We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting History”

Door County Historical Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Minnesota
Level Contributor
184 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Interesting History”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

some counties are just plain not that interesting...Door is far from that! The shipping canal dredging in the 1880's is my favorite!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank minnspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    30
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlton, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Full of Door County history”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We always check out local historical museums when traveling, and this is probably the best one we've ever been in. Beautiful wildlife display and tons of interesting displays with easy-to-read information. We spent a few hours. It's free, but we dropped a little cash in their donation box.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Museum & free”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This museum was a lot of fun to walk through and there is no charge. My 16-yr old daughter and I went and spent about an 1 hour there. The animal display is great & there's a lot of history about the area. Very close to Maritime Museum. Definitely a place to visit if you're in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very interesting and surprised it was a free to visit”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stopped here because we were in the area and read that it was free to visit. I was surprised at how much was on display in the museum. It was very interesting and my 8 month old daughter loved sitting in the fire truck and looking at all the items. The animal display in the entryway was very impressive and was my personal favorite display.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stopped at this museum as a break during a rainstorm and were very pleasantly surprised by the well designed exhibits and information about Door County and its past. The museum has exhibits on both the natural and human history of the area and is worth a visit to learn more about the background of other sites in the county. The Historical Museum is a nice complement to the Maritime Museum which is nearby.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hawk1131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Door County Historical Museum also viewed

 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Door County Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing