We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but a bit pricey.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone Harbor Resort
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice but a bit pricey.”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My friends and I stayed only one evening at Stone Harbor but we truly appreciated our stay. We had a one bedroom queen suite and it was perfect. Others have complained about cleanliness and noise but we didn't experience any of that. Our room over-looked the outdoor pool and the area was relatively quiet for a Saturday night considering two wedding parties occupied the hotel.

The price is high, but I certainly didn't find anything less expensive when comparing apples to apples. And finding an available room for 4 women for just one night in Door County is not easy! One of the gentlemen at the front desk wasn't much help when asked about a local 'surf & turf". He did dismiss us and told us to look something up in the brochures. But I don't get too bent out of shape over those types of things...the pay can't be that great and he didn't seem bright to begin with.

I forgot a blouse in my room and when contacted, housekeeping said they did find it and it was returned to me. The staff took very good care of the incident.

All in all it was pleasant enough and I would recommend Stone Harbor to others.

Room Tip: Higher floor and suites do help eliminate noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homebody25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    91
    47
    26
    16
See reviews for
64
109
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
FITCHBURG
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We spent two nights at Stone Harbor for a wedding. We received a "special" price which was way more than we would ever pay anywhere else. The first thing we noticed was that the room was small and the carpeting was filthy. Then we noticed that there was no microwave nor refrigerator. Then we noticed that the wall-mounted TV was so small that we needed to get right underneath it to read the football scores...couldn't see picture clearly from the bed. The final straw came when I asked for a complementary newspaper at the desk and was told very rudely that I would have to buy a newspaper from the the machine in the lobby. When we checked out were asked how our visit went. I recounted all of the above concerns. The man behind the desk clearly didn't care about my comments. He just very rudely dismissed me. We will NEVER stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LUCINDA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

You could definitely find someplace better to stay for the price here. Rooms are dirty, they need to clean behind the head of the bed! There must have been 1/2" of dust on the rail. Also, some basic amenities like a mini fridge and microwave would have come in handy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitey1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Having just returned from from attending a wedding in Door County, we were initially excited about staying at the Stone Harbor. The location in downtown Sturgeon Bay and next to the draw bridge was both convenient and interesting. The outdoor pool is not heated so only adventurous polar bears wandered in. The indoor pool area is large and well maintained.
Our room was close to the outdoor bar area, which on the weekends serves until at least 1 a.m. The noise from this can be overcome by turning on the cooling/heating unit but this also has its own problems. The air flows directly over the bed. Even on low speed it can be quite drafty. This did not, however, make up for the noise generated by a wedding band on Saturday night. The bass and volume made us feel we were part of the festivities! A call to the front desk informed us they would be quitting soon as it was close to midnight. He appologized and made a call to the bar after the second call. A third call and 45 minutes later (12:40) the band was silenced. That left only the outdoor bar noise and occasional whoop until well into the night. No sincere appology was received the next morning even though the desk was informed of the problem. If you are there on a wedding night, do not stay in the odd rooms 105-115 as they can get a lot of noise.
I would have to agree with some of the other reviews with respect to pillows-they are hard, and cleanliness-floors (dingy), especially behind the bed- do not look. I picked up a fallen book from the bed stand and found months, maybe years of varying hair follicles and dust.The towels are thin and not real soft. The comforter is very heavy and if rolled down even heavier.
A regular king sutie is on the small size. A bed and breakfast located downtown had much larger rooms and was more reasonably priced with a wonderful breakfast included as well as pastries and cookies.
Pets are not allowed but we saw a couple with a small terrior out for a walk, it did its duty, was put in a travel bag, and brought back into the hotel.
We did eat at the restaurant on Friday evening, both the service and food were good.
Sorry, but we will not be going back any time soon. Two sleepless nights are two, too many.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin54701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the SHR and will go back
again, it has a great location, you can walk to alot of shops and
restaurants, just over the bridge is the Steel Bridge Cafe and
they have great breakfasts. We also ate in the Resort restaurant
and the cherry french toast was very good.
There is a dinner cruise that is boarded right on the SHR dock
and also (maybe only on weekends) a horse drawn carriage.
We always have a great time when we go to Door County,
the parks are beautiful, great golfing & shopping.
When we go in August the traffic has not been bad
and the weather has been good (I think from the
cold water of Lake Michigan makes it alot cooler)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stampnsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I stayed at the Resort for a business conference. The facilities were very good. The room was large with a kitchenette, a murphy bed and pull out couch. I think the room would be ideal for a family with children. It was clean and well kept up. The Resort over looks the Sturgeon Bay canal and a marina. The views are great of the water from the outdoor bar. There is an out door pool area that was well maintained. Overall the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is the second time we've stayed at Stone Harbor for my husband's work conference. My daughters and I are there for pleaasure. My husband and his firm are very pleased with how the conference turns out at S.H.. The only glitch came when we went to check in. We were very early (11:00 a.m.) because hubby had to get to the conference. We realized we probably wouldn't be able to check in quite yet, but inquired at the front desk anyway. The woman was rather rude and kept repeating, "Check in is at 3." Now, we travel a lot, and every hotel we've stayed has always let us check in early as long as the room is empty and cleaned. 3-star, 4-star, 5-star, they're all accommodating in this regard. If the room isn't ready, they keep our bags and notify us when they are ready.
The front desk clerk did let us store our luggage in another room where others had put their bags already, but offered no other promises. Walking away, we heard this front desk clerk get into an altercation with another man inquiring about checking in early, too. But she was like a robot, repeating, "Check in is at 3!" She offered no alternatives, and the gentleman trying to check in got very upset and complained about the customer service. The front desk woman yelled fairly loudly some unpleasant retorts. I'd have to say that it was almost 3:00 before we were able to check in. Between 2 and 3, the lobby was so busy with people hanging around waiting to check in. I find it very hard to believe that some of the rooms weren't clean and ready to be used.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
3.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
459 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
357 reviews
16.0 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
324 reviews
1.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Harbor Resort

Property: Stone Harbor Resort
Address: 107 N 1st Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2537
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 163
Also Known As:
Stone Harbor Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Stone Harbor Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing