units would look up to date and fresh. (Especially with a wide, white baseboard).

2. Blowdryer. It's functional. But not very good. Takes a long time to dry hair, and when you have multiple ladies in one unit, this gets to be very time consuming. Not major, but helpful especially in the 2 bedroom units.

3. Adding a 13 × 9 baking pan. We could have used this many times. The kitchen is something we utilize everytime we come. It's easy with a busy family for quick breakfast items (hot rolls) and lunch (baking corn) and desserts (brownies, cakes) etc. Our daughter had an allergy, so we tend to make lots of our own food.

4. Tile. Replace the old worn linoleum with real tile. It's very durable and would look great in the kitchens and bathrooms. Our master bathroom shower has mold spots on the ceiling and by having tile, it could just be washed away very easily without damaging drywall.

Overall, we love westwood shores and probably won't ever stay anywhere else. This is home for us in door county. The grills, kitchens, movie rental, game room, game rental, pier, sandbox, pools, and staff are great!

We love downtown sturgeon bay and driving a few minutes for mini excursions is fun. We stop along the way at various farm stands so it's not as long in the car. The front desk is always helpful. The pools are very well maintained and warm (like a bath!) And the view is one of the best I've ever had!!! The updates are merely my perception, and I'm pretty picky, so they don't really need to be made. We are looking forward to building many more memories here with our kids over the years!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I will echo many of the other reviews here. The grounds and setting are very nice and well kept. Room decor is a little dated, but everything works great and no problems with cleanliness at all. All rooms have a westward facing view, so all units have a water view.

As there are less than 40 units, the place never feels too crowded and we typically had the pools to ourselves. With the in-unit kitchen and the gas grills available, it was easy to make a couple of meals at the resort, but note that there aren't any grocery stores close by, or if there are, their hours are limited. Really enjoyed the sunsets with a couple of cocktails down by the water.

It was 25 minute to drive up to Egg Harbor, but as all of Door Cty is spread out and slow paced, this didn't present much of a problem. We did the drive up north 2 days in a row and it didn't feel bothersome. Seemed like a reasonable trade-off to stay at a nice place with indoor/outdoor pool.

If I was planning to return to Door County, I would stay here again. We stayed with little kids, 6 and 8.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouieRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Manager at Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thanks for the positive review of Westwood Shores, we are glad your family enjoyed our resort. It is a great spot to explore the entire county. I am happy you were able to enjoy the kitchen facilities, there are two great grocery stores right her in Sturgeon Bay. Both Econo Foods and Pic N Save have large selections of meat, produce and bakery. I hope your family plans a return visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

4 of us stayed in a 2-bedroom that included living room, kitchen and deck. All of it was very nice. Beds are comfortable. Furnishings are nice; they fit with the theme of the area. We bought some local wine and cheese one night and ate in, so it was nice to have the kitchen available. Shower runs a bit too light for water pressure, and the hair dryer is not very good. Also they supply a shampoo/conditioner combo of which I am not a fan (so bring your own if you also don't like these). Nice TV's, plenty of room and 2 swimming pools (1 outdoor and 1 indoor). Staff very nice and helpful. We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lynn_0130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Very nice view from the 3rd floor room. The sunset is amazing We really surprised when we first saw it. The room was very clean and roomy. We liked having the 24 hour coffee bar available in the lobby. Lots to see and do in Door County. Visited Peninsula State Park in Fish Creek. Seeing the Eagle Bluff Light house and Eagle Tower is a must. The tour guide at the lighthouse was excellent giving the history of the house. Tower is 75 feet above the ground and 225 feet above the bay. Absolutely amazing views. The Mill is great supper club to have dinner. 15 drive north on Route 43.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crownedqueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Overall my husband and I had a great time at the West Shore Resort.

Pros: The grounds were beautiful and our view of the lake was amazing. We liked that it was quiet and the grounds were clean. The 24 hour coffee was a nice touch. Our unit was always clean and taken care of.

Cons: It was a little far away from the rest of Door County but we just made full day trips to the other towns so it wasn't too big of a deal. It would have been nice if there was some kind of breakfast offered - - even just some fruit and bagels or something. There is nothing nearby without getting in the car and driving.
The thing that bothered us the most was the attitude of quite a few of the women (not all - a couple were very nice) sitting at the front desk. They would answer the questions you would ask but it seemed as if it was an effort. One time my room key stopped working and the woman seemed annoyed that she had to reprogram our keys and gave me a lecture about not keeping it near credit cards, etc. The most outstanding lack of customer service was when we checked out on Saturday morning. The woman took my credit card, handed me the final receipt and went back to what she was doing. Not one word such as thanks for coming, hope you had a nice stay, nothing, nada. It was so cold it left us with a really bad last feeling about the place.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to have good views of the lake. The 3rd floor had really good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKJChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

From the minute we checked into this resort, we were at home. The room was delightful; our balcony had a spectacular view of Sturgeon Bay. My daughter used both the indoor and outdoor pools and declared them wonderful. The desk was very helpful and courteous. They lent out DVDs to use in the rooms and when my daughter was having trouble getting them to run they were patient and put up with all her questions and eventually she got them to work. We would return again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane_StPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
13.4 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
369 reviews
22.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
756 reviews
13.2 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
205 reviews
24.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
387 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort

Property: Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Address: 4303 Bay Shore Dr, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2368
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort is located less than five miles north of the heart of Wisconsin's Sturgeon Bay on scenic Bay Shore Drive. All of our 38 suites have a breathtaking view making it a favorite vacation spot of guests coming to enjoy the splendor of Door County. Westwood Shores has a wide variety of year 'round activities including: heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, shore-front picnic areas, complimentary paddle boats (in season), wireless high speed wireless and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Shores Waterfront Hotel Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing