We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone Harbor Resort
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Reviewed 29 August 2014

First time at this hotel/resort. The rooms are a little out dated but very clean, quiet and comfortable. Hotel staff were all friendly and professional. I ate at the hotel restaurant twice for breakfast and once for dinner. Breakfast was good but the dinner was Amazing! Hotel location was great as it overlooked a local marina.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KalS299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We just finished a week-long stay, with another couple, at Stone Harbor Resort. The property is beautiful with two pools, full-service restaurant plus tiki bar/pub, well-groomed lawns. It's right on the bay with views from many rooms (ours was one of them). The only comment that was a "10" was that housekeeping quality was variable. I realize that most hotel housekeepers are part-time so if you have a longer stay than a night or two, you will have the services of several. Some are simply better than others but all-in-all we had no major complaints. The rooms were always clean; it was the details (replacing soap, TP etc.) that seemed to slip between the cracks on some days. The food in the restaurant is very good and the location is close to downtown Sturgeon Bay which has loads of things to do and places to shop. On our previous visits to Door County, WI, we always headed north up the peninsula to the more "touristy" villages and didn't spend much time in Sturgeon Bay. That won't happen again! The whole of Door County is a wonderful vacation destination.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, ask for a room with a bay view. Watching the bridge go up and down and the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodwriter50459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Well, it's my 4-5th trip back to this hotel as I'm over at Wisconsin once a year for work/ fishing and hunting.
I truly like this hotel as checking in is a breeze and the staff are super friendly. The location is great as it's located by the lake and has its on docks for boats.
There's a nice little pub in this hotel as well and it's a nice place to chill out and it features outdoor seating facing the lake.
The beds are nice and the pillows are firm which I really like.
Only downside is that they in house shop closes early so you'll have to buy your drinks from the vending machine or take a short walk to the petrol to get them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family recently came here for a wedding, there were eight of us total and we were totally blown away by the size and pure awesomeness of our room! Not only was the room huge, but the view we had of the bay was top notch!! It was a great location close to the downtown shops and the farmers market (which everyone should check out btw!) The wedding was gorgeous despite the rain and we all had a blast! A couple of items prevented me from giving this a five star review, first I felt that there were a could of things that could have used some MAJOR updating (i.e. appliances) and despite our best efforts, the fireplace would not turn on...broken perhaps?? A manual would have helped. Also, do something about the wifi, my service in Door County was abysmal so having reliable wifi was crucial and I did not get that everywhere in this hotel. Update some of those appliances, fix that fireplace, and do something about that wifi and we've got ourselves a top notch hotel! Great Stay!

Room Tip: There's no free breakfast, but there's a great bakery a block away as well as the farmers ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We would not stay here again. A big conference hotel is quite different from a smaller facility. There are 176 rooms here and only two ice machines. Ridiculous. The front desk staff were courteous but not friendly. Check in time is 3 p.m. and we had to wait until 3:45 for housekeeping to finish our room. This is an inconvenience to travelers who have been on the road for hours and reflects inefficiency by hotel's management to have adequate personnel in housekeeping. We were told "housekeeping is under a lot of pressure." That is not OUR problem.

Our room had no microwave nor refrigerator which usually come standard in the hotels we frequent. Maybe these are available in other rooms at Stone Harbor, but we did not ask when making the reservation. So be forewarned if these are amenities that you need or expect in a hotel.

We liked being in downtown Sturgeon Bay. There are also Stone Harbor Condos adjacent to the Conference Center but I do not know if they are available for renting.

Room Tip: Our room was next door to the bar and they had live loud music on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stone Harbor Resort is the perfect place to start your Door County vacation, or stay and play in Sturgeon Bay. This large complex has all the amenities for meetings, weddings or family vacations in a suite loft. The level of customer service was outstanding, warm and friendly. Meals were exceptional in the restaurant or on the patio.

The best thing about Stone Harbor is its location right on Sturgeon Bay where you can stroll along the wide bay walk, step aboard a boat in the marina, or just watch the nearby bridge open and close to let the boats through. There is "yachts" to see, including yachts built by Palmer Johnson which is headquartered next door. A quaint downtown is steps away. We also liked the well-done Door County Maritime Museum nearby with lots of exhibits and a tugboat tour.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmbyWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for a wedding held in town and the reception was also at the Stone Harbor. The hotel room was cute but for the $$ was quite small - we had a King Size bed. The bathroom too was quite tiny. All in all it was a nice stay but a little pricey for the size of the room.
The restaurant was great - good food and great wait staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgeon Bay
3.1 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Best Western Maritime Inn
Best Western Maritime Inn
#4 of 17 in Sturgeon Bay
535 reviews
1.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
345 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
226 reviews
21.4 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Harbor Resort

Address: 107 N 1st Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2537
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range: £75 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 163
Also Known As:
Stone Harbor Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Stone Harbor Sturgeon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing