We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Harbor Resort
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“What a great experience!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed here for a few days in July this summer and I was beyond impressed with every aspect of my stay! It was my first time in Sturgeon Bay and I couldn't have asked for a better way to experience the area. The hotel was clean and has a great feel to it, the location is perfect as well! We took advantage of the kayaking (included in the cost of our room) and splurged a bit for jet ski rentals. The staff were all very helpful and kind - they even gave us some great advice on places to go and things to see while we were in town.

I'm pretty surprised at some of these negative reviews on here. I'm not normally one to write online reviews but felt compelled because of our great experience at this hotel. The price was right, the location was perfect, the staff were top notch, and I truly can't think of a single negative thing to say!

I will highly recommend this hotel to friends and family when they travel out to Sturgeon Bay in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bg2662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    54
    22
    10
    18
See reviews for
51
62
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

When we booked our room the photos looked very nice, but when we arrived it looked like a dump. Front desk girl wasn't friendly at all. When we got to the room we took on look and said ok this will do for the night and we went and got our key. Upon settling in to our room we noticed it wasn't as clean it looked. Spider webs everywhere and the room just didn't look right. Both my husband and I had a rough night of sleep. Then in the morning I noticed my socks where black from walking on the carpet in the room. Then I went to take a shower and I looked up at the ceiling and there was black mold everywhere. Then we noticed cigarette holes in the bedding.

Upon leaving the I told the girl what we thought and all she could say was oh I'm sorry. Then later when we got home I emailed management. The offeren me a gift certifitcate to come back. Now what would I do that? I then in return requested a refund. I still haven't heard back from them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Marianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon and Patti H, Front Office Manager at Beach Harbor Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
I would like to begin by readdressing some of your issues. Promptly Saturday morning, after we spoke, housekeeping was sent into your room where they bleached the bathroom, removed and replaced all bedding, high/low dusted, and shampooed the carpet. However, we do not shampoo carpets after every checkout. They are scheduled to be cleaned seasonally. I would still like to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Like I’ve previously stated in our emails, this is not the way we want our guests to experience the property.

I understand you checked in later in the evening. I would like you to realize we have a 24 hour office line where guests can contact office personnel as well as the owners and convey any questions or concerns at any time. The issues you experienced were not brought to our attention until 7am where you came into the office and listed them off. I did not have an opportunity to say or do anything but to apologize to you as you walked out the door. By letting the office know of your disappointment with the room earlier we could have accommodated you with another room or even an upgrade to our sister property. You are our priority, but we cannot help if we are unaware of the concerns.

Beach Harbor Resort is a family owned and run establishment. Our goal is to provide guests with a clean, comfortable room in Door County that is also affordable. We would like to thank you for your review as we only strive to make the property and guest experiences better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

It pains me to have to give this place even one star. What a dump! The room stunk like stale smoke, the bed was so uncomfortable and don't even get me started on the pillows. The towels in the room were sprayed with some gross lemon disinfectant that left them wet with yellow spots. GROSS! The staff were so surly and rude. I can not believe this place touts itself as "family friendly." It should tout itself as "the Porky's of the Midwest" as there were enough 20 something drunk people to have you think you were at a frat party. Not only will we never even think of staying here again, I don't want anyone else to make the mistake we made. The website designer should win an award because their website makes this place look like a paradise and not the rundown party palace it is.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank BeckyS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed here (for a steal!) while we went ice fishing for the weekend. The cleaning staff cleaned a room up early so we had somewhere to change before we went out. Super nice! Kylie was very gracious both nights we came past the front desk. She even waited on us on Saturday night when we were being ignored by the waitress that was on duty. Granted, it is certainly not a new hotel by any means but it was clean, beds were comfy and there was heat and water! I am interested to see how it is in the summer time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sknib1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon and Patti H, Manager at Beach Harbor Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thanks for leaving us such a great review! We equally enjoyed you and your party and are glad you guys were able to get in a lot of great fishing. We'll be looking forward to your return this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Checked in and went to room both our jaws dropped at what we saw. We could not stay in a place this run down without being miserable. Asked for our money back and was offered a condo at one of the owners other properties. Left as quickly as we could. Photos are not accurate of the rooms or overall "motel". You might ask yourself why do they show most photos of the outside beach are (and where was this beach anyway) and not current pics of the rooms. There should be some criteria on what could be called a resort.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Hawkjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hotel is incredibly old. The infrastructure is not good, the bathroom water has a bad smell. Staff is ok... bar attendants weren't good.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Yves B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We (3 couples) had spent the weekend in Milwauke at Summerfest. On Sunday we made our way up to Sturgeon Bay for a day of sailing. We were there a couple days before July 4th and thought we'd end up in a chain hotel since we had no reservations. Luckily, the sailing guide knew about the Beach Harbor resort. They let us stay for one night instead of the normal minumum stays other places had. The resort was clean and the staff was friendly. The room had a small refrigerator and microwave. The beds were comfortable and the staff brought extra bedding quickly. It was late so the restaurant was no longer service food but we enjoyed the music and drinks in the sand by the firepit. We were all sad to leave the next day. I would definitely recommend this place if you aren't looking for a pricey upscale resort. We loved the laidback feel and hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
2.2 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
24.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
15.3 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Harbor Resort

Property: Beach Harbor Resort
Address: 3662 N Duluth Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-8439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Harbor Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reasonable rates, very nice rooms. Beach Harbor Resort is about FUN! This family-owned motel is just 2 miles to downtown and right on the water in Sturgeon Bay. All rooms are clean, comfortable, and equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and wireless internet. Enjoy resort's picnic areas, sand beach, nightly bonfires, walks into the adjoining State park and more! Fishing has been great off the docks or the front desk can set you up with a fishing charter guaranteed to catch fish any time of year. Door County Boat Rentals is located on the property for fun on the water. Also enjoy Waterfront Mary's bar & grill located at Beach Harbor with their outside tiki bar and great food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Beach Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Harbor Hotel Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing