We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could give less than one on this place I would”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach Harbor Resort
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If I could give less than one on this place I would”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Checked in and went to room both our jaws dropped at what we saw. We could not stay in a place this run down without being miserable. Asked for our money back and was offered a condo at one of the owners other properties. Left as quickly as we could. Photos are not accurate of the rooms or overall "motel". You might ask yourself why do they show most photos of the outside beach are (and where was this beach anyway) and not current pics of the rooms. There should be some criteria on what could be called a resort.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Hawkjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    55
    23
    11
    18
See reviews for
52
64
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hotel is incredibly old. The infrastructure is not good, the bathroom water has a bad smell. Staff is ok... bar attendants weren't good.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Yves B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We (3 couples) had spent the weekend in Milwauke at Summerfest. On Sunday we made our way up to Sturgeon Bay for a day of sailing. We were there a couple days before July 4th and thought we'd end up in a chain hotel since we had no reservations. Luckily, the sailing guide knew about the Beach Harbor resort. They let us stay for one night instead of the normal minumum stays other places had. The resort was clean and the staff was friendly. The room had a small refrigerator and microwave. The beds were comfortable and the staff brought extra bedding quickly. It was late so the restaurant was no longer service food but we enjoyed the music and drinks in the sand by the firepit. We were all sad to leave the next day. I would definitely recommend this place if you aren't looking for a pricey upscale resort. We loved the laidback feel and hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleside, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed at the studio cottage. Was directly behind the other cottage. Old and outdated. Television had bad reception. Bugs in bathroom. Double bed you could not walk around. Really needed redone. No view. Messy outside. Way over priced for the amenities. Maybe the hotel there was better.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank kayakdeb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is truely a hidden gem. The staff was soooo amazing and the location on the lake was perfect.

The bar had great food whether is was the continental breakfast or a sandwich, soup or ???

The rooms were also very clean.

So close to the trails at Potowatomi State Park.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The tripadvisor reviews of this place made very leery of booking an overnight stay here. #14 out of 17 Door County hotels???? Yes, it is not a newly constructed hotel, but our spacious room was clean and well maintained. The complimentary continental breakfast offered the same fare you would expect at a Holiday Inn Express. The staff was knowlegeable and friendly. Let's face it, many people are priced out of a Door County vacation; this place allows those of us on a budget to enjoy a waterfront Door County stay. It was good value for the money. Oh, for you day-sailors out there, the sailboat rentals (reasonably priced) are available after Labor Day. The sailing on the outer bay of Sturgeon Bay was spectacular. Over-all, a great time; I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoPackersRepeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This was such an ideal place to stay. Located right on the bay, great live music at night, good bar food, volleyball, bags, fire pit, boat launch....really it was AMAZING.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pasjmina33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovedoorcounty, General Manager at Beach Harbor Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.2 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.9 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
471 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
205 reviews
24.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
756 reviews
15.4 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Harbor Resort

Property: Beach Harbor Resort
Address: 3662 N Duluth Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-8439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Harbor Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reasonable rates, very nice rooms. Beach Harbor Resort is about FUN! This family-owned motel is just 2 miles to downtown and right on the water in Sturgeon Bay. All rooms are clean, comfortable, and equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and wireless internet. Enjoy resort's picnic areas, sand beach, nightly bonfires, walks into the adjoining State park and more! Fishing has been great off the docks or the front desk can set you up with a fishing charter guaranteed to catch fish any time of year. Door County Boat Rentals is located on the property for fun on the water. Also enjoy Waterfront Mary's bar & grill located at Beach Harbor with their outside tiki bar and great food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Beach Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Harbor Hotel Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing