We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding guest at the hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone Harbor Resort
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Mayville, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wedding guest at the hotel”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed there as a wedding guest. Had a double queen room with a balcony. Balcony overlooked the pool and patio which was very nice. Our room was small. No refrig. Did not realize that the beds were different, one was very firm (board like) and the other was rather comfy. Unloaded our stuff on the wrong bed, and ended up sleeping on the firm one. For one night it was okay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    94
    48
    26
    16
See reviews for
65
111
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed a few days in August. The place is fairly old but still in very good condition. We had a three bedroom condo which is a one bedroom with two adjoining hotel rooms. that was all fine. But wouldnt you think if someone is renting a three bedroom (that sleeps 10 people) we may need more than 4 plates and silverware etc? We didnt call and ask either, but I dont think they would have provided us with enough. We asked for more diswashing detergent and they were only able to spare one packet. I know it is extra to dock your boat there, but cannot comment because we had cold weather and were not able to bring it. Also NO GRILLS. really? What kind of resort doesnt have a grill on the property. Probably not a big deal to most, but we want to be able to grill out. I emailed ahead to ask this question. And got a less than friendly response from the front desk manager. So I was already unimpressed with this place. Very close to downtown and close enough to walk to some shops and restaurants. Inn at Cedar Crossing is very good. We didnt eat here so I cannot comment on that either. NO DVD Players. really? We had a bunch of kids and couldnt even get rid of them with putting in a movie. Again not really a big deal, but it was to us. We brought a gaming system for the kids and they couldnt play that either. Pool areas are very nice. I dont need to go back here. Plenty of other places in Door County.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmo930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, MN
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

The location if the resort was great. We enjoyed walking to shopping & restaurants. Our daughter enjoyed sitting out by the pool. Our breakfast waitress at the outside seating far exceeded our expectations! She took very good care of us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNRB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was my first visit to Stone Harbor, it was very nice and I enjoyed my stay. I stayed in a double queen room, which was nice but quite small. The bathroom was fine and very clean, should provide conditioner along with the shampoo however! Refrigerators in the rooms would be a nice addition.

I was part of a wedding at the resort this past weekend and everything for the wedding went smoothly and on time. The staff was very friendly & accomodating when I asked for a few small changes to my reservation. Overall I enjoyed my stay and I would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milwgirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

As a quasi-native, I'm pretty picky about where I stay in the Door. Some places are too remote while others are too crowded and touristy. I've settled on Sturgeon Bay as a good home base, and in Sturgeon Bay I love staying at Stone Harbor.

I must have changed my mind about what type of room I wanted and how long I was staying there about six times. It
didn't phase Patti at all! In fact she even offered me a discount because I was a returning guest! This is was on a weekend in high tourist season, so I was pretty impressed.

When we got in, we did have to wait a bit for our room-it being a weekend in high tourist season, we understood. Good thing it's within walking distance of a cute shopping district and a fudge shop.

The room itself was lovely! My only real gripe was that the Murphy bed in the room was sold out...I chose the studio suite because it was literally the only room type available and now I know why...not a comfy bed!! The room was a great value with a kitchen, fireplace, and bay view. If we had wanted to, say, ballroom dance during the day we could have put the bed up, I suppose.

I'll for sure be back in the future...but next time I'll just spring for a room with a real bed or make sure to book far enough in advance to have my
pick of the room types...I was lucky they even had anything!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilwMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our whirlpool room. The view of the bay, especially sunset and the draw bridge. Plenty of boats and yachts, some fisherman, saw a young boy catch and release a dandy SmallMouth Bass. Walking distance to the Third St shops, wifey says very nice! Grounds were, clean, same building and room. Despite other reviews about noise in the halls, we had a wedding party staying in our wing, and we did not hear them overnight. It has a nice conference center which should not be used against it, just recognize this is NOT a boutique hotel
We would diffenitly stay here and even bring a group.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pardeeville, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My family (husband and two children 4 & 8)traveled to Door County for a quick two days. We spend one night at the resort. Its location is great. The rooms could use a little updating (Carpet looks pretty worn and bed mattresses could be replaced) but other than that the room appeared to be clean. The front desk was very helpful and friendly - check-in was a breeze! The room was very quiet - we did not hear any noise from the other rooms. We did have a small balcony that overlooked the pool and waterfront. We will definitely return and perhaps for a longer stay with extended family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
3.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
495 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#16 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
306 reviews
16.0 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Harbor Resort

Property: Stone Harbor Resort
Address: 107 N 1st Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2537
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 163
Also Known As:
Stone Harbor Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Stone Harbor Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing