We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone Harbor Resort
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Rockton, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We loved it! The atmosphere was great and the rooms were huge! It felt like we were in one of those resorts on the Rhine in Germany. Great way to spend our anniversary and my birthday. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaElisePeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    91
    47
    26
    16
See reviews for
64
108
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great location on sturgeon bays waterfront, but poor service over-rode any positives. We came here to consider the location for a wedding and reception as well as a business offsite meeting. The view is great, rooms are nice, the food ok (not bad, but much better choices in door county). The wait staff is nice but the event/wedding staff is rude. So unexpected in a town with such nice people! Especially for an event to remember, we can't take the risk of disappointing 100 out of town guests :( Sadly, Mother Nature gave them a nice spot, but they failed to deliver.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A resort and conference centre located on the waterfront and near the downtown business district...ideal location for business and vacation travellers. Restaurant, lounge and gift shop located within the hotel complex...food and prices are reasonable...a few nearby restaurants within easy walking distance. Hotel is clean...nice entrance, grounds and walkway along the water front. Helpful reception staff. Comfortable rooms...some with balconies (which is an added plus)...but beware of their 'hard' pillows! Indoor and outdoor pools are well maintained. Less than pleasant experience with their laundry facilities...dryer is vented into the laundry room (meaning the temperature in the room is extremely hot) and their one dryer is inefficient (45 minutes of drying and cloths were still damp). Using their one washer was also a challenge...would not wash one load after the coins were inserted...staff were unable to assist in getting the washer to work...maintenance staff were called but, according to reception staff, maintenance staff did not respond to their call for assistance.

We spend 3 days in Door County...should we return to the area, we would search for a place further north into Door County for our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stone Harbor Resort was a very fun place to stay. They had live music every night of the weekend , a tiki bar outside on the lake front, and an indoor/outdoor pool & hot tub. The staff was very helpful and allowed us to store our bikes in the luggage storage area for a safe place to keep them out of the rain. The only complaint I has was that the balcony smelled a little funny. It was carpeted and I think may have gotten a little mildew or something from rain. Great location, too, near several restaurants and bars. Overall a decent place, with a ton of fun, so if you are looking for a fun time and do not plan on spending a ton of time in the room, I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Super busy weekend, will try not to get room next to elevator for next visit.Guest running all over hallways. Had vehicle magnets stolen from car, one was my Trip Advisor magnet and an American flag,also an American flag bow that was attached to the antenna. Hotel refused to show me video of parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigreddog561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Chute, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel is big and beautiful.People at the front desk are very friendly and helpful. Suites are very cozy, exceptionally clean with a nice fireplace. Rooms are really spacious with nice scenery off of the balcony. Bar and tiki bar are a added bonus with great weekend entertainment. The meals were delicious. I would recommend this resort to everyone. They aim to please. I will be staying at this resort when in that area. Thanks for 4 wonderful days.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 2nd floor in a suite with a full kitchen, fireplace, living room and balcony. Love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Perhaps it's me, but the name "resort" always implies something above-average with great food, service & accommodations that are superior to others offered in the same area for the same price range. My expectations may have been too high and were certainly brought down with our encounter of a young woman at reception who was not unfriendly but appeared gave us the impression we were bothering her by arriving. Fortunately, she was the only person we encountered at Stone Harbor who exhibited this attitude.
Our rooms were very comfortable and we enjoyed a delicious meal at the in-house restaurant where we were joined by relatives who live in the area. We had a good sized party for dinner and the staff were attentive without giving us the impression they were rushing us. Great service and most accommodating when upon our arrival we asked to be moved to a table with a better view.
If you are looking for a comfortable place in the heart of Sturgeon Bay, Stone Harbor Resort will not disappointment. Just don't expect luxury. You cannot beat the location and view.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intlroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
3.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#6 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
16.0 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Harbor Resort

Property: Stone Harbor Resort
Address: 107 N 1st Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2537
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 163
Also Known As:
Stone Harbor Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Stone Harbor Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing