We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as advertized!”

Harbour Village Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbour Village Campground
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The wooded sites are a good size "but" they need to trim the vegetation back. We have a 40 foot quad slide 5th wheel and it took quite a bit of moving around to find a spot where we could open them. When we did we only had inches of space to the trees. The staff was friendly but very young (college age) and really could care less what was going on. The campers directly across from us left their dog in the camper all day with the windows open so all of us around them had to endure a miserable day listening to a non-stop barking dog. We complained to the staff who sent out some young girl on a golf cart to check on the situation. She was supposed to ticket them and contact them when they returned. They returned but no ticket was issued and she never stopped to warn them that barking dogs wouldn't be tolerated. She did drive by about 10 times but never stopped. They have lots of rules posted at every playground or pool location for each piece of equipment but the staff never bothered to enforce them unless someone complained, and then it was more of an apology to the violator than a warning to stop breaking the rules. If you like lots of dogs everywhere (most barking), small, medium, and large kids running, biking and screaming all day long this is the place for you. If you want to watch the news on the TV "don't" take a wooded site, ask for a open site. Mini-golf had more broken components than working ones, the floating rafts on the ponds were way under inflated, the two long water slides have joints at each section that will scratch you pretty easy if you aren't wearing a shirt, most of the four wheel bikes were damaged or hard to pedal, small unsupervised children at the large inflatable bouncing pillow were constantly throwing sand on everyone else. In fact, most of the children were never supervised all day long. The park looks nice but really is not responsibly managed by the young staff. We overheard two female staff members talking about how much they disliked what they were doing and they weren't about to do anything more than what they had to, " after all we get paid the same no matter how much or how little we do". This will be our first and last visit to this park.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We tented here for 2 nights. Campground is very clean. The staff were friendly, but it was the friendliness of the other campers that stood out! Everyone was happy to be there, and wanted you to be happy too.

There were a few minor problems. First, when we phones and asked about their tent-only sites, which were considerably cheaper than the regular sites, we were told they were semi-private. In reality, there are in the open, with no trees between sites. You'd be camping literally right next to someone else's tent. No thanks.

We paid the extra money and moved to a regular site. We noticed that most of the regular sites are very rocky. Probably not a big deal in a camper, but for us, it was a little inconvenient. When we went to plug in our extension cord, it was only a 220 outlet. Ugh. The adaptor would have cost $23 at the camp store, but the nice family across the way were glad to loan us theirs for our entire stay.

The bathrooms and showers were extremely clean.

My son loved the pedal cars that were available.

We enjoyed the pool, water slides, tennis courts, shuffleboard, mini-golf and more. The activity areas, except for the pool and swimming pond, were a little worn. The scoreboards for the shuffleboard were missing parts. The giant chess set in the "Game Room" was missing pieces. The cost of the mini-golf was $2 (listed as $1 on the website) and no one bothered to tell us that half the holes were unusable, as the greens were being replaced.

It was also a little strange that the entire campground seemed to be run by teenagers. But they were smiling and professional every time we saw them.

Overall, even though it was a little pricier that other campgrounds, there was a lot to do, it was quiet and family oriented, and we had a good time and would go back. Perfect for kids under 14.

Room Tip: The office recommended we drive around and check out the available sites for ourselves, which was pe...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank jaywalker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I recently visited Harbor Village and rented one their park models, I was pleasantly surprised! The price was reasonable and we had access to all of the activities in the park for free, including some extra's like water wars, and glow stick rides for the kids. The park model was very clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful, the store was stocked with great items, and the manager was extremely attentive to our needs. This by far was the best camping experience my family has ever had, and we are planning a trip back again next year. This place is great for family fun at a value. I highly recommend everyone checks this place out.

Room Tip: It has a great campground for RV's and tents, but has park models for those of us who like to ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The campsites were very nice sized and quite secluded. The store was amply stocked and campfire wood was readily available at a reasonable price. About the only thing we did not like is the daily fee did not include many amenities. if you wanted to swim in their lake, play on the jumping pillow, etc., it was an additional charge. The pool was included in the daily fee, however it was only open until 6:00pm which is quite early to close a pool during summer. The reason, we found out later, is that they did not have enough lifeguards to be open any later. Most days during out stay the big water slides were closed earlier than that due to no lifeguard being available. If they fix their staffing problems, and include everything in the daily fee, this would really be an awesome park to stay at. Oh, one minor thing. Everyone in the party had to go to the store every day of the stay to get a new wrist band. We camp a lot and we've never had to change wrist bands daily. Weekday to weekend, maybe, and even that is only a few places. More of an annoyance than anything.

Room Tip: Being a campground, there are no rooms. The sites are all large and shady. You can get sites on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sturgeon Bay hotels
5.8 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
7.5 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 18 in Sturgeon Bay
542 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Lodge at Leathem Smith
The Lodge at Leathem Smith
#15 of 18 in Sturgeon Bay
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#17 of 18 in Sturgeon Bay
334 reviews
9.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
8.6 mi away
Holiday Music Motel
Holiday Music Motel
#1 of 18 in Sturgeon Bay
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Village Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Village Campground

Address: 5840 Highway 42 North, Sturgeon Bay, WI
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Sturgeon Bay
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing