We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an upgrade”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone Harbor Resort
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Waupaca, WI
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Needs an upgrade”
Reviewed 6 September 2008

This is a large hotel for Door County. Its location is its best feature: on the water and in historic Sturgeon Bay. The Hotel has lots of amenities which a quaint B and B would lack: indoor/outdoor pool, small fitness room, bar, dining. I spent 2 nights here in a regular king size room and came away with the thought that this is a nice property that needs someone with hotel-hospitality experience to up it a notch or two.
At night loud drunked fools from the bar and catering events make tons of noise--no hotel employee or security around to keep the peace, but the hotel makes you sign a waiver at check in that if you are too loud they will ask you to leave!
The rooms need a linen upgrade. Get rid of the decades old bed speads with everyones germs. Even moderate priced Hitlons and Marriotts have done this. Buy better towels, the ones they have are sandpaper. Toilet amenitis are bland store brand types. How about a morning newspaper and bathrobes. The competitor B and Bs have robes. Front desk staff needs to attend customer service class. The are friendly but very dour in tone and demeanor. I checked out this morning and got a thank you but not a single inquiry about how my visit was. Mattresses need a softer pillow top they are old and every other hotel charging these rates has upgraded. Rooms are non smoking but the bar allows smokling all over. Hotel has 167 rooms but a fitness center the size of a closet with 4 machines.

Overall, this porperty is nice but needs that extra touch to take advantage of its location. My point of refernece is that I stay in hotels about 45 nights a year ranging in amenities from Countyard to Four Seasons. It markets itself as a conference center but regular rooms have tiny desks--where are businesspeople supposed to work? Small TVs are mounted on the walls like a hospital room. I think if Marriott, Hilton, or Starwood took over this place, a few cosmetic upgrades and traning of the staff in hospitality you would have a gem.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room amenities
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WaupacaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    94
    47
    26
    16
See reviews for
65
110
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dgreenpuffy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

The only good bartender was Jonathan! i remember his name because hes the only one who would serve anyone on time and with a smile and the restaurant and hotel staff was terrible also, especially the man with bad haircut that worked at night.

KEEP JON THE BARTENDER, get rid of everyone else and hire competent employees who will do the job right!!

Not a bad hotel but for 200 bucks it was a little much. The wallpaper in the bathroom was coming off.

Get it together guys!! cmon......its a nice building with okay but overpriced rooms, to many yuppie jimmy buffet loving rich dorks and horrible service.

Wont return....

  • Liked — Jonathan the bartender and the chef
  • Disliked — other service was slow and incompetent and way overpriced
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dgreenpuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De pere
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2008

We went for the "Sisterhood" weekend and had so much fun. The place was gorgeous and everything was well organized. Nancy is a gem and the fashion show was terrific,

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Doral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
green bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2008

My son got married at the stone harbor in may, and our friends and family are still raving about what a great wedding we had! First and foremost, everyone we dealt with at the Stone Harbor Resort was professional, friendly, and eager to make the day perfect for my son and his wife. Emily was so helpful and understanding...I can't imagine how we could have done it without her!

The ceremony was outside, and the view was just incredible. I think it
is the most beautiful piece of land in Door County. We had the reception for 150 people immediately following in the restaurant, and the food was outstanding. The prime rib was cooked to perfection, and the Chicken shery was juicy and flavorful. The bar service was fast, and the bartenders made everyone feel at home.

Most of our guests stayed at the resort and found the rooms to be very
clean, and quaint. We got so much positive feedback about the lack of a big TV and other needless material trappings! Who goes on vacation to sit in their room and watch TV?? The restful screened in porches and lobby provided the perfect setting for people to hang out, chat, and really spend quality time together.

I am a die hard fan, and will always be thankful and loyal to the great people at theStone Harbor Resort who helped give my son and his wife their dream wedding.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vggj
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2008

The staff at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful with directions and suggestions for restaurants. The resort has a beautiful setting near the water and is close to restaurants and shopping in Sturgeon Bay.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank roger677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

I came here with a group that had booked Stone Harbor for a three-day conference. As a hotel for tourists, it was a good experience. The location is convenient for walking about town and it was soothing to be by the water.
Being used to convention hotels in cities, I noticed that there was a little "extra" in this hotel that made a difference -- more space in the rooms and the hallways, moldings and finishes that are left off in lesser properties. Those with sharp eyes will notice the nicer-than-usual kitchen and bath fixtures ... I imagine that it's not for nothing that you pass Kohler, the town, created by Kohler, the plumbing products company, enroute to Door County.
I shared a two-bedroom, two-bath, loft facing the 1st Street side overlooking the parking lot. The unit had a well-equipped kitchen, was roomy, well-insulated, and nicely furnished with two queen beds in the downstairs bedroom, and one queen bed in the loft. Both rooms had bathrooms adjacent; the upstairs loft room had a whirlpool tub, which was a nice amenity. There was also a sofabed. A friend stayed in a $99-a-night studio, which was outfitted with a queen murphy bed. It was cute, cozy and had kitchen. I would probably choose this over a regular hotel room for the kitchen amenity. Another friend was in the two-bedroom deluxe suite, which faced the harbor and both rooms were enclosed (i.e., no open loft room, so more privacy). Rates were better than their published rack rates because it was a negotiated price for conference business.
Some staff seems a bit green, at least for conference services, whether it was setting up a room adequately or dealing with technical problems that cropped up. One of the biggest failures was their WiFi internet access, which was inadequately provided. An afternoon's seminar of 35 people all armed with laptops, and had paid $50 extra for the course, was essentially wasted because no one could get onto the Internet for longer than a few minutes. Two days later, a panelist lost internet service in the middle of her presentation and the hotel staff, despite their attention to the matter, could do nothing in either of the two cases.
If you're a hotel guest on leisure travel, having spotty Internet access may be a minor irritation. If one is attending a professional conference where there is an expectation of the service working properly in order for people to learn, it's disasterous. It results in people demanding their money back for the course and angry at having invested time for nothing.
I'd imagine that Stone Harbor's group business is more in the weddings and banquet range. I found their food to be good, and staff worked hard. Most of the staff were very pleasant. Some did not seem to recognize, however, that tables should not be cleared while a keynote speaker is in the middle of speaking. One wait staff member had to be told to stop clattering dishes on the bus tray in her attempts to remove it -- in the middle of the speech. One of the banquet supervisors was openly snippy, rolled her eyes when asked for service, and was generally unpleasant. Guests can be taxing, but it should be generally recognized that the guests should not be treated to overt body language displays indicating how low in regard they are held by the hotel staff.
The housekeeping staff was efficient and pleasant. Front desk staff worked very hard and were all pleasure to deal with. Stone Harbor isn't a luxury property, but it's quite better than mid-range.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — WiFi failure; One openly dismissive banquet staffer
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BetterthanBings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2007

Perfectly adequate, but rather soulless. The rooms are very comfortable, and the housekeeping is excellent. The communal areas however are terribly bland and rather depressing - muzak in the lifts etc. The front desk staff are very over-stretched and struggle to provide a good service.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The 'chain hotel' feel
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCMS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
3.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#5 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
470 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
15.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
Super 8 Sturgeon Bay
#16 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Harbor Resort

Property: Stone Harbor Resort
Address: 107 N 1st Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2537
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 163
Also Known As:
Stone Harbor Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Stone Harbor Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing