We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!””

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone Harbor Resort
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
vggj
1 review
“Great place to stay!””
Reviewed 15 May 2008

The staff at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful with directions and suggestions for restaurants. The resort has a beautiful setting near the water and is close to restaurants and shopping in Sturgeon Bay.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank roger677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    94
    48
    26
    16
See reviews for
65
111
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

I came here with a group that had booked Stone Harbor for a three-day conference. As a hotel for tourists, it was a good experience. The location is convenient for walking about town and it was soothing to be by the water.
Being used to convention hotels in cities, I noticed that there was a little "extra" in this hotel that made a difference -- more space in the rooms and the hallways, moldings and finishes that are left off in lesser properties. Those with sharp eyes will notice the nicer-than-usual kitchen and bath fixtures ... I imagine that it's not for nothing that you pass Kohler, the town, created by Kohler, the plumbing products company, enroute to Door County.
I shared a two-bedroom, two-bath, loft facing the 1st Street side overlooking the parking lot. The unit had a well-equipped kitchen, was roomy, well-insulated, and nicely furnished with two queen beds in the downstairs bedroom, and one queen bed in the loft. Both rooms had bathrooms adjacent; the upstairs loft room had a whirlpool tub, which was a nice amenity. There was also a sofabed. A friend stayed in a $99-a-night studio, which was outfitted with a queen murphy bed. It was cute, cozy and had kitchen. I would probably choose this over a regular hotel room for the kitchen amenity. Another friend was in the two-bedroom deluxe suite, which faced the harbor and both rooms were enclosed (i.e., no open loft room, so more privacy). Rates were better than their published rack rates because it was a negotiated price for conference business.
Some staff seems a bit green, at least for conference services, whether it was setting up a room adequately or dealing with technical problems that cropped up. One of the biggest failures was their WiFi internet access, which was inadequately provided. An afternoon's seminar of 35 people all armed with laptops, and had paid $50 extra for the course, was essentially wasted because no one could get onto the Internet for longer than a few minutes. Two days later, a panelist lost internet service in the middle of her presentation and the hotel staff, despite their attention to the matter, could do nothing in either of the two cases.
If you're a hotel guest on leisure travel, having spotty Internet access may be a minor irritation. If one is attending a professional conference where there is an expectation of the service working properly in order for people to learn, it's disasterous. It results in people demanding their money back for the course and angry at having invested time for nothing.
I'd imagine that Stone Harbor's group business is more in the weddings and banquet range. I found their food to be good, and staff worked hard. Most of the staff were very pleasant. Some did not seem to recognize, however, that tables should not be cleared while a keynote speaker is in the middle of speaking. One wait staff member had to be told to stop clattering dishes on the bus tray in her attempts to remove it -- in the middle of the speech. One of the banquet supervisors was openly snippy, rolled her eyes when asked for service, and was generally unpleasant. Guests can be taxing, but it should be generally recognized that the guests should not be treated to overt body language displays indicating how low in regard they are held by the hotel staff.
The housekeeping staff was efficient and pleasant. Front desk staff worked very hard and were all pleasure to deal with. Stone Harbor isn't a luxury property, but it's quite better than mid-range.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — WiFi failure; One openly dismissive banquet staffer
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BetterthanBings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2007

Perfectly adequate, but rather soulless. The rooms are very comfortable, and the housekeeping is excellent. The communal areas however are terribly bland and rather depressing - muzak in the lifts etc. The front desk staff are very over-stretched and struggle to provide a good service.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The 'chain hotel' feel
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCMS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grand rapids, mi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2007

We stayed one night over the Labor Day weekend and were very impressed with our stay. A beautiful new hotel with a nice view of the channel. Room was very clean. We would surely stay here again in the future.

  • Liked — New hotel.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workslikethat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2007

We've been coming here for several years now since it's been open, and we love the location of the hotel, and the hotel itsself is very nice. The rooms have always been nice and clean.

Now, for the part that we didn't like this time around- we went for breakfast when it was supposed to be open, only to have the entryway dirty, vacuum cleaner present, bathroom doors open. Obviously, they hadn't finished cleaning. They asked us to come back in a few minutes.

We came back and were told that breakfast is a buffet. We were brought to the dining area. The doors were open to the outside - staff busy cleaning the patio. Naturally, that left for flies to come in - yuck.

Our waitress was not friendly at all. During breakfast, our background sounds were the sounds of toilets flushing - how appetizing. It was also FUN having to wave your hand over your plate so the flies wouldn't land on your food.

Finally, our waitress must have noticed and closed the door to the outside... what a concept.

Needless to say, we were not happy with our experience. We will not be returning to the restaurant, and not sure if we will even come back to the hotel.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank josephinewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2007

The building itself is nice, and in a perfect location for downtown SB activities...rooms are good, meeting room is wonderful. However, the service within the hotel itself was lacking...in the restaurant, at the front desk, in the meeting room.
I won't name names but the person who checked me out of the hotel on 8/30/07 was snippy and rude and should not have customer contact. Repeat customers at a hotel is based on service and attention to detail, customer satisfaction. They did not strive to achieve this.

My advice is to eat offsite, use the hotel just for the room and the location.

At no time did they ask me at the front desk ...how was your stay? And at no time did they thank me for spending money at their hotel which seemed odd in a service industry.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Webby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2007

Rooms---pretty reasonable but compared to Bridgeport across the way a little expensive. We paid 275 in offseason for a 1 bedroom suite with jaccuzi and balcony and we paid 249 for a two bed 2 bath jaccuzi suite with kitchenette and 2 waterview balconies during offseason.

Place is pretty new---but the decor stuck to the outdoors theme and seemed out of place in a new building. The bed was uncomfortable and I woke up with a backache, but the jaccuzi tub was heavenly.

The bar was nice. Great view and martinis

We did Sunday brunch and it wasn't worth it, try another local place.

Overall a comfortable stay, and romantic with the fireplace. Wouldn;t have had any complaints if we hadn't stayed at Bridgeport shorty after.

  • Liked — Felt new
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable beds and outdoor theme furniture
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtherese83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
3.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
497 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#16 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
306 reviews
16.0 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Harbor Resort

Property: Stone Harbor Resort
Address: 107 N 1st Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2537
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 163
Also Known As:
Stone Harbor Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Stone Harbor Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing