We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maritime Museum ”

Door County Maritime Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Door County Maritime Museum: Enjoy tales of bold ship captains, brave seaman, innovative shipbuilders, rugged fishermen, stalwart lighthouse keepers and much, much more--sea stories abound! The Door County Maritime Museum offers three unique visitor experiences. Its year-round 20,000 square foot flagship museum is located between the dowtown bridges on Sturgeon Bay's workking waterfront. It features four large exhibit galleries and the immaculately restored seagoing tugboat John Purves built in 1919. The iconic Cana Island Lighthouse, located Baileys Harbor, is a Door County treasure. The northern museum is a hidden gem featuring the classic wooden fish tug Hope. It is located in the historic fishing village of Gills Rock alongside the infamous "Death's Door" passage. Both are open seasonally.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Maritime Museum ”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Our boys are 10 and 2 and both found lots of interesting items. Was surprised how much there was to see and do. The periscope is really neat. A must do if you are in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Ahoy! Thanks much for the wonderful review...we are thrilled you enjoyed your visit. Hope you can come back as see us in the not too distant future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    104
    20
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Tour the Tug”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Door County Maritime Museum is... exactly what it claims to be-- a small county museum that highlights the region's historical relationship with Lake Michigan and Green Bay. There are about 4 galleries, focusing on history, personal tales, ship models, and a few full-scale boats. One section also features a rotating exhibit. When we visited, the topic was pirates. It was dumbed-down a little bit for kids, but it was still well-designed and worth a look.

The real gem, as others have mentioned, is the tour of the tug boat. It is a few bucks more, but if you're going to the museum, it would be a shame to miss this tour. You will see all parts of the boat in about 40-45 minutes. (We were surprised at how intricate all the mechanisms were.) Note, Yes, there are steep stairs, and no, the tug boat does not go out.

Bottom line- this isn't the Smithsonian, but that doesn't mean you won't spend an enjoyable afternoon and come away with some interesting facts.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pendarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Ahoy! Thanks for the great comments. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit, especially the tour of the historic tug, John Purves. We are very proud of our massive red tugboat. An amazing cadre of dedicated volunteers spent tens of thousands of hours restoring her back to her glory. I wholeheartedly concur that any trip to the museum would not be complete with our a tour of the tug! Thanks again...come to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillips, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting Visit”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The museum has a friendly staff, good layout, and a nice tug boat tour. It is located close to downtown shopping and a pontoon boat rental.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your visit to the museum and tour of our beloved tugboat! We'll be changing our feature exhibit this winter, so come back and see us again in 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pecatonica, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Interesting museum”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

For a small museum, this one is really packed with a wide variety of interesting things. My husband and I both thoroughly enjoyed it. I would urge you to spend the extra money for the tugboat tour. It has been completely restored and has an interesting history. We went on a Wednesday and our guide did a fantastic job of sharing the history with us.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Ahoy! Thanks much for the wonderful review...we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the museum and your tour of the historic tugboat, John Purves. I'll pass along your kind words to your tug docent (tour guide). Thanks much for the nice photo of the tugboat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tug boat tour great....museum was ok”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We did both the museum and the tug boat tour. My husband enjoyed the museum more than me. It was just ok. The tugboat tour was awesome. Note....if you have trouble with steep stairs, don't go. But it was a great tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your tour of the historic tugboat John Purves...it is truly a unique experience. Thanks much for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Door County Maritime Museum also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Door County Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing