We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliff Dwellers Resort
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Highland Park, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific Stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I hadn't been to Door County before. This very affordable, very nice place on the west side of Sturgeon Bay was a terrific place to stay. Our 1-bedroom was spacious, in top condition, and the location was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    21
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
62
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cadott, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My husband and I just returned from staying at Cliff Dwellers for 5 nights, 3 in Bay Cottage, and 2 in Harborview. We loved this resort, as it's very peaceful. Paul and Layla literally are excellent hosts, very helpful and accommodating. We hope to return next year. Thanks for all of the special memories!! The cottages were very homey, and right on the water. The view was amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paradise59749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A quick getaway with my parents ( visiting from Australia) and twin 12 year olds was a great success with a stay at this resort in Sturgeon Bay. Tucked on the cliffs with lovely water views of the town and bridge across the water, this is a gem! The setting is quiet, wooded and very well maintained. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. :)
We stayed in Maple Cottage, a very well appointed and roomy cabin. The small pool area was perfect for the kids, bikes and boats are also available for use.
This is the third location I have stayed in the area and now my favorite!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzmandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We spent several days in Milwaukee visiting family but decided to drive up to Door County to enjoy a different aspect of Wisconsin. Wow! Cliff Dwellers was a little gem! We stayed in the Basswood cottage for 2 nights and it was perfect. We were able to leave the windows open at night and the view of the water is wonderful. We have 2 teenagers (16 and 19) and they actually thought it was really cool. We used the complimentary bikes to ride into the Potowatomi National Forest and we made use of the board games left in the cottage by the owners. The staff (Paul) was super helpful and gave us the perfect map to get around town to other local restaurants and shops. We went on a tour of the water on a historic fireboat which was really fascinating because it took us past the resort. I really wish we could have stayed longer at Cliff Dwellers because there was so much more we could have taken advantage of (like the boats, hot tub and pool). We will definitely come back again and stay longer. This was truly a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZTraveler6504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We visited Cliff Dwellers for the second time in June of 2013. We stayed in one of the townhouses. It was very clean and up to date. The staff is very friendly. The view of the bay and the cliffs are amazing. I would recommend Cliff Dwellers to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My brother and sister-in-law had a wonderful stay at your resort. They said their cabin was clean, comfortable and the view was beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This was a much needed mini-vacation and they said it was a such a relaxing stay. They also enjoyed looking around the area and my sister-in-law really enjoyed all the shopping in Door County. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Bluff, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We did not come looking for lots of "things to do". Our goal was to sit and relax in a peaceful setting on the water, and we found exactly what we were looking for. We had privacy, it was quiet, we were about 5 feet from the water's edge, and we thought we were in heaven. And as remote as it felt like, we were still close to things in town like grocery, restaurants, etc. It was nice to know the amenities were there (pool/hot tub/biking, etc.) and maybe we'll take advantage of those another time, but this time we just sat and RELAXED. The place was immaculately clean and provided us with pretty much everything we needed for a nice stay, including a nice pair of binoculars to use while watching the boats on the water. Thank you! We hope to make this our new summer destination!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.5 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
15.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
369 reviews
24.4 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
471 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Harbor Resort
Beach Harbor Resort
#10 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Dwellers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Dwellers Resort

Property: Cliff Dwellers Resort
Address: 3540 N Duluth Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-9088
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff Dwellers Resort is nestled between the serene moss and cedar-covered cliffs and the deep blue waters of Sturgeon Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliff Dwellers Hotel Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing